Naturally! Dale Planck, “the Natural,” captures DIRTcar 358-Modified Series at Cornwall Motor Speedway

Cornwall, Ontario – Sunday, September 2, 2012 – Martin Bélanger, Cornwall Motor Speedway PR Director – A new driver visited the winners circle in round number five of the DIRTcar 358-Modified Series at Cornwall Motor Speedway as Dale Plank charged ahead of the competition to victory.

Matt Billings and Kyle Dingwall were on the front row on the initial green and Dingwall became the early leader. The new Brockville track champion led the first 14 laps as Billings took a restart opportunity to grab the first position, Planck jumping to second and aiming for the lead as leaders approached heavy traffic. Planck used these conditions to take the lead on lap 26.

While Planck was building momentum, Danny O’Brien and Carey Terrance made their way to the front, both breaking the top 5 just before the halfway point. O’Brien moved up to second on lap 58 using the top side and got closer to Planck as the feature got closer to the lap 75 mandatory pit stop caution.

Francois Bernier brought the caution on lap 65 and Danny O’Brien used the restart to pass Planck for the lead. As the feature quickly reached the competition pit stop, the cars stopped in the front stretch for a fast 10-minute break.

This pit stop was good for Planck as he was rapid on the inside and regained the lead over O’Brien on lap 80. Matt Williamson from St-Catharines, Ontario, was making his way up to the front after starting 17th on the grid. Williamson jumped to fourth with a dozen laps to go and then surprised Terrance with only four laps to go for third spot.

Planck led the final portion of the 125-lap feature to capture his first DIRTcar 358-Modified Series race of 2012 and grabs the lead in the feature. O’Brien, Williamson, Terrance and Raabe rounded out the top 5.

The 2012 Cornwall track champion was happy in the winner’s circle: ”the track`s awesome, the fans are awesome, always like racing at Cornwall,” Planck said.

A fine field of 42 358-Modified made the haul to Cornwall for the fifth round as a good mix of some of the best drivers of eastern and western Ontario, Quebec and state of New York.

The DIRTcar 358-Modified Series will remain in Canada, visiting Autodrome Granby Friday, Sept. 7, after a year absence at the beautiful facility located about 45 minutes of Montreal.


MrDIRTcar 358-Modified Series Race #5-Cornwall Motor Speedway, May 20, 2012 Event Summary


Feature Results:

Dale Planck, Danny O’Brien, Mat Williamson, Carey Terrance, Chris Raabe, Erick Rudolph, Steve Bernard, Luke Whitteker, Laurent Ladouceur, Matt Billings, Joel Doiron, Jeremy Wilder, Pierre Dagenais, Alain Boisvert, Dany Bilodeau, Claude Brouillard, Stephane Lafrance, Roy Tarbell, Tommy Flannigan, Bobby Herrington, Sebastien Gougeon, Kyle Dingwall, Mario Clair, Francois Bernier, Yan Bussiere, Brian McDonald, Mike Bowman, Kayle Robidoux, Brandon Sweet, David Hebert


Dingwall (1-14)

Billings (15-25)

Planck (26-70)

D.O’Brien (71-79)

Planck (80-125)


Heat Races (8 laps, top 3 qualify, top 2 went to redraw)

#1: Matt Billings, Dale Planck, Alain Boisvert, Bobby Herrington, Tommy Flannigan, Marc Therrien, Patrick Beaumier

#2: Stephane Lafrance, Joel Doiron, Jeremy Wilder, Francois Bernier, Roy Tarbell, Brandon Sweet, Bruno Lepage

#3: Kayle Robidoux, David Hebert, Mario Clair, Claude Brouillard, Michel Chicoine, David Papineau, Travis Stacey

#4: Chris Raabe, Luke Whitteker, Laurent Ladouceur, Bobby Herrington, Sebastien Gougeon, Shane Pecore, Kevin Hamel

#5: Danny O’Brien, Steve Bernard, Mat Williamson, Brian McDonald, Pat O’Brien, Yan Bussiere, Roger Levesque

#6: Carey Terrance, Kyle Dingwall, Pierre Dagenais, Dany Bilodeau, Mike Bowman, Gage Morin, Tim O’Brien

