Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Wallace Captures DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Checkered Flag at Spoon River Speedway

Kenny Wallace

CANTON, Ill. — June 19, 2013 —Defending DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals champion Kenny Wallace picked up his first victory of the 2013 tour on Wednesday night at Spoon River Speedway.

Wallace started on the outside of the front row and quickly charged to the front with Michael Long in pursuit at the 3/8-mile track. As the top five pulled away, Jake Griffin thrilled the crowd by wheeling his car around the cushion in an effort to run down Wallace and Long. Griffin’s efforts went for naught, though, when he slipped over the banking on the backstretch while running second with two laps to go.

Wallace held off Long for the $1,000 victory on a green-white-checkered finish, with Jeff Curl, Griffin and Allen Weisser rounding out the top five.

“We led the whole race but I could hear somebody was up top,” Wallace said. “My crew chief said go to the top, but I couldn’t go to the top because I didn’t have a half a lap up there. … We really needed this win because we’ve been struggling.”

There were 43 DIRTcar UMP Modifieds in the event.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Heat race winners included Bruce Erik, Ray Bollinger, Wallace and Curl.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill., on Thursday June 20.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Spoon River Speedway; Canton, Ill.; June 19, 2013

A-main (25-laps): 1. Kenny Wallace ($1,000), 2. Michael Long, 3. Jeff Curl, 4. Jake Griffin, 5. Allen Weisser, 6. Jeff Leka, 7. Ray Bollinger, 8. Billy Tuckwell, 9. Tommy Duncan, 10. Brian Lynn, 11. Chad Evans, 12. Steven Delongay, 13. Butch Weusser, 14. Dave Baldwin, 15. A.J. May, 16. Richie Biswell, 17. Steve Grotz, 18. David Wietholder, 19. Bobby Allen, 20. Lodge Donovan, 21. Bruce Erik, 22. Jason Wagner.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Championship Standings

Pos. Car Name Points
1 3L Jeff Leka 154
2 77 Ray Bollinger 147
3 36 Kenny Wallace 127
4 1g Devin Gilpin 122
5 C12 Jeff Curl 105
6 22 Chad Kinder 85
7 21 Nick Allen 80
8 8 Levi Kissinger 75
9 32 Donovan Lodge 75
10 18 Michael Long 75

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (2)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Nick Allen
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Mitch McGrath
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Kenny Wallace
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
Tuesday July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wednesday July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thursday July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Friday July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL
Saturday July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sunday July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Tuesday July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wednesday July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thursday July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Friday July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sunday July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL
Wednesday July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thursday July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Friday July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Saturday July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance. 

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...


The Modified and Late Model veteran clinches his first DIRTcar points championship with two wins in Florida Coming into the 13th and final race...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


Lining up 17th on the starting grid, Kyle Strickler said he thought he had “no chance” in winning the Gator Championship Feature Saturday night....