Todd Stone Charges to DIRTcar 358-Modified Win on Airborne Asphalt

Todd Stone in Victory Lane
Todd Stone celebrates his victory at Wednesday’s 358-Modified Asphalt Series opener. Photo credit: Dave Dalesandro

Courtesy of Airborne Park Speedway

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. – June 21, 2012 – Todd Stone’s strong season at Airborne Speedway got even better Wednesday after he survived a late charge from Pat McGrail to win the Della Motorsports 75-lap DIRTCar358-Modified Series event.

Stone, of Middlebury, Vt.,drew the outside pole, powered into the lead, survived six restarts and held off McGrail in the closing laps. McGrail settled for second, three car-lengths ahead of third-place invader Keith Flach.

Matt DeLorenzo and Airborne regular Greg Atkins rounded out the top five but were no match for the leaders.

“When you start up front, you go,” Stone said. “I got an early lead and just tried to run my race as best I could. When McGrail got closer, the car felt good underneath me and I stepped it up the last 15 laps.”

McGrail did everything he could to close the gap.

“I had a handful those last few laps,” McGrail said. “I did what I could.”

The second round of the four-race 358-Modified Asphalt series is Tuesday, June 26, at Dunn Tire Raceway Park.


DIRTcar 358-Modified Asphalt Series Race #1-Airborne Park Speedway; June 20, 2012

A-main (75 laps)
– 1. Todd Stone, 2. Pat McGrail, 3. Keith Flach, 4. Matt DeLorenzo, 5. Greg Atkins, 6. Leon Gonyo, 7. Adam Bartemy, 8. MaximeViens, 9. Aaron Bartemy, 10. Vince Quenneville, 11. Tony Steiner, 12. Andy Heywood, 13. Kris Vernold, 14. Matt Woodruff, 15. Mike Reyell, 16. Andy Powell, 17. Jessey Mueller, 18. Pierre Berthiaume, 19. Jason Durgan, 20. Kenny Tremont, Jr., 21. Patrick Dupree, 22. Andy Lindeman, 23. Michel Viens, 24. Frank Cozze, 25. Craig Reyell, 26. Chris Cayea.

The Super DIRTcar Series and DIRTcar Racing in the Northeast Region is brought to fans by several sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tire, VP Racing Fuels, Chevy Performance Parts, Gander Mountain, NAPA Auto Parts, Nationwide Insurance, and Safety-Kleen. Promotional partners include the University of Northwestern Ohio. Contingency sponsors are ASI, Bicknell Racing Products, Bilstein Shocks, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Intercomp, JE Pistons, Klotz Synthetic Lubricants, KSE Racing Products, Motorsports Safety Systems, MSD Ignition, Penske Shocks, Racing Electronics, Superflow, Vicci Racing Apparel, WIX Filters, Wrisco Industries, and Xtreme Lubricants.