Brian Shirley takes UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals win at Charleston Speedway!


Charleston, IL – June 30, 2010 – Brian Shirley had things under control Wednesday night at Charleston Speedway during the DIRTcar Summer Nationals 15th stop.

The Chatham, Ill., driver used his front row starting spot to lead all 40 laps of the A-Main. Shirley survived a challenge from outside polesitter Curtis Roberts of Coleman, Mich., early, and later from Clarksville Summer Nationals winner Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Ark., to claim his first Hell Tour win in over a year worth $5,000.

Sullivan would hang on to finish second as Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., would finish third. 2009 DIRTcar Late Model National Champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., came across the line fourth, rebounding from his worst series performance the night before, while previous night winner Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., would round out the top five.

First group
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 13.77
Curtis Roberts (9r), Coleman, Mich., 13.88
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., time unavailable
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 14.00
Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 14.11
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., time unavailable
Frank Heckenast Sr. (99sr), Lockport, Ill., 14.54
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., time unavailable

Richie Hedrick (0), Urbana, Ill., 16.44

Second group
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 13.81
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 14.05
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill., 14.34
Scott Schmitt (10s), Tonica, Ill., 14.47
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Orland Park, Ill., 14.53
Chris Dick (22), DeLand, Ill., 15.00
Russ Adams (74), Princeville, Ill., 15.54
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., no time
Mike Hammerle (16H), St. Charles, Mo., no time

Third group
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 14.20
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 14.27
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 14.53
Kevin Weaver (B12), Gibson City, Ill., 14.79
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 14.92
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 15.22
Dick Taylor (24), Springfield, Ill., 15.27
Cory Daugherty (96), Blue Mound, Ill., 15.38

Heat 1:
Curtis Roberts, Jeep Van Wormer, Shannon Babb, Dennis Erb Jr., Rodney Melvin, Jason McBride, Brandon Sheppard, Richie Hedrick, Frank Heckenast Jr

Heat 2:
Jack Sullivan, Jason Feger, Scott Schmitt, Mark Voigt, Jim Moon, Chris Dick, Frank Heckenast Jr., Russ Adams, Mike Hammerle

Heat 3:
Brian Shirley, Ryan Unzicker, Billy Moyer Jr., Kevin Weaver, Donny Walden, Cory Daugherty, Brandon Thirlby, Dick Taylor

C Main:
Chris Dick, Jason McBride, Brandon Sheppard, Brandon Thirlby, Richie Hedrick, Frank Heckenast Jr., Cory Daugherty, Russ Adams, Frank Heckenast Sr., Dick Taylor, Mike Hammerle

(1) Brian Shirley, (2) Jack Sullivan, (3) Ryan Unzicker, (4) Jason Feger, (5) Jeep Van Wormer, (6) Dennis Erb Jr., (7) Kevin Weaver, (8) Rodney Melvin, (9) Mark Voigt, (10) Billy Moyer Jr., (11) Donny Walden, (12) Brandon Sheppard, (13) Richie Hedrick, (14) Jason McBride, (15) Jim Moon, (16) Brandon Thirlby, (17) Shannon Babb, (18) Scott Schmitt, (19) Curtis Roberts, (20) Chris Dick, (21) Frank Heckenast Jr.