Home | Divisions | 358 Modifieds | Syracuse Super DIRT Week 358-Modified Championship Qualifiers Fill Summer Slate

Syracuse Super DIRT Week 358-Modified Championship Qualifiers Fill Summer Slate

2008 Super DIRTweek XXXVIIWeedsport, NYApril 3, 2008 – By Tom Skibinski, DIRTcar Racing NorthEast PR Director

The schedule of qualifying races leading up to the Mr. DIRTcar 358-Modified Championship on Oct. 11 of Super DIRT Week XXXVII in Syracuse, N.Y. has been set with 20 tracks currently staging nearly 70 events in 2008.

The present-day format guarantees that automatic starting berths for the headline ITT Corporation/Goulds Pumps “Salute To The Troops” 150 will be earned by drivers competing only in DIRTcar-sanctioned events, while time trials on the Syracuse Mile will remain open to any driver issued a DIRTcar License.

Last season Brett Hearn claimed his fourth career ITT Industries-Goulds Pumps Championship in dramatic fashion on Saturday afternoon at the New York State Fairgrounds. The Sussex, New Jersey superstar survived a pair of rain-delays, ultimately outlasting Pat Ward who had his fuel tank run dry coming out of turn four on lap 149, with Hearn being the first in line to collect the first-place prize.

Qualifying procedures for the 29th Annual Syracuse 358-Modified Championship include time trials for all drivers as well as those already holding guaranteed starter status through the summer qualifying races plus the three DIRTcar 358-Modified Regional Championships. Preliminary clockings lock in the front three rows with the top-8 non-guaranteed drivers making Friday’s Twin 20s starting grids.

The summer-long qualifying trail culminates with the 150-lap ITT-Goulds 358-Modified Championship held during the 37th edition of Super DIRT Week, October 7-12. Guaranteed starters will be added from Super DIRT Week qualifiers at Can-Am Motorsports Park (Oct. 8), Brewerton Speedway (Oct. 9) and Rolling Wheels Raceway Park (Oct. 10), with the current top-12 in overall Hoosier Tire-Sunoco Race Fuels Mr. DIRTcar 358-Modified point standings and provisionals filling out the field.

For additional information, please contact DIRTcar Racing NorthEast Director of Competition & Track Sanctioning Cory Reed in the DIRTcar NE Office (315/834-6606) during normal business hours or log into www.dirtcar.com anytime to find out more about the entire circuit.

