Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Bobby Pierce Becomes Youngest Driver in History to Score DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Victory

Bobby Pierce


LINCOLN, Ill. — June 30, 2013 — Bobby Pierce is only 16 years old but he accomplished a feat on Sunday night at Lincoln Speedway that many in Dirt Late Model racing only dream about — winning a DIRTcar Summer Nationals event.

Pierce, of Oakwood, Ill., captured the $10,000 victory in dominating fashion at quarter-mile Lincoln Speedway on the 12th night of the six-week DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, becoming the youngest winner in the 26-year history of the grueling summer series.

Pierce lined up on the outside of points leader Brandon Sheppard on the front row for the 60-lap feature, but it was three-time series champion Shannon Babb who charged from sixth to lead the 22-car field in the early going. Pierce caught and passed Babb on lap 9 then held off 2004 series champion Don O’Neal to the checkered flag.

“We’ve been trying so hard to do this, getting top-fives and coming close,” said Pierce, whose father, Bob, is a two-time DIRTcar Summer Nationals champion (1992, 1995). “It’s so hard to win these things. You’ve got the best of the best. I’m so glad to finally get one. It’s amazing.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Sheppard, Ryan Unzicker and last year’s champion Brian Shirley rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Tyler Reddick, Sheppard, Dustin Griffin and Pierce.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Tuesday night at Quincy Raceways located in Quincy, Illinois.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway: June 30, 2013

A-Main (60-laps): 1. Bobby Pierce ($10,000), 2. Don ONeal, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Ryan Unzicker, 5. Brian Shirley, 6. Terry English, 7. Shannon Babb, 8. Jack Sullivan, 9. Dustin Griffin, 10. Tanner English, 11. Jason McBride, 12. Tyler Reddick, 13. Randy Korte, 14. Rich Bell, 15. Rusty Schlenk, 16. Brian Divley, 17. Scott Schmitt, 18. Kevin Weaver, 19. Daren Friedman, 20. Steve Sheppard Jr, 21. Bobby Dauderman, 22. Eric Smith.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Top 10 Standings

Pos. Car Name Points

1 B5 Brandon Sheppard 807

2 24 Ryan Unzicker 713

3 32 Bobby Pierce 713

4 18 Shannon Babb 679

5 81 Randy Korte 571

6 20 Dustin Griffin 556

7 77 Jason McBride 552

8 11 Tyler Reddick 551

9 B12 Kevin Weaver 503

10 48 Tim Lance 422

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Cancelled (RAIN)
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL Cancelled (RAIN)
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Brandon Sheppard
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Billy Moyer
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain (Aug. 17)
Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Bobby Pierce
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Off
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum. 

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


The battle to become the top DIRTcar weekend warrior begins this weekend. Drivers who compete weekly at DIRTcar-sanctioned tracks throughout the Northeast and Canada...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...