Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Billy Moyer, Dave Groves Join Alltel Win List, Need Fans To Vote In Alltel All-Star Competition

Barberville, FL — The UMP DIRTcar Super Late Models rolled into Volusia Speedway Park on Monday night with legendary Billy Moyer on cruise control as he and UMP DIRTcar Modified driver Dave Groves earned victories in the 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals and became eligible in the Alltel All-Star contest.

Moyer was locked in all night as he won a Dirt Late Model feature for the fourth time in the past week. Groves held off hard-charging NASCAR star Ken Schrader during the intense closing laps by riding the top of the track and keeping Schrader pinned to the bottom.

Now it’s up to the fans. To support your favorite Alltel DIRTcar Nationals winner, which could be worth $12,000 to that driver, cast as many votes as possible at or send a text message with a driver’s Letter Code to 52191.

Moyer, the 2005 World of Outlaws Late Model Series champion, is seeking the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals championship.

“I guess right now our record speaks for itself,” said Moyer, a native of Batesville , Ark. “I hope the fans vote for us.”

Groves , of Morgantown , W.Va. , is hoping the impressive college football season his West Virginia University Mountaineers posted in 2007 will rub off on his tally at

“You saw the Fiesta Bowl,” Groves said. “Vote for West Virginia !”

The Alltel All-Star contenders and their text message Letter Codes include:

Sprint Cars — Wayne Johnson, Mustang, Okla. (D), who was leading the campaign through Monday night with 27 percent of the votes; Craig Dollansky, Elk River, Minn. (F); Jason Meyers, Clovis, Calif. (H); Danny Lasoski, Dover, Mo. (J); and Donny Schatz, Fargo, N.D. (B), a two-time winner during the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals.

UMP DIRTcar Modifieds — Jesse Stovall, Branson, Mo. (A); Scott Drake, Webb City, Mo. (C); Dave Hess Jr., Waterford, Pa. (G); Tim Hancock, Mount Olive, Ill. (I); Dave Groves, Morgantown, W.Va. (K); and two-time Alltel DIRTcar Nationals winner Jared Landers, Batesville, Ark. (E).

The drivers have done everything they can do to win you over, now it’s up to you to decide who will win the title by voting online or through text messages.

The 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals runs through Feb. 16 and features the Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series™, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series™, the Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series™, UMP DIRTcar Racing™ Late Models and Open Wheel Modifieds, and the All Star Circuit of Champions over 12 consecutive nights. Each night includes two feature races with winners eligible to become Alltel All-Stars.

Alltel is owner and operator of the nation’s largest wireless network and has more than 12 million customers. For more information about Alltel, please visit

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Like the summer temperatures, Ashton Winger has been heating up recently and threw another load of coal in the fire with his second Feature...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

For the first time in his career, Logan Martin is a Feature winner with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals. Martin, the 27-year-year regional racer from...

Late Models

The midway point of the 38th annual DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour has arrived as Week 3 commences, presenting a schedule of six races...