Consi #1: Francois Bernier, Erick Rudolph, Roy Tarbell, Roger Levesque, Michel Chicoine, Bruno Lepage, Patrick Beaumier, Marc Therrien

Consi #2: Bobby Herrington, Claude Brouillard, Sebastien Gougeon, Tommy Flannigan, Kevin Hamel, Travis Stacey, David Papineau, Shane Pecore

Consi #3: Brian McDonald, Mike Bowman, Yan Bussiere, Dany Bilodeau, Pat O’Brien, Gage Morin, Roger Levesque

Cornwall Motor Speedway MrDIRTcar 358-Modified Series Race #5 Roster (42)

O1 Chris Raabe/Napanee, ONT

1h David Hebert/St. Damase,QUE

3 Claude Brouillard/Tracy,QUE

4j Shane Pecore/St-Andrews, ONT

6 Pat O’Brien/Kingston, ONT

6m Mat Williamson/St.Catharines,ONT

OO7 Roy Tarbell/Hogansburg, NY

13 Kevin Hamel/Granby, QUE

15t Travis Stacey/Hogansburg, NY

16 Gage Morin/St-Andrews, ONT

17 Marc Therrien/Williamstown, ONT

17D Danny O’Brien/Kingston,ONT

19j Tommy Flannigan/St-Catharines, ONT

21 Yan Bussiere/Drummondville,QUE

22c Mario Clair/St-Edmond,QUE

22j Jeremy Wilder/Fort Plain, NY

22p Patrick Beaumier/Granby,QUE

23 Laurent Ladouceur/Alexandria, ONT

23b Dany Bilodeau/Victoriaville,QUE

24 Brandon Sweet/Watertown, NY

24b Roger Levesque/Brockville,ONT

25 Bobby Herrington/Elginburg, ONT

25r Erick Rudolph/Ramsomville, NY

38 Luke Whitteker/Iroquois,ONT

40 Joel Doiron/Alexandria, ONT

44 Sebastien Gougeon/Drummondville, QUE

46 Kayle Robidoux/St-Constant,QUE

49 Francois Bernier/St-Hyacinthe

54 Steve Bernard/Granby, QUE

66 Kyle Dingwall/Brockville, ONT

66x Carey Terrance/Akwesasne,NY

71 Mike Bowman/St.Catharines,ONT

73 Alain Boisvert/Dorval, QUE

74 Matt Billings/Brockville, ONT

77x Dale Planck/Cortland,NY

88 Tim O’Brien/Kingston, ONT

97 Michel Chicoine/Ste-Cecile-de-Milton, QUE

99 Bruno Lepage/Maple Grove, QUE

115 Stéphane Lafrance/Casselman, ONT

124 Pierre Dagenais/Gatineau, QUE

151KB Brian McDonald/Cornwall,ONT

188 David Papineau/Hogansburg, NY

2012 DIRTcar 358 Modified Series Schedule







Sunday, May 20th

Cornwall Speedway

Cornwall, Ontario



Danny Johnson

Monday, May 21st

Merrittville Speedway

Merrittville, Ontario



Brett Hearn

Thursday, June 21st

Mohawk International Raceway

Akwesasne, New York



Billy Dunn

Tuesday, July 3rd

Ransomville Speedway

Ransomville, New York



Danny Johnson

Sunday, September 2nd

Cornwall Speedway

Cornwall, Ontario



Dale Planck

Friday, September 7th

Autodrome Granby

Granby, Quebec



Saturday, September 15th

Mohawk International Raceway

Akwesasne, NY



SFriday, September 21st

Canandaigua Motorsports Park

Canandaigua, NY



Saturday, September 22nd

Brighton Speedway

Brighton, Ontario



Wednesday, October 3th





Thursday, October 4th

Rolling Wheels Raceway

Elbridge, NY



Saturday, October 6th

New York State Fairgrounds

Syracuse, NY



Saturday, October 13th

Brockville Speedway

Brockville, Ontario



The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, Gander Mountain, NAPA Auto Parts, Nationwide Insurance, and Safety-Kleen. Promotional partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Intercomp, JE Pistons, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Ignition, Penske Shocks, Racing Electronics, Superflow, Vicci Racing Apparel, WIX Filters, Wrisco Industries, and Xtreme Lubricants.