Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Birkhofer Cruises to LaSalle DIRTcar Summer Nationals Triumph

Brian Birkhofer - Mike Ruefer Photo

Brian Birkhofer – Mike Ruefer Photo

LaSalle, Ill. – July 4, 2012 – Brian Birkhofer of Muscatine, Iowa, cruised to his second DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ victory of 2012 on Wednesday night at LaSalle (Ill.) Speedway. Birkhofer earned $5,000 for winning the 40-lap main event.

(For late breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Starting on the pole, Birkhofer jumped to an early lead over current Summer Nationals point leader Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., and held off a late race charge from Frank Heckenast Jr. of Frankfort, Ill., for the win. Heckenast finished second and Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., finished third. 2011 DIRTcar Late Model National Champion Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., finished fourth and previous night winner Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., rounded out the top five.

Point leader Shirley’s night went south after contact with safety barriers sent him pit-side, only to return and later be involved in an accident that ended his night in 21st. Defending Summer Nationals champion Shannon Babb finished the event in sixth, and closed to within 24 points of Shirley with nine events remaining.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

The tour returns to action Thursday night at tiny Macon (Ill.) Speedway for the $5,000-to-win Herald & Review 100. Shannon Babb won the rescheduled Herald & Review 100 on July 21st, 2011.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; LaSalle Speedway; LaSalle, Ill.; July 4, 2012 A-Main (40-laps): 1. Brian Birkhofer ($5,000), 2. Frank Heckenast Jr. 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Ryan Unzicker, 5. Jason Feger, 6. Shannon Babb, 7. Jon Henry, 8. Jason Jaggers, 9. Dennis Erb Jr., 10. Morgan Bagley, 11. Scott Schmitt, 12. Kevin Weaver, 13. Mike Spatola, 14. Rich Bell, 15. Bret Sievert, 16. Jerry Lierly, 17. Jason McBride, 18. Ray Guss Jr., 19. Tim Isenberg, 20. Richie Hendrick, 21. Brian Shirley, 22. Jack Sullivan. Fast qualifiers (among 36 cars): Shirley, Jaggers, Shirley, Heckenast Jr. Heat race winners: Birkhofer, Henry, Shirley, Sehppard.

2012 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule




Winner (Cars)


Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

Billy Moyer Jr. (49)


Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Shannon Babb(45)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Billy Moyer Jr. (37)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Billy Moyer Jr. (32)


Wilmot Raceway

Wilmot, WI

Ryan Unzicker (31)


Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL

Jon Henry (38)


Highland Speedway

Highland, IL

Rodney Melvin (42)


Fayette Co. Speedway

Brownstown, IL

Brian Shirley (41)


Tri City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL

Billy Moyer (43)


Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL

Brian Shirley (41)


I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI

Shannon Babb (36)


Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, IN

Jason Feger (21)


Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL

Jason Feger (34)


Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN

Brandon Sheppard (28)


Paducah Int. Raceway

Paducah, KY

Brian Birkhofer (35)


Federated Auto Parts I-55

Pevely, MO

Billy Moyer (34)


Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL

Canceled (Heat)


Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL

Brian Shirley (41)


Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL

Jason Feger (40)


Lasalle Speedway

Lasalle, IL

Brian Birkhofer (36)


Macon Speedway

Macon, IL


Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL


Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN


Tri State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN


Florence Speedway

Union, KY


Brushcreek Motorsports

Pebbles, OH


Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN


Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH


Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals (The Hell Tour) is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine contingency sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Chevy Performance Parts, Intercomp, JE Pistons, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Ignition, Ohlins Shocks, Quartermaster, Superflow Dyno’s, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), Wix Filters, and Wrisco Aluminum. 

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...