Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Morehouse Slides to His First DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Win at Attica Raceway Park

Kevin Morehouse – Jim Denhamer photo

ATTICA, Ohio — July 19, 2013 — Kevin Morehouse slid his way around race leader Dona Marcoullier with just a handful of laps remaining en route to capturing the checkered flag at Attica Raceway Park in the second to last event of the six week-long Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.

Morehouse, of Newark, Ohio, started in fifth, two rows behind Jeff Babcock and Collin Thirlby, who used the outside line to edge ahead.

Thirlby extended his lead before a spin ended his chances of claiming the victory. Thirlby’s spin allowed Dona Marcoullier to move in front with Morehouse challenging him from second.

Marcoullier ran the preferred high line all night as Morehouse raced the low groove. The two ran side-by-side for the next handful of laps with Morehouse finally completing the pass for the lead with only a few laps remaining. Morehouse moved to the top line and extended his lead en route to claiming the $1,000 checkered flag.

With just one race remaining, Mike Harrison looks to be in control of the 2013 Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals title as he sits 38 points ahead of Rusty Griffaw.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Mark Anderson, Jeff Babcock and Brian Ruhlman rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Mark Anderson, Collin Thirlby and Jeff Babcock.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals concludes its final week of action Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway located in Wauseon, Ohio.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Attica (Ohio) Speedway; July 19, 2013

A-Main (25 laps): 1. Kevin Morehouse (Newark, OH), 2. Dona Marcoullier (Houguton Lake, MI), 3. Mark Anderson (Lowell, MI), 4. Jeff Babcock (Wayne, OH), 5. Brian Ruhlman (Clarklake, MI), 6. Nick Katterhenry (St Marys, OH), 7. Larry Holbrook (Heath, OH), 8. Jason Kinney (Mendon, OH), 9. Brett Miller (McTamora, OH), 10. Taylor Cook (Stanley, NC), 11. Ray Jackson (Wauseon, OH), 12. Eddie Shaner (Lima, OH), 13. Bill Keeler (Rawson, OH), 14. Chris Sands (Morenci, MI), 15. Collin Thirlby (Traverse City, MI), 16. Brent Hole (New Knoxville, OH), 17. Nathan Loney (Danville, OH), 18. Curt Spalding (Hartford, MI), 19. John McClure (Clarksville, MI), 20. Corey Bevard (Union City, MI), 21. Jacob Gamber (Wauseon, OH), 22. Clay Pope (Willadd, OH), 23. Cody Basinger (Harpster, OH), 24. Jeremy Hoenie (St Marys, OH), 25. Zachary Schroeder (Findlay, OH).

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Top 10

Pos. Car Name Points
1. 24 Mike Harrison 502
2. 16 Rusty Griffaw 464
3. C12 Jeff Curl 449
4. 36 Kenny Wallace 425
5. 32 Donovan Lodge 405
6. 3L Jeff Leka 402
7. 77 Ray Bollinger 400
8. 5 Steve Brooks 369
9. O5 Dave Wietholder 359
10. 72 Brian Lynn 348

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin (Non-points)
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (2)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Nick Allen
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Mitch McGrath
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Kenny Wallace
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brian Beilong
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Michael Long
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Lance Dehm
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Dona Marcoullier
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Cancelled (RAIN)
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Matt Cooper
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Lucas Lee
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Mike Harrison
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Ray Bollinger
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Steven DeLonjay
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL David Wietholder
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Donovan Lodge
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL Brent Mullins
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL Postponed (RAIN)
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Mike Harrison (2)
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY Ryan Thomas
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN Cancelled (RAIN)
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL Mike Harrison (3)
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Jeff Curl
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL Ryan Thomas (2)
Monday July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Mike Harrison (4)
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH Doug Adkins (Non-points)
Thursday July 18 Off
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH Kevin Morehouse
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...