Babb Ties All-Time Win Record with Sixth DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Victory at Vermilion County Speedway

Shannon Babb


DANVILLE, Ill. — July 14, 2013 — Shannon Babb scored his sixth victory of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” on Sunday night in a thriller at Vermilion County Speedway to tie Billy Moyer’s record of 82 all-time wins.

Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., might be a long shot to capture his fourth Summer Nationals title as the series is in its final week, but that won’t keep him from fighting for victories. Babb captured the pole-position over Frank Heckenast Jr., who pulled out to the early lead. The outside groove was the fast groove early on as the outside starting Heckenast shot around Babb, pulling fourth-place-starting Mike Spatola with him.

Babb was finally able to move his car to the faster groove and gain back ground on the leaders as red-hot Bobby Pierce joined the four-way battle for the lead. Babb muscled his way around second-place running Spatola on lap 11, setting his sights on leader Heckenast as the leaders approached lapped traffic. On lap 19 two cars racing side-by-side trying to stay on the lead lap slowed down the leaders enough to bunch the top four in the outside lane. Babb captured the lead on lap 22 and led for six laps before Spatola and Pierce went by. Babb recaptured the lead for good on lap 31.

Babb and Pierce then distanced themselves from Spatola and Heckenast. Pierce gave Babb a run for his money, challenging him on the inside line, but came up just short as Babb claimed the $5,000 checkered flag and the 82nd victory of his DIRTcar Summer Nationals career.

“That’s what keeps me going,” said Babb, who officially sits 89 markers behind Brandon Sheppard in the championship standings. “When I have a racetrack like that right there, I stand up in my seat and like to work my race car and go at it again. That was a blast. … I think the fans enjoyed that right there.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Mike Spatola, Brandon Sheppard and Frank Heckenast Jr. rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Shannon Babb, Frank Heckast Jr. and Brandon Sheppard.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues in its final week of action on Monday night at Peoria Speedway located in Peoria, Ill. Shannon Babb will be attempting to break the all-time win record at Peoria, where last won on the Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” in 2011.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Vermilion County Speedway; Danville, Ill.: July 14, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2. Bobby Pierce, 3. Mike Spatola, 4. Brandon Sheppard, 5. Frank Heckenast Jr, 6. Brian Shirley, 7. Kent Robinson, 8. Kevin Weaver, 9. Jason Jaggers, 10. Tanner English, 11. Dustin Griffin, 12. Scott Schmitt, 13. Brian Divley, 14. Scott Bull, 15. Jason McBride, 16. Tim Lance, 17. Steve Thorsten, 18. Todd Frank, 19. Aaron Ricketts, 20. Kyle Madison, 21. MCKay Wenger, 22. Randy Korte.

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Canceled/Rain
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard (2)
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL PPD/Rain July 15
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Brandon Sheppard (3)
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Brandon Sheppard (4)
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Billy Moyer
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Bobby Pierce
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Shannon Babb (2)
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL Shannon Babb (3)
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Bobby Pierce (2)
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL Ryan Unzicker (2)
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL PPD/Rain Aug. 25
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Shannon Babb (4)
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY Scott Bloomquist
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN Canceled/Rain
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL Shannon Babb (5)
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Bobby Pierce (3)
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA Bobby Pierce (4)
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL Shannon Babb (6)
Mon. July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Off
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum.