Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Canadian Steve Arpin Claims First-Ever Florida DIRTcar Nationals UMP Modified Points Title

BARBERVILLE , FL – Feb. 13, 2007 – Steve Arpin didn’t need any help.

But with rain washing out Tuesday night’s scheduled UMP DIRTcar Racing Modified finale of the 36th annual Florida DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop at Volusia Speedway Park , the Fort Frances , Ont., standout effortlessly clinched the points title of the division’s week-long meet.

Arpin, a 23-year-old Canadian who maintains a residence in Rochester , Minn. , claimed his first career Florida DIRTcar Nationals championship. He has been entering the annual winter racing extravaganza with his UMP Modified for the past four years.

This was definitely Arpin’s most successful visit ever to the half-mile, D-shaped Volusia oval. He won five of the week’s seven features – all consecutively from Feb. 7-11 – and also registered finishes of fourth (Feb. 6) and third (Feb. 12).

Arpin won the title by 66 points (550-484) over Brian Strand of Bemidji , Minn.

About the only thing that didn’t go right for Arpin all week was one of his Victory Lane celebrations. After climbing out of his car, the happy Arpin picked up the race queen – and promptly received a cut on his chin from the pointy wing of the eagle-shaped trophy that she was holding.

Arpin’s 1,500-mile-plus trip to Florida started on Feb. 2 and 3 with a sweep of the North Florida Winternationals at North Florida Speedway in Lake City . He plans to remain in Florida to compete for the remainder of the week in the UMP Modified Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park in Gibsonton , Fla.

Final Florida DIRTcar Nationals UMP Modified Point Standings:

1. Steve Arpin 550
2. Brian Strand 484
3. Joey Kramer 482
4. Lee Hobbs 418
4. Ray Walsh 418
6. Kenny Wallace 392
7. Tom Seets Sr. 370
8. Brad Waits 366
9. Kevin Adams 354
10. Mark Dotson 336
11. Vance Wilson 330
12. Ron Barker 316
13. Austin Dillon 296
14. David McWilliams 286
15. Gary Clark 270
16. Blake Jetvig 250
17. David Cain 248
18. Julie McDermid 240
19. Gabe Menser 230
20. Adam Pierson 210
21. Bruce Takach 190
22. Ed Lenhardt 184
23. Mike Spatola 180
24. Scott Weber 178
25. Chad Evans 174

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


It was only fitting the final edition of East Bay Raceway Park’s famed UMP Modified Winternationals event gave those watching an unforgettable finish. For...


It took Michael Leach over a year to get his first career DIRTcar UMP Modified win, but only 24 hours to win his second....


First career UMP Modified win for young Montanan, Strickler goes 15th-to-fourth, Gierke 19th-to-fifth Drivers never forget their first Feature win, and Michael Leach won’t...


Lucas Lee has been one of the most dominant forces at East Bay Raceway Park’s UMP Modified Winternationals over the past few seasons, and...