Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals: Babb Rolls to Shepp’s Speedway Triumph

Shannon Babb


Alexander, IL – June 24, 2010 – Race fans saw a familiar face grace victory lane Thursday night at Shepp’s Speedway during Night 9 of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Repeating his performance from the 2009 version of the Hell Tour’s visit to Shepp’s, Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., used the low side of the tiny quarter-mile oval to sneak past Chatham, Ill., driver Brian Shirley on lap five and lead the remainder of the 40 lap feature to claim the $5,000 winner’s check.

Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., started ninth but worked his way to second, and pulled to the rear decklid of Babb, only to settle for the runner-up position. Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., climbed two positions from fifth to finish in the top three while Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., and Tim Lance of Brimfield, Ill., rounded out the top five.

First group
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 11.888
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 12.088
Steve Lance (25), Cuba, Ill., 12.302
Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 12.372
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 12.458
Steve Sheppard Jr. (5s), New Berlin, Ill., 12.732
Dick Taylor (24), Springfield, Ill., 12.767
Dennis Vandermeersch (25), Springfield, Ill., 12.954
John Gordon (38c), hometown unavailable, 13.205
Bryant Dickinson (5*), Ionia, Mich., 13.267
Chuck Mitchell (117), Springfield, Ill., 13.556

Second group
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 12.122
Jeremy Conaway (F15), Springfield, Ill., 12.172
Jason Jameson (12j), Lawrenceburg, Ind., 12.271
Chris Dick (22), Springfield, Ill., 12.441
Michael Kloos (6k), Trenton, Ill., 12.462
Brian Harris (75), Davenport, Iowa, 12.565
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 12.830
Adam Mefford (7m), Jacksonville, Ill., 12.877
Mike Schulte (27s), Summerfield, Ill., 12.946
Tim Lance (48), Brimfield, Ill., 12.988
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., 13.248

Third group
Brian Shirley (48x), Chatham, Ill., 12.502
Pete Parker (10), Kaukauna, Wis., 12.616
Ryan Little (38), Springfield, Ill., 12.702
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 12.743
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 13.035
Mark Burgtorf (7B), Quincy, Ill., 13.244
Richie Hedrick (0), Urbana, Ill., 13.322
Bob Gardner (4G), Germantown, Ill., 13.357
Gerry Reeder (65), Lexington, Ky., no time
Ethan Schnapp (7s), Springfield, Ill., no time

Fourth group
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 12.326
Brian Dively (11D), Springfield, Ill., 12.450
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 12.635
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 12.701
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 12.963
Mike Hammerle (16H), St. Charles, Mo., 13.213
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill., 13.220
Rick Standridge (12), Collinsville, Ill., 13.232
Wendell Wallace (88), Batesville, Ark., 14.717
Jeremy Nichols (91), Decatur, Ill., no time

Heat 1:
Ryan Unzicker, Jeep Van Wormer, Rodney Melvin, Jack Sullivan, Steve Sheppard Jr., Steve Lance Jr., Dennis Vandermeersch, Dick Taylor, John Gordon, Bryant Dickinson

Heat 2:
Jason Feger, Tim Lance, Michael Kloos, Jason Jameson, Adam Mefford, Chris Dick, Jim Moon, Mike Schulte, Jeremy Conaway, Brian Harris, Brandon Thirlby

Heat 3:
Brian Shirley, Billy Moyer Jr., Ryan Little, Donny Walden, Pete Parker, Richie Hedrick, Mark Burgtorf, Bob Gardner. Scratched: Gerry Reeder, Ethan Schnapp

Heat 4:
Shannon Babb, Brandon Sheppard, Dennis Erb Jr., Brian Dively, Jason McBride, Mark Voigt, Wendell Wallace, Mike Hammerle. Scratched: Jeremy Nichols

C Main:
Dick Taylor, Brandon Thirlby, Mike Schulte, Bob Gardner, John Gardner, Chuck Mitchell, Bryant Dickinson, Mike Hammerle, Wendell Wallace, Gerry Reeder, Brian Harris, Ethan Schnapp, Jeremy Nichols, Jeremy Conaway

B Main:
Steve Sheppard Jr., Richie Hedrick, Steve Lance Jr., Pete Parker, Brandon Thirlby, Jim Moon, Rick Standridge, Mike Schulte, Bob Gardner, Adam Mefford, Chris Dick, Dick Taylor, Jason McBride, Mark Voigt, Dennis Vandermeersch

(1) Shannon Babb, (2) Billy Moyer Jr., (3) Jeep Van Wormer, (4) Rodney Melvin, (5) Tim Lance, (6) Brian Shirley, (7) Jack Sullivan, (8) Dennis Erb Jr., (9) Brandon Sheppard, (10) Ryan Unzicker, (11) Jason Feger, (12) Donny Walden, (13) Michael Kloos, (14) Mike Hammerle, (15) Ryan Little, (16) Steve Sheppard Jr., (17) Richie Hedrick, (18) Brian Dively, (19) Jason Jameson, (20) Adam Mefford, (21) Wendell Wallace

2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘The Hell Tour’ Schedule
Date/ Track/Location/Purse/Winner/Car Count
06/16/10 – Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, Ind. (Billy Moyer – 50)
06/17/10 – Kankakee County Speedway – Kankakee, Ill. (Billy Moyer – 47)
06/18/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Billy Moyer – 43)
06/19/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Brian Birkhofer – 44)
06/20/10 – Wilmot Speedway – Wilmot, Wis. (Rodney Melvin – 31)
06/21/10 – Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, Ill. (Jeep Van Wormer – 35)
06/22/10 – Highland Speedway – Highland, Ill. (Shannon Babb – 43)
06/23/10 – Belle Clair Speedway – Belleville, Ill. (Dennis Erb Jr. – 37)
06/24/10 – Shepps Speedway – Alexander, Ill. (Shannon Babb – 43)
06/25/10 – Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, Ill.
06/26/10 – Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, Tenn.
06/27/10 – Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, Ind.
06/28/10 – Lincoln Park Speedway – Putnamville, Ind.
06/29/10 – I-96 Speedway – Lake Odessa, Mich.
06/30/10 – Charleston Speedway – Charleston, Ill.
07/01/10 – Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, Tenn.
07/02/10 – Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, Ky
07/03/10 – I-55 Raceway – Pevely, Mo
07/04/10 – Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, Ill.
07/06/10 – Fayette County Speedway – Brownstown, Ill.
07/07/10 – Spoon River Speedway – Canton, Ill.
07/08/10 – Macon Speedway – Macon, Ill.
07/09/10 – Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, Ill.
07/10/10 – Fairbury American Legion Speedway – Fairbury, Ill.
07/11/10 – Quincy Raceways – Quincy, Ill.
07/13/10 – Peoria Speedway – Peoria, Ill.
07/14/10 – Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.
07/16/10 – Attica Raceway Park – Attica, Ohio
07/17/10 – Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour is brought to racing fans by many important sponsors and partners, including AFCO, ASI Racewear, Bill Pink Carburetors, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Dyers Rods, Eibach Springs, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Hoosier Racing Tire, Intercomp, Ohlins, Quarter Master, R2C Performance, Racing Electronics, Special Olympics, U Coat-It, University of Northwestern Ohio, VP Racing Fuels, Vicci, and Wrisco Aluminum.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Kankakee County Speedway is 2023 Track of the Year; Chris Sullivan honored as Promoter of the Year DIRTcar Racing celebrated its 40th season of...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...