Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals: Babb Blasts to Highland Speedway Win

Shannon Babb


Highland, IL – June 22, 2010 – Shannon Babb found the high-side to his liking on Tuesday Night in Round 7 of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals at Highland Speedway.

The Moweaqua, Ill., driver powered from his fifth place starting spot to battle with Benton, Ill., driver Rodney Melvin for the lead and by lap 22 Babb would assume command. Babb, Melvin, and defending DIRTcar Late Model National Champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., would pull away from the field as the three battled for the remainder of the 40-lap Summer Nationals feature. Babb would go on to hold off Feger on a lap 39 restart to win the $5,000 top prize.

Feger would settle for second as Melvin secured third. Local driver and group quick timer Paul Bailey of Pocahontas, Ill., would come to the checkers fourth as three-time and defending DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., would round out the top five.

First group
Kevin Cole (3c), Christopher, Ill., 13.613
Mark Faust (51), Breese, Ill., 14.128
Greg Johnson (15), Bedford, Ind., 14.135
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 14.173
Mike Schulte (27s), Summerfield, Ill., 14.316
Mike Hammerle (16H), St. Charles, Mo., 14.609
Michael Jacober (5j), Highland, Ill., 14.837
Nick Lyons (2x), Centralia, Ill., 15.053
Bryant Dickinson (5*), Ionia, Mich., 15.586
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., no time
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., no time

Second group
Paul Bailey (81), Pocahontas, Ill., 14.344
Rick Standridge (12), Collinsville, Ill., 14.378
Clay Baumann (77B), Highland, Ill., 14.407
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 14.527
Richie Hedrick (0), Urbana, Ill., 14.609
Frankie Martin (25m), DuQuoin, Ill., 14.629
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 14.634
Jay Sparks (7s), Metamora, Ill., 14.668
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 14.684
Jason Jameson (12), Lawrenceburg, Ind., 14.808
Tim Manville (33), Highland, Ill., 15.231

Third group
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 14.235
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 14.270
Brian Harris (75), Davenport, Iowa, 14.404
Wendell Wallace (88), Batesville, Ark., 14.432
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 14.529
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 14.625
Brent Helmkamp (31), Greenville, Ill., 14.638
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill., 14.779
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 14.839
Pete Parker (10), Kaukauna, Wis., 14.908
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., no time

Fourth group
Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 13.653
Mark Burgtorf (7B), Quincy, Ill., 13.993
Billy Faust (00), Lebanon, Ill., 14.109
Michael Kloos (6k), Trenton, Ill., 14.323
Chad Zobrist (78), Highland, Ill., 14.404
Dan Jacober (22), Highland, Ill., 14.419
Bobby Melvin (23), Benton, Ill., 14.811
Dave Thornton (12T), Trenton, Ill., 15.048
Jeremy Conaway (F15), Springfield, Ill., 15.063
Dennis Vandermeersch (25), Springfield, Ill., 17.013

Heat 1:
Mark Faust, Shannon Babb, Kevin Cole, Ryan Unzicker, Mike Schulte, Mike Hammerle, Michael Jacober, Greg Johnson, Nick Lyons. Scratched: Donny Walden

Heat 2:
Brandon Sheppard, Paul Bailiey, Jack Sullivan, Jay Sparks, Brandon Thirlby, Jason Jameson, Tim Manville, Richie Hedrick, Clay Baumann, Rick Standridge, Frankie Martin

Heat 3:
Jason Feger, Jeep Van Wormer, Dennis Erb Jr., Wendell Wallace, Brian Harris, Jason McBride, Mark Voigt, Billy Moyer Jr., Brent Helmkamp, Pete Parker, Jim Moon

Heat 4:
Rodney Melvin, Billy Faust, Mark Burgtorf, Chad Zobrist, Michael Kloos, Bobby Melvin, Dan Jacober, Dennis Vandermeersch, Dave Thornton, Jeremy Conaway

Jason Jameson, Mike Schulte, Brian Harris, Mike Hammerle, Jason McBride, Dennis Vandermeersch, Dan Jacober, Michael Jacober, Frankie Martin, Brandon Thirlby, Michael Kloos, Mark Voigt, Bobby Melvin.. Scratched: Billy Moyer Jr., Tim Manville

(1) Shannon Babb, (2) Jason Feger, (3) Rodney Melvin, (4) Paul Bailey, (5) Dennis Erb Jr., (6) Wendell Wallace, (7) Kevin Cole, (8) Ryan Unzicker, (9) Chad Zobrist, (10) Jack Sullivan, (11) Michael Kloos, (12) Jeep Van Wormer, (13) Mike Schulte, (14) Jay Sparks, (15) Mark Burgtorf, (16) Brandon Sheppard, (17) Mark Faust, (18) Billy Moyer Jr., (19) Jason Jameson, (20) Billy Faust, (21) Frankie Martin

2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘The Hell Tour’ Schedule
Date/ Track/Location/Purse/Winner/Car Count
06/16/10 – Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, Ind. (Billy Moyer – 50)
06/17/10 – Kankakee County Speedway – Kankakee, Ill. (Billy Moyer – 47)
06/18/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Billy Moyer – 43)
06/19/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Brian Birkhofer – 44)
06/20/10 – Wilmot Speedway – Wilmot, Wis. (Rodney Melvin – 31)
06/21/10 – Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, Ill. (Jeep Van Wormer – 35)
06/22/10 – Highland Speedway – Highland, Ill. (Shannon Babb – 43)
06/23/10 – Belle Clair Speedway – Belleville, Ill.
06/24/10 – Shepps Speedway – Alexandria, Ill.
06/25/10 – Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, Ill.
06/26/10 – Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, Tenn.
06/27/10 – Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, Ind.
06/28/10 – Lincoln Park Speedway – Putnamville, Ind.
06/29/10 – I-96 Speedway – Lake Odessa, Mich.
06/30/10 – Charleston Speedway – Charleston, Ill.
07/01/10 – Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, Tenn.
07/02/10 – Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, Ky
07/03/10 – I-55 Raceway – Pevely, Mo
07/04/10 – Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, Ill.
07/06/10 – Fayette County Speedway – Brownstown, Ill.
07/07/10 – Spoon River Speedway – Canton, Ill.
07/08/10 – Macon Speedway – Macon, Ill.
07/09/10 – Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, Ill.
07/10/10 – Fairbury American Legion Speedway – Fairbury, Ill.
07/11/10 – Quincy Raceways – Quincy, Ill.
07/13/10 – Peoria Speedway – Peoria, Ill.
07/14/10 – Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.
07/16/10 – Attica Raceway Park – Attica, Ohio
07/17/10 – Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, Ohio

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Kankakee County Speedway is 2023 Track of the Year; Chris Sullivan honored as Promoter of the Year DIRTcar Racing celebrated its 40th season of...