Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Midwestern Standout Tim Hancock Battles Hard For Sunday-Night UMP DIRTcar Modified Win At Alltel DIRTcar Nationals

Barberville, FL — Tim Hancock of Mt. Olive , Ill. , scored a hard-fought victory in Sunday night’s 20-lap UMP DIRTcar Modified feature during the 37th annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park.

Though Hancock started from the pole position, he fell back to third place at the initial green flag and had to battle back to the front. He finally secured the lead with a lap-11 restart pass of Manhattan , Ill. ’s Mike Spatola and never looked back.

Hancock earned $1,500 for his first triumph of the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals, which came on an evening that attracted a week-high field of 90 UMP DIRTcar Modifieds.

Another UMP DIRTcar Modified standout from the ‘ Land of Lincoln ,’ Tommie Seets Jr. of Alton , Ill. , raced forward from the 12th starting spot to finish second.

Jason Miller of Osceola , Wis. , placed third after starting 16th, followed by second-starter George Catanzano of Ghent, N.Y., who led the race’s opening lap, and NASCAR veteran Ken Schrader of Fenton, Mo., who started 11th.

Spatola led laps 2-11 but slipped to a ninth-place finish.

Defending UMP DIRTcar Modified national champion Dennny Schwartz of Ashmore , Ill. , advanced from the 27th starting spot to finish sixth, earning him the Comp Cams Hard Charger Award.

Heat winners were Dale Mathison of Clearwater , Minn. , Dave Groves of Morgantown, W.Va., Shane Sabraski of Rice, Minn., Lou Krushansky of Mineral Wells, W.Va., Spatola, Hancock, Catanzano and Joey Jensen of Forest Lake, Minn. The B-Mains were captured by Jared Landers of Batesville, Ark. , David Cain of Corcoran , Minn. , Schwartz and Rob Fuqua of Paris , Ill.

The huge field included a first-time entrant named ‘Skeets Mumbo’ who bore a striking resemblance to NASCAR team owner Ray Evernham.

Despite finishing 11th, Landers remained atop the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals points standings after six of the week’s eight events for the UMP DIRTcar Modifieds.

The UMP DIRTcar Modifieds continue competition as part of the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals through Feb. 12. Racing begins each evening at 7:30.

For more information on the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals, visit or

UMP DIRTcar Modified Feature Finish (20 laps):
1. Tim Hancock
2. Tommie Seets Jr.
3. Jason Miller
4. George Catanzano
5. Ken Schrader
6. Denny Schwartz
7. Lou Krushansky
8. Alan Mondus
9. Mike Spatola
10. Devin Gilpin
11. Jared Landers
12. Kenny Johnson
13. Austin Dillon
14. Jeff Leka
15. Dale Mathison
16. Wayne Troseth
17. Brian Ruhlman
18. Rob Fuqua
19. Mike Potosky
20. Julie McDermid
21. Shane Sabraski
22. Dave Groves
23. Brian Strand
24. David Cain
25. Joey Jensen
26. Scott Drake
27. Cory Sekerson
28. Bob Gierke

DNQ: Chad Evans, Randle Sweeney, Jesse Stovall, Derek Groomer, Richard Michael, Ty Dillon, Dave Hess Jr., Skeets Mumbo, Kenny Wallace, Kurt Allison, Scott Green, Jordan Whitehead, Terry Hull, Gary Brooks, Dalton Zehr, Charlie Phillips, David McWilliams, Rick Conoyer, Devin DeYoung, Kenny Gaddis, Mark Noble, Chad Hadlick, Ralph Groomer, Tim Bowen, Darrell Nelson, Mike Hohlbein, Gary Eichler, Eric Bruce, Jeremy Gross, Darrell George, Tyler Townsend, Justin Houston, Jason Schill, Corky Thomas, Matt Permann, Larry Moreland, Rick Jones, Bruce Takach, Chuck Milian, Don Lamb, Tiny Green, Brandon Carlson, Scotty Kincaid, Frank Marshall, Bill Davis, Tony Anderson, Rick Lofins, Brad Waits, David Caruth, Kent Robinson, Jim Ransom, Tom Seets Sr., Jake Hawkins, J.E. Stadler, Gary Cook, David Bumgardner, Tim Thomas, Ben Ledgerwood, Todd Sherman, Rick Scott, Josh Butler

Alltel DIRTcar Nationals UMP DIRTcar Modified Points Standings (after 6 of 8 events):
1. Jared Landers 414
2. Scott Drake 386
2. Tim Hancock 386
4. Ken Schrader 375
5. Austin Dillon 374
6. Jason Miller 354
7. Mike Spatola 344
8. Dave Hess Jr. 325
9. Tommie Seets Jr. 318
10. Jesse Stovall 290
11. Kent Robinson 288
12. George Catanzano 266
13. Julie McDermid 260
14. Kenny Gaddis 256
15. Bob Gierke 249
16. Alan Mondus 244
17. Kenny Wallace 224
17. Brian Strand 224
19. Wayne Troseth 211
20. Bruce Takach 205

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


World of Outlaws Sprint Cars and Late Models to contend for $20K to win in respective Saturday finales Entering the 52nd DIRTcar Nationals at...


Volusia Speedway Park is set to bring fans some of the biggest Sprint Car, Late Model and Modified events this winter between December and...

Late Models

The Marshalltown, IA driver held off challenges from Devin Moran, Tim McCreadie, and Brandon Sheppard on the path to victory Ryan Gustin came into...

Late Models

The Chandler, AZ driver, led all 30 laps en route to his first Volusia Speedway Park Victory A year ago, Ricky Thornton Jr. seemed...