Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals: Erb Tops Hell Tour at Belle Clair

Dennis Erb, Jr.


Belleville, IL – June 23, 2010 – Dennis Erb Jr. is becoming quite fond of Dirt Late Model racing at Belle Clair Speedway.

Just as he did at the tiny 1/5-mile oval last year, Erb once again claimed the $5,000 top prize Wednesday on the eighth consecutive night of the month-long DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour. That victory a year ago helped to propel Erb, of Carpentersville, Ill., to his third consecutive tour championship.

To win on Wednesday night, Erb outdueled another former champion, Shannon Babb, early in the feature and withstood a late charge from four-time DIRTcar Late Model national champion Rodney Melvin. The victory is Erb’s first win on this year’s tour.

Melvin, of Benton, Ill., held on to finish second while fifth-starting Jeep Van Wormer, of Pinconning, Mich., was third. Outside polesitter Billy Moyer Jr., of Batesville, Ark., settled for fourth with early leader Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., rounding out the top 5.

First group
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 11.460
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 11.660
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 11.911
Mike Schulte (27s), Summerfield, Ill., 12.229
Mike Hammerle (16H), St. Charles, Mo., 12.286
Nick Lyons (2x), Centralia, Ill., 12.329
Dave Thornton (12), Trenton, Ill., 12.609
Bryant Dickinson (5*), Ionia, Mich., 12.995
Richie Hedrick (0), Urbana, Ill., 13.489
Pete Parker (10), Kaukauna, Wis., no time

Second group
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill., 11.921
Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 11.959
Wendell Wallace (88), Batesville, Ark., 12.041
Aaron Kleine (9), Carlyle, Ill., 12.325
Rodney Standerfer (28), Germantown, Ill., 12.354
Frankie Martin (25), DuQuoin, Ill., 12.394
Justin Ketrow (85), Trenton, Ill., 12.472
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 14.134
Dan Jacober (22), Highland, Ill., no time

Third group
Jim Gibson Jr. (66), O’Fallon, Ill., 11.834
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 11.959
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 11.98
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 12.034
Brent Kreke (13), Lebanon, Ill., 12.373
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., 12.373
Michael Kloos (6k), Trenton, Ill., 12.383
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 12.711
Jay Sparks (7), Metamora, Ill., no time

Fourth group
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 11.892
Mark Burgtorf (7B), Quincy, Ill., 12.028
Brian Harris (75), Davenport, Iowa, 12.086
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 12.117
Clay Baumann (77), Highland, Ill., 12.243
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 12.27
Chris Shelton (16), Paducah, Ky., 12.275
Jimmy Burwell (44), Mount Vernon, Ill., 12.290
Rick Standridge (12), Collinsville, Ill., 12.385

Heat 1:
Shannon Babb, Jeep Van Wormer, Jason McBride, Mike Schulte, Nick Lyons, Richie Hedrick, Mike Hammerle, Dave Thornton, Bryant Dickinson. Scratched: Pete Parker

Heat 2:
Rodney Melvin, Mark Voigt, Frankie Martin, Wendell Wallace, Aaron Kleine, Justin Ketrow, Jack Sullivan, Rodney Standerfer, Dan Jacober

Heat 3:
Billy Moyer Jr., Jason Feger, Jim Gibson Jr., Ryan Unzicker, Brent Kreke, Michael Kloos, Jim Moon, Brandon Thirlby. Scratched: Jay Sparks

Heat 4:
Dennis Erb Jr., Mark Burgtorf, Brian Harris, Donny Walden, Rick Standridge, Clay Baumann, Chris Shelton, Brandon Sheppard, Jimmy Burwell

Dave Thornton, Brandon Sheppard, Rodney Standerfer, Dan Jacober, Jim Burwell, Brandon Thirlby, Bryant Dickinson, Pete Parker, Jay Sparks

Brent Kreke, Michael Kloos, RIck Standridge, Richie Hedrick, Justin Ketrow, Mike Hammerle, Clay Baumann, Aaron Kleine, Dave Thornton, Rodney Standerfer, Dan Jacober, Brandon Sheppard, Jim Moon, Nick Lyons

(1) Dennis Erb Jr., (2) Rodney Melvin, (3) Jeep Van Wormer, (4) Billy Moyer Jr., (5) Shannon Babb, (6) Frankie Martin, (7) Brian Harris, (8) Wendell Wallace, (9) Jason Feger, (10) Jason McBride, (11) Mark Voigt, (12) Brent Kreke, (13) Mike Schulte, (14) Ryan Unzicker, (15) Michael Kloos, (16) Mike Hammerle, (17) Jack Sullivan, (18) Jim Gibson Jr., (19) Donny Walden, (20) Brandon Sheppard, (21) Mark Burgtorf

2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘The Hell Tour’ Schedule
Date/ Track/Location/Purse/Winner/Car Count
06/16/10 – Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, Ind. (Billy Moyer – 50)
06/17/10 – Kankakee County Speedway – Kankakee, Ill. (Billy Moyer – 47)
06/18/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Billy Moyer – 43)
06/19/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Brian Birkhofer – 44)
06/20/10 – Wilmot Speedway – Wilmot, Wis. (Rodney Melvin – 31)
06/21/10 – Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, Ill. (Jeep Van Wormer – 35)
06/22/10 – Highland Speedway – Highland, Ill. (Shannon Babb – 43)
06/23/10 – Belle Clair Speedway – Belleville, Ill. (Dennis Erb Jr. – 37)
06/24/10 – Shepps Speedway – Alexandria, Ill.
06/25/10 – Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, Ill.
06/26/10 – Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, Tenn.
06/27/10 – Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, Ind.
06/28/10 – Lincoln Park Speedway – Putnamville, Ind.
06/29/10 – I-96 Speedway – Lake Odessa, Mich.
06/30/10 – Charleston Speedway – Charleston, Ill.
07/01/10 – Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, Tenn.
07/02/10 – Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, Ky
07/03/10 – I-55 Raceway – Pevely, Mo
07/04/10 – Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, Ill.
07/06/10 – Fayette County Speedway – Brownstown, Ill.
07/07/10 – Spoon River Speedway – Canton, Ill.
07/08/10 – Macon Speedway – Macon, Ill.
07/09/10 – Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, Ill.
07/10/10 – Fairbury American Legion Speedway – Fairbury, Ill.
07/11/10 – Quincy Raceways – Quincy, Ill.
07/13/10 – Peoria Speedway – Peoria, Ill.
07/14/10 – Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.
07/16/10 – Attica Raceway Park – Attica, Ohio
07/17/10 – Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour is brought to racing fans by many important sponsors and partners, including AFCO, ASI Racewear, Bill Pink Carburetors, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Dyers Rods, Eibach Springs, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Hoosier Racing Tire, Intercomp, Ohlins, Quarter Master, R2C Performance, Racing Electronics, Special Olympics, U Coat-It, University of Northwestern Ohio, VP Racing Fuels, Vicci, and Wrisco Aluminum.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Kankakee County Speedway is 2023 Track of the Year; Chris Sullivan honored as Promoter of the Year DIRTcar Racing celebrated its 40th season of...