Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Dennis Erb, Jr. claims UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals win at Macon Speedway!

Dennis Erb, Jr.


Macon, IL – July 8, 2010 – Dennis Erb Jr. knows to make the most of opportunities presented to him as he did Thursday night at Macon Speedway during race 20 of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour.

The defending Hell Tour champion, Erb climbed from his 12th starting spot to sneak below then leader and 2009 Herald & Review winner Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., with three laps remaining in the 100-lap feature event to claim his second win of the 2010 Summer Nationals Tour worth $5,000.

The win extends the point lead for Erb over second place finisher Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., who entered the night only 23 markers behind Erb in the point standings. Babb would settle for third, a rebound of sorts for the driver who lead the tour point standings earlier in the year but has recently suffered a string of bad luck. Greenbriar, Ark., driver Jack Sullivan started seventh and worked his way forward to finish fourth while Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill. rounded out the top five.

Up next for the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour is a visit to Tri-City Speedway on Friday July 9, 2010. In total the Hell Tour has traveled over 4,000 miles in the course of 22 nights. The trip from Macon to Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach, Ill., will have drivers traveling over 100 miles southwest to the track where 2009 DIRTcar Late Model National Champion Jason Feger earned his first ever Summer Nationals win in 2009.

First group
Brian Shirley (48x), Chatham, Ill., 11.126
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 11.574
Ken Schrader (9), Concord, N.C., 11.649
Dick Taylor (24T), Springfield, Ill., 11.707
Brian Dively (11D), Springfield, Ill., 11.723
Jeff Beyers (27), Pana, Ill., 11.813
Dennis Vandermeersch (25), Springfield, Ill., 12.011

Second group
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 11.247
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 11.544
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 11.613
Mike Hammerle (16H), St. Charles, Mo., 11.991
Joseph Hughes (7H), Springfield, Ill., 12.165
Craig Vosbergen (8), Perth, Western Australia, 12.434
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 17.534

Third group
Kyle Logue (21), Cisco, Ill., 11.273
Ryan Little (38L), Springfield, Ill., 11.491
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 11.561
Steve Sheppard Jr. (5s), New Berlin, Ill., 11.575
Terry Reed (11k), Decatur, Ill., 11.684
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., 11.900
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 12.980

Fourth group
Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 11.192
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 11.386
Roger Brickler (82), Springfield, Ill., 11.430
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 11.482
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 11.591
Rodney Standerfer (28), Germantown, Ill., 12.236
Russ Adams (74), Princeville, Ill., 13.361

Fifth group
Tim Lance (48), Brimfield, Ill., 11.388
Kevin Weaver (B12), Gibson City, Ill., 11.457
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 11.516
Richie Hedrick (0), Urbana, Ill., 11.807
Doug Drown (12), Wooster, Ohio, 11.954
Chris Dick (22), Deland, Ill., 12.015

Heat 1:
Brian Shirley, Jason Feger, Brian Dively, Dick Taylor, Jeff Beyers, Ken Schrader, Dennis Vandermeersch

Heat 2:
Shannon Babb, Jack Sullivan, Dennis Erb Jr., Mike Hammerle, Brandon Thirlby, Craig Vosbergen, Joseph Hughes

Heat 3:
Kyle Logue, Steve Sheppard Jr., Jeep Van Wormer, Jim Moon, Terry Reed, Ryan Little, Jason McBride

Heat 4:
Brandon Sheppard, Rodney Melvin, Ryan Unzicker, Roger Brickler, Rodney Standerfer, Russ Adams, Billy Moyer Jr.

Heat 5:
Tim Lance, Kevin Weaver, Richie Hedrick, Donny Walden, Chris Dick, Doug Drown

Roger Brickler, Jim Moon, Mike Hammerle, Ryan Little, Donny Walden, Chris Dick, Jeff Beyers, Doug Drown, Rodney Standerfer, Craig Vosbergen, Terry Reed, Brandon Thirlby, Russ Adams, Joseph Hughes, Dick Taylor, Dennis Vandermeersch, Jason McBride. Scratched: Ken Schrader, Billy Moyer Jr.

(1) Dennis Erb Jr., (2) Jason Feger, (3) Shannon Babb, (4) Jack Sullivan, (5) Ryan Unzicker, (6) Kyle Logue, (7) Rodney Standerfer, (8) Steve Sheppard Jr., (9) Jeep Van Wormer, (10) Tim Lance, (11) Roger Brickler, (12) Mike Hammerle, (13) Donny Walden, (14) Brandon Sheppard, (15) Kevin Weaver, (16) Brian Shirley, (17) Jim Moon, (18) Brian Diveley, (19) Rodney Melvin, (20) Richie Hedrick, (21) Billy Moyer Jr.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...