Babb Streaks to Tri-State Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Triumph

Shannon Babb
Shannon Babb

HAUBSTADT, Ind. – July 10, 2011 – Shannon Babb showed why he’s at the top of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour by winning Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Babb had no easy task starting seventh, but masterfully navigated traffic using the high side of the quarter-mile oval to pass Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind. with four laps remaining to score his fourth victory of the ‘Hell Tour’ worth $5,000. James finished second ahead of Pinconning, Mich., driver Jeep Van Wormer who he had battled early on in the main event. Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., a former DIRTcar Late Model National Champion finished fourth. Young Bobby Pierce, son of Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame driver Bob Pierce, finished fifth, his best finish on tour to date.


Babb will extend his point lead to 173 markers over Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., and to 293 points over defending DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., who finished 21st.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Tuesday, July 12 at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway to make up the tour’s opener that was postponed due to weather.

Kloos Penalty Appeal

A penalty was issued to Michael Kloos related to the tires he used to win the Hell Tour event June 29 at Belle Clair Speedway. Kloos has appealed the penalty.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Tri-State Speedway; Haubstadt, Ind.; July 10, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Scott James, 3. Jeep Van Wormer, 4. Rodney Melvin, 5. Bobby Pierce, 6. Ryan Unzicker, 7. Matt Miller, 8. Dillan White, 9. Kent Robinson, 10. Dennis Erb Jr., 11. Randy Korte, 12. Mike Spatola, 13. Jack Sullivan, 14. Chad Zobrist, 15. Victor Lee, 16. Donny Walden, 17. Brandon Sheppard, 18. Jason Riggs, 19. Chad Stapleton, 20. Jeff Walston, 21. Jason Feger, 22. Michael Kloos. Fast qualifiers (among 35 cars): James, Sullivan, Van Wormer, Miller. Heat race winners: James, Pierce, Van Wormer, Melvin. B-main winner: Riggs. Provisional starters: Sheppard, Walston, Lee, Spatola.

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Mike Spatola (37)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Scott James (29)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July 13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22 Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Scott James (50)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Jason Feger (48)
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Dan Schlieper (52)
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill. PPD/July 23
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich. Shannon Babb (46)
June 28 Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, Ind. Shannon Babb (22)
June 29 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Michael Kloos (32)
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Mike Spatola (30)
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky. Ray Cook (40)
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Billy Moyer (41)
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (35)
July 4 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa Brian Birkhofer (26)
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Shannon Babb (38)
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. PPD/July 21
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (41)
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Wendell Wallace (44)
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Shannon Babb (35)
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind.
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill.
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill.
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.