Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals: Melvin Maneuvers to Wilmot Speedway Win

DIRTcar Summer NationalsWilmot, WI – June 20, 2010 – Rodney Melvin made the most of his opportunities Sunday night at Wilmot Raceway.

The driver from Benton, Ill., drove the less used high groove up and around Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., with 5 laps left to claim the win during Night 5 of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour.

Melvin was also the quickest in his group during qualifying, which in turn lead to a heat race win. Melvin drew the 3rd starting spot and put himself in position for the win after separate on track misfortunes claimed then leader Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., and Vicksburg, Miss., driver Bub McCool.

Moyer Jr., whose father Billy Moyer claimed the first three nights of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals finished second. Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., finished third while Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Ark., and Waterville, Ohio’s Matt Miller rounded out the top five.

First group
Billy Rezutek (8r), Big Bend, Wis., 16.147
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 16.207
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 16.263
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 16.285
Matt Miller (7), Waterville, Ohio, 16.363
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 16.373
Bret Sievert (5s), New Berlin, Wis., 16.678
Mark Voigt (30), Marine, Ill., 48.83

Second group
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 16.229
Eric Spangler (27), Lake City, Mich., 16.281
Pete Parker (10), Kaukauna, Wis., 16.294
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 16.329
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 16.449
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 16.677
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 16.911
Lee Thomason (53), Marion, Ill., 17.221

Third group
Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 16.172
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 16.445
Jason Rauen (98), Farley, Iowa, 16.561
Richie Hedrick (jp7), Urbana, Ill., 16.765
Wendell Wallace (18), Batesville, Ark., 16.884
Matt Schultz (36), Muskego, Wis., 17.499
Chris Carlson (c12), Greenfield, Wis., 18.053
Jay Crichton (4c), Lakevilla, Ill., 18.289

Fourth group
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 16.848
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., 17.023
Bub McCool (57j), Vicksburg, Miss., 17.064
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 17.090
Brad Mueller (89), Random Lake, Wis., 17.248
Lyle Zanker Jr. (9), Ingleside, Ill., 17.455
Jayme Zidar (9z), Greenfield, Wis., 18.293

Heat 1:
Jeep Van Wormer, Jack Sullivan, Matt Miller, Billy Rezutek, Brandon Sheppard, Mark Voigt, Bret Sievert, Jason Feger

Heat 2:
Billy Moyer Jr., Eric Spangler, Pete Parker, Dennis Erb Jr., Brian Shirley, Ryan Unzicker, Jason McBride, Lee Thomason

Heat 3:
Rodney Melvin, Shannon Babb, Chris Carlson, Jason Rauen, Wendell Wallace, Matt Schultz, Jay Crichton, Richie Hedrick

Heat 4:
Bub McCool, Brandon Thirlby, Brad Mueller, Donny Walden, Jayme Zidar, Jim Moon, Lyle Zanker Jr

C Main 1:
Brian Shirley, Ryan Unzicker, Brandon Sheppard, Jason Feger, Bret Seivert, Mark Voigt, Jason McBride, Lee Thomason

C Main 2:
Wendell Wallace, Jimmy Moon, Jay Crichton, Matt Schultz, Jayme Zidar, Lyle Zanker, Richie Hedrick

(1) Rodney Melvin, (2) Billy Moyer Jr, (3) Shannon Babb, (4) Jack Sullivan, (5) Matt Miller, (6) Eric Spangler, (7) Chris Carlson, (8) Dennis Erb Jr., (9) Ryan Unzicker, (10) Brian Shirley, (11) Jason Feger, (12) Bub McCool (13) Brandon Thirlby, (14) Brad Mueller, (15) Jason Rauen, (16) Bret Sievert, (17) Billy Rezutek, (18) Donny Walden, (19) Jay Crichton, (20) Jeep Van Wormer, (21) Pete Parker, (22) Wendell Wallace

2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘The Hell Tour’ Schedule

Date/ Track/Location/Purse/Winner/Car Count

06/16/10 – Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, Ind. (Billy Moyer – 50)

06/17/10 – Kankakee County Speedway – Kankakee, Ill. (Billy Moyer – 47)

06/18/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Billy Moyer – 43)

06/19/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Brian Birkhofer – 44)

06/20/10 – Wilmot Speedway – Wilmot, Wis. (Rodney Melvin – 31)

06/21/10 – Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, Ill.

06/22/10 – Highland Speedway – Highland, Ill.

06/23/10 – Belle Clair Speedway – Belleville, Ill.

06/24/10 – Shepps Speedway – Alexandria, Ill.

06/25/10 – Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, Ill.

06/26/10 – Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, Tenn.

06/27/10 – Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, Ind.

06/28/10 – Lincoln Park Speedway – Putnamville, Ind.

06/29/10 – I-96 Speedway – Lake Odessa, Mich.

06/30/10 – Charleston Speedway – Charleston, Ill.

07/01/10 – Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, Tenn.

07/02/10 – Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, Ky

07/03/10 – I-55 Raceway – Pevely, Mo

07/04/10 – Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, Ill.

07/06/10 – Fayette County Speedway – Brownstown, Ill.

07/07/10 – Spoon River Speedway – Canton, Ill.

07/08/10 – Macon Speedway – Macon, Ill.

07/09/10 – Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, Ill.

07/10/10 – Fairbury American Legion Speedway – Fairbury, Ill.

07/11/10 – Quincy Raceways – Quincy, Ill.

07/13/10 – Peoria Speedway – Peoria, Ill.

07/14/10 – Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.

07/16/10 – Attica Raceway Park – Attica, Ohio

07/17/10 – Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour is brought to racing fans by many important sponsors and partners, including AFCO, ASI Racewear, Bill Pink Carburetors, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Dyers Rods, Eibach Springs, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Hoosier Racing Tire, Intercomp, Ohlins, Quarter Master, R2C Performance, Racing Electronics, Special Olympics, U Coat-It, University of Northwestern Ohio, VP Racing Fuels, Vicci, and Wrisco Aluminum.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Kankakee County Speedway is 2023 Track of the Year; Chris Sullivan honored as Promoter of the Year DIRTcar Racing celebrated its 40th season of...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...