Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Lodge Claims DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Victory at LaSalle Speedway

Donovan Lodge


LaSALLE, Ill. — July 4, 2013 — Donovan Lodge outdueled race-long leader Rusty Griffaw in the final turn on the final lap to claim his first victory of the 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals on Thursday night at LaSalle Speedway.

Griffaw, of Festus, Mo. and Lodge, of Moline, Ill., led the field to green, with Griffaw quickly escaping any challenges by pulling away. Griffaw was in charge the first 20 laps before Lodge reeled him in with five laps to go. As the leaders approached lapped traffic, Lodge moved his line up one lane, which proved crucial for the eventual race winner. Lodge got Griffaw’s door multiple times, but could never fully get around the leader until he finally got to Griffaw’s door in turn three on the last lap as the two encountered a lapped car. Griffaw had to lift out of the gas coming off turn four as he got stuck behind the lapper, giving Lodge the momentum and the lead coming to the $1,000 checkered flag, one night after fading at the finish at Jacksonville Speedway.

“After last night going from first place to fifth in the last five laps, this is great,” said Lodge, who only led for one turn on one lap the entire night. “Running with the Summer Nationals is always a class act, always 40 cars every night. It’s fast and it just makes us better. So this is great win.”

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Milo Veloz, Jr., Jamie Lomax, and Jeff Leka rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included A.J May, Jamie Lomax, Rusty Griffaw, and Donovan Lodge.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Friday night at Fayette County Speedway located in Brownstown, Illinois.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; LaSalle (Ill.) Speedway; July 4, 2013

A-Main (25-laps): 1. Donovan Lodge ($1,000), 2. Rusty Griffaw, 3. Milo Veloz Jr, 4. Jamie Lomax, 5. Jeff Leka, 6. Jeff Curl, 7. A.J. May, 8. Steven Brooks, 9. Travis Kohler, 10. Matt Goulden, 11. Brian Lynn, 12. Butch Weisser, 13. Vince Cooper, 14. Justin McCoy, 15. Cody Bauman, 16. Brock Bauman, 17. Jim Farris, 18. David Wietholder, 19. Tommy Duncan, 20. Jason Pershey, 21. Ray Bollinger, 22. Allen Weisser.

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (2)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Nick Allen
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Mitch McGrath
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Kenny Wallace
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brian Beilong
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Michael Long
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Lance Dehm
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Dona Marcoullier
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Cancelled (RAIN)
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Matt Cooper
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Lucas Lee
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Mike Harrison
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Ray Bollinger
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Steven DeLonjay
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL David Wietholder
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Donovan Lodge
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thursday July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance. 

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...