Brandon Sheppard Goes Flag-to-Flag at Spoon River Speedway

Brandon Sheppard


CANTON, Ill. — June 19, 2013 — Points leader Brandon Sheppard dominated the fourth round of the 31-race DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” by grabbing the pole and leading every lap of the A-main en route to the victory.

Sheppard, of New Berlin, Ill., conquered the 3/8-mile track and the 38-car field by holding off Billy Drake of Bloomington, Ill., for the $5,000 checkered flag and the fourth DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of his career.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Jason McBride, Tyler Reddick and Bobby Pierce rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Sheppard, Drake, McBride and Dustin Griffen.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Thursday at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Spoon River Speedway; Canton, Ill.; June 19, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Brandon Sheppard ($5,000), 2. Billy Drake, 3. Jason McBride, 4. Tyler Reddick, 5. Bobby Pierce, 6. Tim Lance, 7. Randy Korte, 8. Kevin Weaver, 9. Scott Bull, 10. Shannon Babb, 11. Chris Shelton, 12. Scott Schmitt, 13. Dustin Griffin, 14. Todd Frank, 15. Richey Frankel, 16. Ryan Unzicker, 17. Jim Moon, 18. Pete Parker, 19. Brian Divley, 20. Jesse Stovall, 21. Justin Reed, 22. Evan Fink.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Top 10 Championship Standings

Pos. Car Name Points
1. B5 Brandon Sheppard 280
2. 32 Bobby Pierce 233
3. 18 Shannon Babb 231
4. 77 Jason McBride 216
5. B12 Kevin Weaver 205
6. 81 Randy Korte 204
7. 24 Ryan Unzicker 187
8. 33 Tyler Reddick 186
9. 20 Dustin Griffin 173
10. 48 Tim Lance 165

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Cancelled (RAIN)
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO
Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Off
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, , Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum.