Bobby Pierce - Jim Denhamer photo

Bobby Pierce Battles Jason Feger for Father’s Day Win at Wilmot

Bobby Pierce - Jim Denhamer photo
Bobby Pierce – Jim Denhamer photo

Returns to victory lane as series hits first break

WILMOT, Wis. – June 19, 2016 – Bobby Pierce battled Jason Feger Sunday night at Wilmot Speedway to claim his second DIRTcar Summer Nationals win of the season and the Northern Kickoff payoff.

Pierce saluted his father, late model veteran and chassis builder, Bob Pierce, in victory lane during the special Father’s Day win.

“He probably works harder than any person in the pit area so it’s really cool to get it for him,” Pierce said. “Was giving me the sticks the whole race too and they were pretty close most of the time so it was pretty nerve-wracking.

Jason Feger started the feature on the pole and paced the field through the opening laps. As he began working his way through traffic, Pierce, the 19-year-old reigning Summer Nationals champion, who started the feature in third, found his opening. Using the high side of the track, Pierce used a narrow gap to battle around Feger.

Pierce held off Feger through the remaining laps as Mike Marlar scored another top-three finish.

The win gave Pierce an extra $2,500 payoff for winning the Northern Kickoff, the first of a new series of regional battles within the Summer Nationals tour.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action on Tuesday at Jacksonville Speedway as it kicks off the Heartland Tour.

Follow the Summer Nationals and Summit Modified Nationals on Twitter at or on Facebook at Stay up-to-date with the latest news from the series throughout the lead up and the summer on the series’ websites at and 

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Wilmot Speedway, Wilmot, Wis.

A-Main: 1. Bobby Pierce (Oakwood, IL) ($5,000), 2. Jason Feger (Bloomington, IL), 3. Mike Marlar (Winfield, TN), 4. Timothy Culp (Sheridan, AR), 5. Bob Gardner (East Peoria, IL), 6. Gordy Gundaker (St Charles, MO), 7. Rodney Melvin (Benton, IL), 8. Chris Carlson (Union Grounds, WI), 9. Don Hammer (Clinton, IL), 10. Taylor Scheffler (Waukesha, WI), 11. Eric Spangler (Lake City, MI), 12. Brent Larson (Lake Elmo, MN), 13. Turke Letizia (Milwaukee, WI), 14. James Letizia (Milwaukee, Wi), 15. Bill Rezutek (Big Bend, WI), 16. Matt Fabrizius (Genoa, IL), 17. Charlie Olson (Kingston, IL), 18. Mike Spatola (Manhattan, IL), 19. Jeff Hartzell (Genoa, IL), 20. Reno Markham (Kingston, IL), 21. Lyle Zanker (Rockford, IL), 22. TJ Markham (Sycamore, IL), 23. Paul Parker (Depere, WI).

Heat 1:
1. 25 Jason Feger
2. 157 Mike Marlar
3. 27 Eric Spangler
4. 8R Bill Rezutek
5. C12 Chris Carlson
6. 20JR Reno Markham
7. B1 Brent Larson
8. D1 Turke Letizia

Heat 2:
1. 11 Gordy Gundaker
2. 89 Mike Spatola
3. 74 Taylor Scheffler
4. 615 Matt Fabrizius
5. 21 TJ Markham
6. 10 Paul Parker
7. 28 Charlie Olson
8. 9 Lyle Zanker

Heat 3:
1. 32 Bobby Pierce
2. 4G Bob Gardner
3. 27 Rodney Melvin
4. C8 Timothy Culp
5. 45 Don Hammer
6. 5 Jeff Hartzell
7. D7 James Letizia

1. 32 Bobby Pierce
2. 25 Jason Feger
3. 157 Mike Marlar
4. C8 Timothy Culp
5. 4G Bob Gardner
6. 11 Gordy Gundaker
7. 27 Rodney Melvin
8. C12 Chris Carlson
9. 45 Don Hammer
10. 74 Taylor Scheffler
11. 27 Eric Spangler
12. B1 Brent Larson
13. D1 Turke Letizia
14. D7 James Letizia
15. 8R Bill Rezutek
16. 615 Matt Fabrizius
17. 28 Charlie Olson
18. 89 Mike Spatola
19. 5 Jeff Hartzell
20. 20JR Reno Markham
21. 9 Lyle Zanker
22. 21 TJ Markham
23. 10 Paul Parker

2016 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Winners
Northern Kickoff
June 15 Wednesday Brownstown Speedway Rain/Cancelled
June 16 Thursday Kankakee Co. Speedway Bobby Pierce
June 17 Friday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer
June 18 Saturday Cedar Lake Speedway Billy Moyer (2)
June 19 Sunday Wilmot Speedway Bobby Pierce (2)
Heartland Tour
June 20 Monday OFF
June 21 Tuesday Jacksonville Speedway
June 22 Wednesday Farley Speedway
June 23 Thursday Spoon River Speedway
June 24 Friday Tri-City Speedway
June 25 Saturday Fairbury Speedway
June 26 Sunday Tri-State Speedway
Southern Tour
June 27 Monday OFF
June 28 Tuesday Clarksville Speedway
June 29 Wednesday Belle Clair Speedway
June 30 Thursday Springfield Raceway
July 1 Friday Fayette Co. Speedway
July 2 Saturday Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55
July 3 Sunday Lincoln Speedway
Independence Week
July 4 Monday LaSalle Speedway
July 5 Tuesday Daugherty Speedway
July 6 Wednesday Peoria Speedway
July 7 Thursday Macon Speedway
July 8 Friday Farmer City Speedway
July 9 Saturday Highland Speedway
July 10 Sunday Quincy Raceways
Champions Week
July 11 Monday OFF
July 12 Tuesday Plymouth Speedway
July 13 Wednesday Shadyhill Speedway
July 14 Thursday Merritt Speedway
July 15 Friday Oakshade Raceway
July 16 Saturday Oakshade Raceway

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Comp Cams, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, MSD, Impact Race Products, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing.