Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Billy Moyer Goes 2-for-2, Billy Pauch Joins Alltel Win List, Both Need Fans To Vote In Alltel All-Star Competition

Barberville, FL — Two legends of dirt track racing put on a clinic Wednesday night during the 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park.

Billy Moyer, a native of Batesville, Ark., better known as Mr. Smooth, dominated the UMP DIRTcar Super Late Model main event for the second consecutive time while Billy Pauch earned his first Advance Auto Parts Big Block Modified victory at Volusia Speedway Park since 1988.

Now it’s up to the fans. To support your favorite Alltel DIRTcar Nationals winner, which could be worth $12,000 to that driver, cast as many votes as possible at or send a text message with a driver’s Letter Code to 52191.

Moyer, who has won five times in six races this February, is leading the Late Model race for the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals championship.

“I just hope I don’t wake up from this dream,” said Moyer, the 2005 World of Outlaws Late Model Series champion. “Everything is just falling in line right now.”

Pauch, who has more than 600 wins in his careeer, was exhausted after climbing out his car following a week with a 103-degree fever that required a visit to a hospital.

“Well, we’re an underfunded team and we sure could use the money to make it through the whole season,” said Pauch, who had been in a hospital with a 103 degree fever leading up to the race night and was still weak after holding off Brett Hearn for 30 laps. “I’d like to see the little guy get it for once.”

The Alltel All-Star contenders and their text message Letter Codes include:

Sprint Cars — Wayne Johnson, Mustang, Okla. (D), who was leading the campaign through Monday night with 27 percent of the votes; Craig Dollansky, Elk River, Minn. (F); Jason Meyers, Clovis, Calif. (H); Danny Lasoski, Dover, Mo. (J); and Donny Schatz, Fargo, N.D. (B), a two-time winner during the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals.

UMP DIRTcar Modifieds — Jesse Stovall, Branson, Mo. (A); Scott Drake, Webb City, Mo. (C); Dave Hess Jr., Waterford, Pa. (G); Tim Hancock, Mount Olive, Ill. (I); Dave Groves, Morgantown, W.Va. (K); and two-time Alltel DIRTcar Nationals winner Jared Landers, Batesville, Ark. (E).

Dirt Late Models — Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ark. (L)

Advance Auto Parts Big Block Modifieds — Billy Pauch, Frenchtown, N.J. (M)

The drivers have done everything they can do to win you over, now it’s up to you to decide who will win the title by voting online or through text messages.

The 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals runs through Feb. 16 and features the Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series™, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series™, the Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series™, UMP DIRTcar Racing™ Late Models and Open Wheel Modifieds, and the All Star Circuit of Champions over 12 consecutive nights. Each night includes two feature races with winners eligible to become Alltel All-Stars.

Alltel is owner and operator of the nation’s largest wireless network and has more than 12 million customers. For more information about Alltel, please visit

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Like the summer temperatures, Ashton Winger has been heating up recently and threw another load of coal in the fire with his second Feature...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

For the first time in his career, Logan Martin is a Feature winner with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals. Martin, the 27-year-year regional racer from...

Late Models

The midway point of the 38th annual DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour has arrived as Week 3 commences, presenting a schedule of six races...