Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Harrison Captures DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Win at Paducah

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified NationalsPADUCAH, Ky. — June 28, 2013 — Mike Harrison led every lap but the opening circuit en route to capturing his first victory in the 11th installment of the DIRTcar Summit Racing Modified Nationals on Friday night at Paducah International Raceway.

A field of 25 cars stormed into the 3/8-mile oval, with former DIRTcar UMP Modified national champion Harrison capturing the $1,000 checkered flag. Harrison, of Highland, Ill., started third behind the front row of Steve Ladd and Tyler Young. Harrison got a great jump on the opening start of the race, making it three-wide as they exited turn two. Young and Harrison split Ladd with Young leading the first lap. Harrison, using the high line, quickly passed Young and extended his lead over the field. Harrison then surged ahead and held off a last-lap challenge from Matt Mevert.

“It’s been a long year so far,” Harrison said. “We’ve struggled a little bit, I guess you could say, but you just got to keep plugging and chugging. We haven’t been able to run all the Summer Nationals yet, but tonight is the start, we are going to stay on track for a while.”

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Trent Young, Rusty Griffaw and Matt Cooper rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Trent Young, Harrison and Steve Ladd.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Saturday night at the Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 in Pevely, Mo.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Paducah (Ky.) International Raceway; June 28, 2013

A-Main (20-laps): 1. Mike Harrison ($1,000), 2. Matt Mevert, 3. Trent Young, 4. Rusty Griffaw, 5. Matt Cooper, 6. Kenny Wallace, 7. Nick Hoffman, 8. Levi Kissinger, 9. Ray Bollinger, 10. Will Krup, 11. Cody Bauman, 12. Danny Schwartz, 13. John DeMoss, 14. Brock Bauman, 15. Everett Bradham, 16. Zach Dennis, 17. Steve Ladd, 18. Bryant Dickinson, 19. Darrell Brewer, 20. Rich Lentz, 21. Ron Wall, 22. Tyler Nicely, 23. Jeff Elliott, 24. Ricky Sadler, 25. Rod Reed.

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (2)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Nick Allen
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Mitch McGrath
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Kenny Wallace
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brian Beilong
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Michael Long
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Lance Dehm
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Dona Marcoullier
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Cancelled (RAIN)
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Matt Cooper
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Lucas Lee
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Mike Harrison
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thursday July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance. 

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...