Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Landers Repeats, Dollansky Nets First Win As Race To Be Alltel All-Star Heats Up

Barberville, FL — For the second consecutive night, Jared Landers dominated the UMP DIRTcar Modified field at the 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park as Craig Dollansky powered his way to victory in the season-opening Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series event.

Now their Alltel All-Star fates are in their fans’ hands. To cast a vote for either Dollansky, Landers or any of the other winners so far during the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals, anybody can go to and select their favorite DIRTcar Nationals winner or send a text message with their driver’s letter code to 52191. The winning Alltel All-Star receives a $12,000 cash prize.

With his fourth consecutive top-10 run, Landers, of Batesville, Ark., is hoping his fans in Arkansas have been paying attention to the action broadcast live on He needs their votes if he’s to become the Alltel All-Star.

Dollansky, a native of Elk River, Minn., fought off defending champion Donny Schatz time and again as he cruised to the checkered flag with his new Dollansky/Woodward Racing team. Still, the “Crowd Pleaser” needs his fans to vote if he’s to become the Alltel All-Star.

Dollansky joins fellow Sprint Car winners Wayne Johnson, who was leading the campaign through Thursday morning with 48 percent of the votes, and Donny Schatz, a two-time Alltel DIRTcar Nationals winner this week. Landers is joined by fellow UMP DIRTcar Modified winners Jesse Stovall and Scott Drake. The drivers have done everything they can, now it’s up to the fans to decide who will win the title by voting online or through text messages.

Drivers eligible for the Alltel All-Star contest (and their letter codes) are Jesse Stovall of Branson, Mo. (A); Donny Schatz of Fargo, N.D. (B); Scott Drake of Webb City, Mo. (C); Wayne Johnson, of Mustang, Okla. (D); Jared Landers, of Batesville, Ark. (E); and Craig Dollansky, of Elk River, Minn. (F). Voting will remain open until 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, March 16. The winning driver will be named in a special ceremony shortly thereafter.

“I knew I had to get back up here because I had some stuff I had to straighten up that I didn’t finish last night,” said Landers, who drives a Mark Martin-sponsored machine. “I have a baby coming with my wife Jessica and we need everything we can get so I need votes.”

Dollansky was thrilled in the Alltel Wireless Victory Lane knowing he is now eligible to be an Alltel All-Star if he can gain enough support.

“It’s an awesome deal that Alltel is doing for us,” Dollansky said. “Hopefully they enjoyed an exciting show tonight. We’re hoping the fans come out and support us and vote for us.”

The 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals runs through Feb. 16 and features the Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series™, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series™, the Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series™, UMP DIRTcar Racing™ Late Models and Open Wheel Modifieds, and the All Star Circuit of Champions over 12 consecutive nights. Each night includes two feature races with winners eligible to become Alltel All-Stars.

Alltel is owner and operator of the nation’s largest wireless network and has more than 12 million customers. For more information about Alltel, please visit

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


World of Outlaws Sprint Cars and Late Models to contend for $20K to win in respective Saturday finales Entering the 52nd DIRTcar Nationals at...


Volusia Speedway Park is set to bring fans some of the biggest Sprint Car, Late Model and Modified events this winter between December and...

Late Models

The Marshalltown, IA driver held off challenges from Devin Moran, Tim McCreadie, and Brandon Sheppard on the path to victory Ryan Gustin came into...

Late Models

The Chandler, AZ driver, led all 30 laps en route to his first Volusia Speedway Park Victory A year ago, Ricky Thornton Jr. seemed...