Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Annual UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Showcases 27 Dirt Late Model Races in 31 Days

DIRTcar Summer NationalsORLANDO, FL — Dec. 12, 2008 — The 21st annual UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour is the most grueling month in any form of motorsports. The 2009 series — also known as the “Hell Tour” — is one of the most challenging in history with 27 Super Dirt Late Model races in 31 days. More than anything, the schedule released this week at the Performance Racing Industry Trade Show is a matter of survival, a true reality show.

The Summer Nationals is a journey that pits man and his machine against the best dirt tracks in the Midwest. It’s the series that helped to launch the legendary careers of Billy Moyer and Scott Bloomquist, as well as current World of Outlaws Late Model Series star Shannon Babb.

“Running the Summer Nationals tour is one of the toughest things a Dirt Late Model team can attempt,” said UMP DIRTcar Racing Director Sam Driggers. “To accomplish the feat, to survive to finale at Oakshade, is an accomplishment that won’t be forgotten. Whether it’s the racers, the officials or the fans, the tour showcases everything that’s great about dirt track racing.”

The month of hell kicks off June 11 at Indiana’s Brownstown Speedway. It winds through Indiana, Kentucky, Illinois, Tennessee and Missouri before reaching the championship night on July 11 with the 12th Annual “Birthday Race” at Oakshade Raceway in Wauseon, Ohio.

Among the tracks visited along the 4,500 miles on this year’s circuit are new and familiar. Farmer City Raceway and Macon Speedway, which have each featured an amazing 21 Summer Nationals races since 1988, are again on this year’s slate.

Three new dates also tag this year’s UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour. For the first time, the “Hell Tour” will invade Clay Hill Motorsports Park, Shepp Speedway and Waynesfield Motorsports Park.

“There are still tracks out there that really want a date, but we’ve found that this is about as far as anyone can go for a month straight,” Driggers said.

Illinois leads the way with 18 events on the schedule, followed by three events in Indiana, two events in Ohio and Tennessee and one each in Missouri and Kentucky.

Two-time and defending UMP DIRTcar Super Late Model and Summer Nationals champion Dennis Erb Jr., of Carpentersville, Ill., is expected to defend his title. Erb’s attempt at the “three-peat” won’t be easy, facing not only the grueling schedule but also tough drivers like Jason Feger, of Bloomington, Ill.; Wes Steidinger, of Fairbury, Ill.; and Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich.

For more information on UMP DIRTcar Racing, visit

2009 UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule
Race Date Day Track Location
1. June 11 Thursday Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN
2. June 12 Friday Kankakee Motor Speedway Kankakee, IL
3. June 13 Saturday Kamp Motor Speedway Boswell, IN
4. June 14 Sunday Quad City Raceway East Moline, IL
June 15 Monday Off
5. June 16 Tuesday Highland Speedway Highland, IL
6. June 17 Wednesday Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL
7. June 18 Thursday Charleston Speedway Charleston, IL
8. June 19 Friday Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, IL
9. June 20 Saturday Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN
10. June 21 Sunday Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
June 22 Monday Off
11. June 23 Tuesday I-57/ I-64 Raceway Mt. Vernon, IL
12. June 24 Wednesday To Be Announced
13. June 25 Thursday Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN
14. June 26 Friday Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY
15. June 27 Saturday Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL
16. June 28 Sunday Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
June 29 Monday Off
17. June 30 Tuesday Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
18. July 1 Wednesday Morgan County Speedway Jacksonville, IL
19. July 2 Thursday Macon Speedway Macon, IL
20. July 3 Friday Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
21. July 4 Saturday I-55 Raceway Pevely, MO
22. July 5 Sunday Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
July 6 Monday Off
23. July 7 Tuesday Shepp Speedway Alexander, IL
24. July 8 Wednesday Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL
25. July 9 Thursday La Salle Speedway La Salle, IL
26. July 10 Friday Waynesfield Motorsports Park Waynesfield, OH
27. July 11 Saturday Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...


Forty years of weekly DIRTcar Racing is now in the history books. The 28th edition of DIRTcar’s year-end special event concluded appropriately Saturday night...