Babb Runs Win Streak to Four at Spoon River Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Event

CANTON, Ill. – July 14, 2011 – Shannon Babb obviously didn’t think three consecutive DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour wins was enough, capturing Thursday night’s event at Spoon River Speedway.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Babb started the race on the pole, but Steve Lance Jr., of Peoria, Ill., jumped to the early lead using the preferred low groove of the Illinois oval.  Babb stalked Lance over the course of the events first five laps before moving under Lance, who slid out of the racing line on lap six to take command.  Babb rolled on to victory leading the rest of the way to claim the $5,000 top prize, his fourth consecutive and seventh overall victory of the 2011 ‘Hell Tour’.  Pinconning, Mich., driver Jeep Van Wormer climbed from his fourth place starting spot courtesy of a second heat race win, to finish second behind Babb.  Brandon Sheppard, a tour winner at Lincoln and Farmer City, finished third ahead of Lance who settled for fourth.  Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Ark., finished fifth, his third consecutive fifth-place finish.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Babb, who is seeking his third ‘Hell Tour’ championship, extends his point lead heading into the final three events of the 2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals to 285 points over Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., and 352 points over Erb.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals return to action Friday, July 15 at Attica (Ohio) Raceway Park.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Spoon River Speedway; Canton, Ill.; July 14, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Jeep Van Wormer, (3) Brandon Sheppard, (4) Steve Lance Jr., (5) Jack Sullivan, (6) Donny Walden, (7) Jim Moon, (8) Matt Miller, (9) Ryan Unzicker, (10) Dennis Erb Jr., (11) Rickey Frankel, (12) Kevin Weaver, (13) Mark Voigt, (14) Scott James, (15) Mike Spatola, (16) Dillan White, (17) Bobby Pierce, (18) Scott Schmitt, (19) Evan Fink, (20) Tim Lance, (21) Joe Harlan, (22) Eric Smith. Fast qualifiers (among 38 cars): Frankel, Van Wormer, Sheppard, Moon. Heat race winners: S. Lance, Van Wormer, Sheppard, Babb. C-Main winner: Doug Drown. B-Main winner: Harlan. Provisional starters: White, E. Smith, Fink, Spatola.

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Mike Spatola (37)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Scott James (29)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July 13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22 Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Scott James (50)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Jason Feger (48)
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Dan Schlieper (52)
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill. PPD/July 23
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich. Shannon Babb (46)
June 28 Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, Ind. Shannon Babb (22)
June 29 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Ryan Unzicker (32)
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Mike Spatola (30)
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky. Ray Cook (40)
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Billy Moyer (41)
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (35)
July 4 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa Brian Birkhofer (26)
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Shannon Babb (38)
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. PPD/July 21
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (41)
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Wendell Wallace (44)
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Shannon Babb (35)
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. Shannon Babb (40)
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Shannon Babb (29)
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Shannon Babb(38)
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.