Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Wietholder takes Jacksonville victory for First Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Win

Dave Wietholder


JACKSONVILLE, Ill. — July 3, 2013 —David Wietholder had been close all season but had come up just shy of a victory on the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals tour, until Wednesday night when he powered to his first victory of 2013 at Jacksonville Speedway.

Wietholder, of Liberty, Ill., started the feature from the fifth position and locked his car to the inside to move up to third behind leaders Donovan Lodge and Jeff Leka, who were battling side-by-side the first five laps. Tuesday night winner Steven DeLonjay passed Wietholder for third as the leaders continued to sort out the top spot, but DeLonjay encountered troubles when he hit the inside cushion causing his car to spin out in front of the field.

When the field went back to green, Wietholder charged past both leaders, then he held off Jeff Curl to score his first victory of the six-week-long tour and secure the $1,000 checkered flag.

“This is the first win of the year, and hopefully we can get many more,” the ecstatic David Wietholder said in victory lane.

(Click here for news and information on the Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals.)

Tim Hancock, Rusty Griffaw and Donovan Lodge rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included T.D Burger, Jeff Curl, Donovan Lodge and Jeff Leka.

The DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continues Thursday night at LaSalle Speedway located in LaSalle, Illinois.


DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Statistical Report; Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway; July 3, 2013

A-Main (25-laps): 1. David Wietholder ($1,000), 2. Jeff Curl, 3. Tim Hancock, 4. Rusty Griffaw, 5. Donovan Lodge, 6. Jeff Leka, 7. Kenny Wallace, 8. Ray Bollinger, 9. Brock Bauman, 10. Matt Goulden, 11. Steven Brooks, 12. T.D. Burger, 13. Brandon Roberts, 14. Jake Griffin, 15. Guy Taylor, 16. Brian Lynn, 17. Cody Bauman, 18. Dave Baldwin, 19. Steve Theivagt, 20. Michael Stuckey, 21. A.J. May, 22. Wes Odell, 23. Steven DeLonjay.

DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals Top 10

Pos. Car Name Points

1 C12 Jeff Curl 380

2 77 Ray Bollinger 379

3 36 Kenny Wallace 365

4 32 Donovan Lodge 328

5 O5 Dave Wietholder 319

6 3L Jeff Leka 313

7 16 Rusty Griffaw 308

8 4B Cody Bauman 284

9 24 Mike Harrison 269

10 41 Matt Goulden 265

2013 DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals

Day Date Track Location Winner
Saturday June 8 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Devin Gilpin
Wednesday June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Devin Gilpin (2)
Friday June 14 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Nick Allen
Sunday June 16 Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, WI Mitch McGrath
Wednesday June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Kenny Wallace
Thursday June 20 Belle-Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brian Beilong
Friday June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Michael Long
Saturday June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Lance Dehm
Sunday June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Dona Marcoullier
Monday June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Cancelled (RAIN)
Wednesday June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Matt Cooper
Thursday June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Lucas Lee
Friday June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Mike Harrison
Saturday June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sunday June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Ray Bollinger


July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Steven DeLonjay


July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL David Wietholder


July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL


July 5 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, IL


July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL


July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN


July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY


July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN


July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL


July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL


July 14 Vermillion County Speedway Danville, IL

July 17

Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH

July 18

Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN

July 19

Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH

July 20

Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals is proudly brought to you by these fine partners : Summit Racing Equipment (Title Sponsor), Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Provider), Hoosier Racing Tire (Official Racing Tire), VP Racing Fuels (Official Fuel), along with these Contingency Parters: MSD Performance, TomCat Performance, Landrum Performance Springs, Dominator Race Products, QuarterMaster, KSE Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Wrisco Aluminum, Beyea Custom Headers, Fast Shafts, Bassett Wheels, QA1, Auto Meter, Schoenfeld Headers, University of Northwestern Ohio (UNOH), Racing Electronics, Intercomp, Bell Helmets, Shafer Enterprises’ Cool Shirts, XS Power Racing Batteries, and Chevy Performance.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


Wednesday night DIRTcar UMP Modified Features at Volusia Speedway Park put three new faces and three returning drivers in Victory Lane, awarding them the...


Wallace, Lee, Strickler, Allgaier and more names set to join projected field of 100-plus cars DIRTcar UMP Modified Florida Speedweeks multi-week grind continues with...