Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Joey Kramer Snaps Steve Arpin’s Five-Race UMP Modified Win Streak In Monday DIRTcar Nationals Action

BARBERVILLE , FL – Feb. 12, 2007 – Joey Kramer finally put together a flawless performance in Monday night’s 20-lap UMP DIRTcar Racing Modified feature at Volusia Speedway Park .

And as a result, the Hanover , Ind. , driver snapped Steve Arpin’s five-race win streak in the 36th annual DIRTcar Nationals Presented by Mopar Speedshop.

“Last night I made a boo-boo with tires and ended up not qualifying in my heat,” said Kramer, “so I had to come from the back to finish third. Tonight I finally got to start up front, and it’s unbelievable what track position does for you.”

Kramer glided by Fort Frances , Ont.’s Arpin to take the lead on lap 10 and never looked back. He easily outdistanced NASCAR Nextel Cup and Busch Series veteran Kenny Wallace, who overtook Arpin late in the distance to finish second.

Arpin, who was undefeated since finishing fourth in the DIRTcar Nationals opener on Feb. 6, settled for a third-place finish. He remained the points leader with one race left in the eight-event DIRTcar Nationals meet for UMP Modifieds.

Ray Walsh of St. Louis , Mo. , was fourth and Denny Schwartz of Ashmore , Ill. , took fifth.

Kramer’s $1,000 triumph was his first of the 2007 DIRTcar Nationals. He thanked a long line of people close to him for the victory.

“This is a real family operation,” bottom-lined Kramer, pointing at, among others, his father, uncle and girlfriend.

The UMP Modified action of the DIRTcar Nationals comes to a close on Tuesday night (Feb. 13) with a 25-lap championship event.

For more information on UMP DIRTcar Racing or the DIRTcar Nationals, visit or

UMP DIRTcar Racing Modified Feature Finish (20 laps):
1. Joey Kramer
2. Kenny Wallace
3. Steve Arpin
4. Ray Walsh
5. Denny Schwartz
6. Tom Seets Sr.
7. Brian Strand
8. Lee Hobbs
9. Blake Jetvig
10. Jeff Leka
11. Shawn Peterson
12. Kevin Adams
13. Brad Waits
14. David Cain
15. Mark Dotson
16. Jeff Sharp
17. Scotty Kincaid
18. Jesse Snyder
19. Ron Barker
20. Vance Wilson
21. Austin Dillon
22. Scotty Weber
23. Ed Lenhardt
24. Mike Wilson

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The Modified and Late Model veteran clinches his first DIRTcar points championship with two wins in Florida Coming into the 13th and final race...


Lining up 17th on the starting grid, Kyle Strickler said he thought he had “no chance” in winning the Gator Championship Feature Saturday night....


In the final pack of six Features for the DIRTcar UMP Modifieds at Volusia Speedway Park Friday night, 18 drivers had their tickets punched...


Of the six drivers that visited Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals Victory Lane Thursday night at Volusia Speedway Park, three hoisted a gator trophy...