2008 358-MODIFIED SYRACUSE CHAMPIONSHIP QUALIFIERS
(+)-denotes Mr. DIRTcar 358-Modified Championship Series event.
DAY-DATE TRACK LOCATION
Sat-Apr 19 Orange County Fair Speedway Middletown,NY
Sat-Apr 26+ Merrittville Speedway Thorold,ONT
Sat-May 10 Airborne Speedway Plattsburgh,NY
Fri-May 16 Autodrome Edelweiss Hull,QUE
Sat-May 17 Brockville Ontario Speedway Brockville,ONT
Sun-May 18 Orange County Fair Speedway Middletown,NY
Mon-May 19 Merrittville Speedway Thorold,ONT
Fri-May 23 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville,NY
Sat-May 24 Lebanon Valley Speedway West Lebanon,NY
Sat-May 24 Mohawk Int’l Raceway Hogansburg,NY
Fri-May 30 Autodrome Granby Granby,QUE
Sat-Jun 7 Autodrome Drummond Drummondville,QUE
Sat-Jun 7 Fulton Speedway Fulton,NY
Sat-Jun 14 Orange County Fair Speedway Middletown,NY
Wed-Jun 18 Oswego Speedway Oswego,NY
Sat-Jun 21 Lebanon Valley Speedway West Lebanon,NY
Sun-Jun 22 Cornwall Motor Speedway Cornwall,ONT
Sun-Jun 22 Humberstone Speedway Port Colborne,ONT
Thr-Jul 3 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville,NY
Fr-Jul 4 Autodrome Edelweiss Hull,QUE
Sat-Jul 5 Can-Am Motorsports Park LaFargeville,NY
Thr-Jul 10 Brockville Ontario Speedway Brockville,ONT
Fri-Jul 11 Autodrome Granby Granby,QUE
Sat-Jul 12 Autodrome Drummond Drummondville,QUE
Sat-Jul 12 Canandaigua Speedway Canandaigua,NY
Sat-Jul 12 Lebanon Valley Speedway West Lebanon,NY
Sat-Jul 12 Merrittville Speedway Thorold,ONT
Sun-Jul 13 Cornwall Motor Speedway Cornwall,ONT
Sun-Jul 13 Cayuga County Fair Speedway Weedsport,NY
Fri-Jul 18 Autodrome Granby Granby,QUE
Sat-Jul 19 Autodrome Drummond Drummondville,QUE
Fri-Jul 18 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville,NY
Sat-Jul 19 Orange County Fair Speedway Middletown,NY
Sun-Jul 20 Lebanon Valley Speedway West Lebanon,NY
Thr-Jul 31 Mohawk Int’l Speedway Hogansburg,NY
Fri-Aug 1+ Ransomville Speedway Ransomville,NY
Fri-Aug 1 Autodrome Edelweiss Hull,QUE
Sat-Aug 2 Brockville Ontario Speedway Brockville,ONT
Sun-Aug 3 Cornwall Motor Speedway Cornwall,ONT
Mon-Aug 4 Merrittville Speedway Thorold,ONT
Wed-Aug 6 Airborne Speedway Plattsburgh,NY
Fri-Aug 8 Brewerton Speedway Brewerton,NY
Fri-Aug 8 Ohsweken Speedway Ohsweken,ONT
Sat-Aug 9 Lebanon Valley Speedway West Lebanon,NY
Sat-Aug 9 Autodrome Drummond Drummondville,QUE
Sat-Aug 16 Can-Am Motorsports Park LaFargeville,NY
Sat-Aug 16 Orange County Fair Speedway Middletown,NY
Sun-Aug 17 Humberstone Speedway Port Colborne,ONT
Thr-Aug 21+ Mohawk Int’l Raceway Hogansburg,NY
Sat-Aug 23 Lebanon Valley Speedway West Lebanon,NY
Fri-Aug 29 Ransomville Speedway Ransomville,NY
Sat-Aug 30 Orange County Fair Speedway Middletown,NY
Sat-Aug 30 Merrittville Speedway Thorold,ONT
Sat-Aug 30 Mohawk Int’l Raceway Hogansburg,NY
Sat-Aug 30 Airborne Speedway Plattsburgh,NY
Sun-Aug 31+ Cornwall Motor Speedway Cornwall,ONT
Mon-Sep 1 Northern Region Champion DIRTcar NorthEast
Mon-Sep 1 Eastern Region Champion DIRTcar NorthEast
Mon-Sep 1 Western Region Champion DIRTcar NorthEast
Fri-Sep 5 Autodrome Granby Granby,QUE
Sat-Sep 6+ Brockville Ontario Speedway Brockville,ONT
Sat-Sep 6 Lebanon Valley Speedway(4) West Lebanon,NY
Sat-Sep 13+ Autodrome Drummond Drummondville,QUE
Fri-Sep 19+ Canandaigua Speedway Canandaigua,NY
Sun-Sep 21 Airborne Speedway Plattsburgh,NY
Fri-Sep 26+ Rolling Wheels Raceway(4) Elbridge,NY
Sat-Oct 4 Fulton Speedway Fulton,NY
Wed-Oct 8+ Can-Am Motorsports Park LaFargeville,NY
Thr-Oct 9+ Brewerton Speedway Brewerton,NY
Fri-Oct 10+ Rolling Wheels Raceway Park Elbridge,NY
Sat-Oct 11+ New York State Fairgrounds Syracuse,NY

The Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series for Big-Block Modifieds is brought to fans across the Northeast by several sponsors and partners, including series sponsors Advance Auto Parts and Hoosier Racing Tire. Rite Aid Corporation is a promotional partner and the contingency sponsors are Bars Leaks, Bert Transmission, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Crane Cams, Dig Safely New York, Holley HP Carburetors, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, Penske Shocks, Rislone Oil Stabilizer and Wrisco Industries.