Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals: O’Neal Cruises to Farmer City Win

DIRTcar Summer NationalsFarmer City, IL – June 25, 2010 – Don O’Neal definitely lived up to his moniker the “Real Deal” on Friday night at Farmer City Raceway during the 10th stop of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Nobody came close to touching O’Neal during the feature event in which he stretched his lead at times to over a straightaway over second place finisher Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill. The $10,000 victory for O’Neal came in his first Hell Tour start of 2010.

O’Neal didn’t just dominate by leading all 40-laps of the A-Main. He also showed his strength by being the quickest qualifier overall out of group 4 and winning his heat race by over a straightaway over his closest competitor.

Eighth starting Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., climbed five spots during the main event to finish third. Eric Smith of Bloomington, Ill., a 2009 Summer Nationals winner, finished fourth while New Berlin, Ill., driver Brandon Sheppard registered his best Summer Nationals performance with a fifth place finish.

First group
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 12.786
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Orland Park, Ill., 12.876
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 12.954
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 13.050
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 13.213
Jimmy Dehm (99j) Lexington, Ill., 13.450
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 13.78
Cory Daugherty (96), Blue Mound, Ill., 13.828
Russ Adams (74), Princeville, Ill., 13.911
Frank Heckenast Sr. (99sr), Lockport, Ill., 14.167
Brian Crebo (99), Washington, Ill., 14.408
John Gardner (38c), Peoria, Ill., 14.541

Second group
Scott Bull (83), Fairbury, Ill., 12.890
Eric Smith (9), Bloomington, Ill., 13.248
Ryan Dauber (64), Tonica, Ill., 13.414
Brian Harris (75), Davenport, Iowa, 13.479
Jason Jameson (12j), Lawrenceburg, Ind., 13.481
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 13.520
Steve Thorsten (7t), Chebanse, Ill., 13.546
Richie Hedrick (0), Urbana, Ill., 13.578
Joe Harlan (Z), El Paso, Ill., 13.666
Pete Parker (10), Kaukauna, Wis., 13.783
Bryant Dickinson (5*), Ionia, Mich., 14.575

Third group
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 12.809
Chris Simpson (32), Oxford, Iowa, 13.036
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 13.037
Scott Schmitt (10), Tonica, Ill., 13.441
Cory Rolfe (22), Sidney, Ill., 13.698
Wendell Wallace (88), Batesville, Ark., 13.718
Tim Lance (48), Brimfield, Ill., 13.766
Mike Schulte (27s), Summerfield, Ill., 13.828
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., 13.864
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill., 14.165
Derek Chandler (35), Pontiac, Ill., no time

Fourth group
Don O’Neal (71), Martinsville, Ind., 12.647
Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 13.094
Jay Morris (77), Pittwood, Ill., 13.208
Rich Bell (21B), Sheffield, Ill., 13.349
Daren Friedman (89), Forrest, Ill., 13.383
Jeep Van Wormer (55) Pinconning, Mich., 13.47
Aaron Ricketts (95), Fairbury, Ill., 13.547
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 13.568
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 13.671
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 14.234
Bob Gardner (4G), Germantown, Ill., 14.358

Heat 1:
Ryan Unzicker, Frank Heckenast Jr., Jason Feger, Shannon Babb, Donny Walden, Brandon Thirlby, Frank Heckenast Sr., Jimmy Dehm, Cory Daugherty, John Gardner, Brian Crebo

Heat 2:
Eric Smith, Scott Bull, Brian Harris, Ryan Dauber, Richie Hedrick, Jason Jameson, Billy Moyer Jr., Joe Harlan, Steve Thorsten, Bryant Dickonson, Pete Parker

Heat 3:
Brandon Sheppard, Chris SImpson, Brian Shirley, Jim Moon, Wendell Wallace, Tim Lance, Mike Schulte, Bobby Pierce, Derek Chandler, Cory Rolfe

Heat 4:
Don O’Neal, Dennis Erb Jr., Rodney Melvin, Jeep Van Wormer, Jay Morris, Aaron Rickets, Jack Sullivan, Jason McBride, Daren Friedman, Rich Bell, Bob Gardner

C Main Winners:
Cory Daugherty and Jason McBride

B Main:
Wendell Wallace, Jason Jameson, Billy Moyer Jr., Tim Lance, Jack Sullivan, Brandon Thirlby, Aaron Ricketts, Cory Daugherty, Jimmy Dehm, Frank Heckenast Sr., Richie Hedrick, Donny Walden, Jay Morris, Jason McBride, Joe Harlan

(1) Don O’Neal, (2) Ryan Unzicker, (3) Dennis Erb Jr., (4) Eric Smith, (5) Brandon Sheppard, (6) Scott Bull, (7) Frank Heckenast Jr., (8) Jack Sullivan, (9) Brian Shirley, (10) Jason Feger, (11) Shannon Babb, (12) Jim Moon, (13) Jeep Van Wormer, (14) Jason Jameson, (15) Ryan Dauber, (16) Brian Harris, (17) Wendell Wallace, (18) Rodney Melvin, (19) Joe Harland, (20) Chris Simpson, (21) Daren Friedman

2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘The Hell Tour’ Schedule
Date/ Track/Location/Purse/Winner/Car Count
06/16/10 – Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, Ind. (Billy Moyer – 50)
06/17/10 – Kankakee County Speedway – Kankakee, Ill. (Billy Moyer – 47)
06/18/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Billy Moyer – 43)
06/19/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Brian Birkhofer – 44)
06/20/10 – Wilmot Speedway – Wilmot, Wis. (Rodney Melvin – 31)
06/21/10 – Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, Ill. (Jeep Van Wormer – 35)
06/22/10 – Highland Speedway – Highland, Ill. (Shannon Babb – 43)
06/23/10 – Belle Clair Speedway – Belleville, Ill. (Dennis Erb Jr. – 37)
06/24/10 – Shepps Speedway – Alexander, Ill. (Shannon Babb – 43)
06/25/10 – Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, Ill. (Don O’Neal – 45)
06/26/10 – Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, Tenn.
06/27/10 – Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, Ind.
06/28/10 – Lincoln Park Speedway – Putnamville, Ind.
06/29/10 – I-96 Speedway – Lake Odessa, Mich.
06/30/10 – Charleston Speedway – Charleston, Ill.
07/01/10 – Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, Tenn.
07/02/10 – Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, Ky
07/03/10 – I-55 Raceway – Pevely, Mo
07/04/10 – Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, Ill.
07/06/10 – Fayette County Speedway – Brownstown, Ill.
07/07/10 – Spoon River Speedway – Canton, Ill.
07/08/10 – Macon Speedway – Macon, Ill.
07/09/10 – Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, Ill.
07/10/10 – Fairbury American Legion Speedway – Fairbury, Ill.
07/11/10 – Quincy Raceways – Quincy, Ill.
07/13/10 – Peoria Speedway – Peoria, Ill.
07/14/10 – Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.
07/16/10 – Attica Raceway Park – Attica, Ohio
07/17/10 – Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour is brought to racing fans by many important sponsors and partners, including AFCO, ASI Racewear, Bill Pink Carburetors, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Dyers Rods, Eibach Springs, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Hoosier Racing Tire, Intercomp, Ohlins, Quarter Master, R2C Performance, Racing Electronics, Special Olympics, U Coat-It, University of Northwestern Ohio, VP Racing Fuels, Vicci, and Wrisco Aluminum.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Kankakee County Speedway is 2023 Track of the Year; Chris Sullivan honored as Promoter of the Year DIRTcar Racing celebrated its 40th season of...