Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Danny Lasoski, Tim Hancock Earn Volusia Victories, Now Seek Fan Support In Alltel All-Star Competition

Barberville, FL — Two more drivers gained Alltel All-Star eligibility on Sunday night during the 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park when Danny Lasoski motored to victory in the Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series main event as Tim Hancock drove his UMP DIRTcar Modified to the checkered flag.

Lasoski and Hancock held off their competitors to earn a place in the running to be an Alltel All-Star. Now the fans have their say. To support your favorite Alltel DIRTcar Nationals winner, which could be worth $12,000 to that driver, cast as many votes as possible at or send a text message with a driver’s Letter Code to 52191.

Lasoski, the 2001 Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws champion, is seeking his second series title with a new team this season.

“I sure hope the fans vote for me,” said Lasoski, of Dover, Mo. “The fans are why we do this, and I thank Alltel for getting involved with the Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series.”

Tim Hancock, of Mount Olive, started his campaign in the Alltel Wireless Victory Lane on Sunday night following his impressive run.

“Vote for me because I’ve got a pretty race car and I drive fast,” Hancock said.

Lasoski joins fellow Sprint Car winners Wayne Johnson, who was leading the campaign through Saturday night with 40 percent of the votes, Jason Meyers, Craig Dollansky, and Donny Schatz, a two-time Alltel DIRTcar Nationals. Hancock is joined by fellow UMP DIRTcar Modified winners Jesse Stovall, Scott Drake, Dave Hess Jr. and two-time winner Jared Landers. The drivers have done everything they can do, now it’s up to the fans to decide who will win the title by voting online or through text messages.

Drivers eligible for the Alltel All-Star contest (and their letter codes) are Jesse Stovall of Branson, Mo. (A); Donny Schatz of Fargo, N.D. (B); Scott Drake of Webb City, Mo. (C); Wayne Johnson, of Mustang, Okla. (D); Jared Landers, of Batesville, Ark. (E); Craig Dollansky, of Elk River, Minn. (F); Dave Hess Jr., of Waterford, Pa. (G); and Jason Meyers, of Clovis, Calif. (H); Tim Hancock, of Mount Olive, Ill. (I); and Danny Lasoski, of Dover, Mo. (J). Voting will remain open until 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, March 16. The winning driver will be named in a special ceremony shortly thereafter.

The 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals runs through Feb. 16 and features the Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series™, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series™, the Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series™, UMP DIRTcar Racing™ Late Models and Open Wheel Modifieds, and the All Star Circuit of Champions over 12 consecutive nights. Each night includes two feature races with winners eligible to become Alltel All-Stars.

Alltel is owner and operator of the nation’s largest wireless network and has more than 12 million customers. For more information about Alltel, please visit

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Like the summer temperatures, Ashton Winger has been heating up recently and threw another load of coal in the fire with his second Feature...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

For the first time in his career, Logan Martin is a Feature winner with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals. Martin, the 27-year-year regional racer from...

Late Models

The midway point of the 38th annual DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour has arrived as Week 3 commences, presenting a schedule of six races...