Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Bollinger Scores Victory over Massive Field at Lincoln Speedway

Ray Bollinger


LINCOLN, Ill. — June 30, 2013 —Illinois native Ray Bollinger took advantage of leader Justin Allgaier’s mid-race spin to capture a home-state win Sunday night at Lincoln Speedway during the 13th-leg of the 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Lincoln Speedway.

With a massive field of 59 DIRTcar UMP Modifieds at the quarter-mile oval, each chasing the $2,000 checkered flag, it was almost guaranteed to be a shootout. Bollinger, of Kewaee, Ill., started the A-main from the outside of the front row, with NASCAR Nationwide Series regular Allgaier on the pole. Allgaier led for the first half of the race before things quickly changed when Allgaier spun, turning over the lead to second-place-running Bollinger. The wreck destroyed the driver’s side of Bollinger’s car but that didn’t slow him down as he dominated the remainder of the race, capturing the $2,000 purse over Brian Lynn.

“I was getting a good run on (Allgaier) in turns 3 and 4, he was kind of messing up and getting tight through the corner,” said Bollinger, the current DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals points leader. “He kind of stood on it, getting it pinched down, and ended up spinning out. I couldn’t believe my eyes when he came off the corner and the yellow came out.”

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Tyler Nicely, Rusty Griffaw and Allen Weisser rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Brian Lynn, Tyler Nicely, Rusty Griffaw, Justin Allgaier and Erik Bruce.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Tuesday night at Quincy Raceways located in Quincy, Illinois.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway; June 30, 2013

A-Main (30-laps): 1. Ray Bollinger ($2,000), 2. Brian Lynn, 3. Tyler Nicely, 4. Rusty Griffaw, 5. Allen Weisser, 6. Devin Gilpin, 7. Erik Bruce, 8. Jay Ledford, 9. Charley Hess, 10. Danny Schwartz, 11. Kenny Wallace, 12. Chad Kinder, 13. T.D. Burger, 14. Jeremy Nichols, 15. Donovan Lodge, 16. John DeMoss, 17. Jake Griffin, 18. Justin Allgaier, 19. Mike Harrison, 20. Lance Dehm, 21. Jeff Curl, 22. Brian Divley.

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (2)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Nick Allen
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Mitch McGrath
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Kenny Wallace
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brian Beilong
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Michael Long
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Lance Dehm
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Dona Marcoullier
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Cancelled (RAIN)
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Matt Cooper
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Lucas Lee
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Mike Harrison
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Ray Bollinger
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thursday July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance. 

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...


The Modified and Late Model veteran clinches his first DIRTcar points championship with two wins in Florida Coming into the 13th and final race...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


Lining up 17th on the starting grid, Kyle Strickler said he thought he had “no chance” in winning the Gator Championship Feature Saturday night....