Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Perfect Game: Landers Matches Terrific Tuesday with Wednesday Win

2009 DIRTcar NationalsBarberville, FL — The bad news for UMP DIRTcar Modified drivers competing at Volusia Speedway Park, Jared Landers’ son is staying the rest of the week. Landers, a new father delivered for his young son, who has turned out to be a lucky charm once again Wednesday might in round two of the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals by UNOH.

With the win Landers made an even stronger case for his bid to become the Alltel All‐Star. “At least I might be able to win the Modified part if I can keep everyone else out of it. If one of these guys (Austin and Ty Dillon, or Ryan Gifford) gets in it I’m in trouble. I just want to leave with the most wins.”

“I couldn’t ask for much more.” said the elated Landers who claimed victory for the second night in a row. The 26‐year‐old driver’s march to victory was anything but simple, though, as he was hounded all feature long by young Ryan Gifford of Welcome, N.C. Gifford, who charged from 25th to fifth on opening night, made another solid appearance in the Wednesday night finale.

Gifford keeps using his crate late model experience to his advantage when piloting an open wheel modified. “These things you can drive a lot more aggressively than a late model. It’s a lot of fun.” Gifford has become a student behind the wheel during this Alltel DIRTcar Nationals by UNOH analyzing the moves of Landers the first two nights to up his own game. “I think I keep learning in these cars, and I think studying and watching what Jared did tonight will help me tomorrow.”

Arkansas driver Jeff Taylor filling in for Chris Smith followed in the tracks of Landers and Gifford the entire distance sizing them up much of the way. “I was just trying to figure a new car out. We got it turned around today (from yesterday). We’re still a little bit off. Jared and those guys are still pretty strong.” Taylor would have preferred to see the d‐shaped oval a little slicker but was still enthusiastic about his performance. “We did what we had to do. We got a good starting spot in the main and got a good finish.”

80 UMP DIRTcar Modifieds representing 22 states and 1 Canadian province took to the Volusia Speedway Park oval with Ryan Aho, a native of Chisholm, MN pacing the field with a quick lap of 18.511 at an average speed of 97. 239 mph.

8 heat races were contested during the night’s action with familiar faces reappearing in victory lane. Previous night heat race winner Darrell Nelson started on the pole and made it easy on himself winning heat one. Third place opening night finisher and UNOH Modified pilot John Henry took heat two.

The third heat saw previous night winner Jared Landers pick up where he left off as he charged from 3rd to first on the opening lap and never relenquised the lead to take the win. The hard charger from night number one of the ALLTEL DIRTcar Nationals by UNOH Ryan Gifford make a statement as he used the outside pole starting position to capture heat four. Grant Junhans from Manhattan, KS captured heat 5 over stong competition in Mike Knight and Jeff Leka.

Heat six saw the second Minnesota native claim victory in heat race action when Mark Noble crossed the first. Chris Smith took the lead early in heat number 7 and never looked back claiming the win and transfer spot. Oklahoma driver Jason Hughes claimed the final heat race of the night grabbing the lead early on and outdistancing Chad Evans and Brent Mullins who fought tooth and nail for second.

Four drivers used wins in consolation races to advance to the night’s A‐Main event. Young Canadian hotshoe Steve Arpin held off hard charging Brad Waits in the first consolation race. Alan Mondus held of quick timer Ryan Aho to take consolation race two. NASCAR star Kenny Schrader gave lessons to young shoe Ty Dillon in consolation 3 to advance while Rich Michael Jr led from the drop of the green flag in consolation race number 4 and took the win over Dave Groves.

ALLTEL DIRTcar Nationals by UNOH

Heat 1:
1. Darrell Nelson
2. Devin Gilpin
3. Mike Hansen
4. Steve Arpin
5. David McWilliams

Heat 2:
1. John Henry
2. Tim Hancock
3. Dave Hess
4. Aistin Dillon
5. Jeff Babcock

Heat 3:
1. Jared Landers
2. Gary Cook, Jr.
3. Randy Hall
4. Alan Mondus
5. Brian Aho

Heat 4:
1. Ryan Gifford
2. Kenny Wallace
3. Kent Robinson
4. Paul Bumgardner
5. Terry McClintock

Heat 5:
1. Grant Junghans
2. Mike Knight
3. Jeff Leka
4. Mike Wedelstadt
5. Ty Dillon

Heat 6:
1. Mark Noble
2. Corky Thomas
3. Benji Lacrosse
4. Ken Schrader
5. Bob Broking

Heat 7:
1. Chris Smith
2. Scott Green
3. Todd Sherman
4. Rich Michael
5. Dave Groves

Heat 8:
1. Jason Hughes
2. Jacob Hawkins
3. Chad Evans
4. Brent Mullins
5. Rodney Wing

Semi 1:
1. Steve Arpin
2. Brad Waits
3. Mike Spatola
4. Tim Karrick
5. J.E. Stadler

Semi 2:
1. Alan Mondus
2. Bob Gierke
3. Corky Thomas
4. Brian Aho
5. Matt Aber

Semi 3:
1. Ken Schrader
2. Austin Dillon
3. Matt McDermid
4. Erick Thiesse
5. Bob Broking

Semi 4:
1. Rich Michael
2. Dave Groves
3. Scott Drake
4. Rodney Wing
5. Tony Rowland

A‐Main Finish – 20 Laps
1. Jared Landers
2. Ryan Gifford
3. Jeff Taylor
4. Darrell Nelson
5. John Henry
6. Tim Hancock
7. Jason Hughes
8. Jeff Leka
9. Randy Hall
10. Jacob Hawkins
11. Corky Thomas
12. Benji Lacrosse
13. Steve Arpin
14. Mike Hansen
15. Alan Mondus
16. Todd Sherman
17. Rich Michael
18. Gary Cook Jr
19. Mike Knight
20. Mark Noble
21. Chad Evans
22. Grant Junghans
23. Devin Gilpin
24. Ken Schrader
25. Kent Robinson
26. Dave Hess Jr
27. Kenny Wallace
28. Scott Green

For more on the 38th Annual ALLTEL DIRTcar Nationals by UNOH please visit:

Through the second night of competition at the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals By UNOH, the Alltel All‐Star contenders and their text message Letter Codes include:

Sprint Cars — Donny Schatz, Fargo, N.D. (b)

UMP DIRTcar Modifieds — Jared Landers, Batesville, Ark. (a).

Fans can vote by visiting or texting their drivers code to 247253.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


World of Outlaws Sprint Cars and Late Models to contend for $20K to win in respective Saturday finales Entering the 52nd DIRTcar Nationals at...


Volusia Speedway Park is set to bring fans some of the biggest Sprint Car, Late Model and Modified events this winter between December and...

Late Models

The Marshalltown, IA driver held off challenges from Devin Moran, Tim McCreadie, and Brandon Sheppard on the path to victory Ryan Gustin came into...

Late Models

The Chandler, AZ driver, led all 30 laps en route to his first Volusia Speedway Park Victory A year ago, Ricky Thornton Jr. seemed...