Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals: Sullivan Snags $10,000 Clarksville Win

DIRTcar Summer NationalsClarksville, TN – June 26, 2010 – There are always a few firsts along the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour, and such was the case Saturday night at Clarksville Speedway for Jack Sullivan.

The Greenbriar, Ark., driver who entered the 11th night of the Hell Tour 4th in the point standings got going early by setting quick time and capturing a heat race win. Sullivan would then duel with Pinconning, Mich. driver Jeep Van Wormer early in the 40-lap main event before sneaking past with 15 circuits remaining to grab his first career DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory.

The win was the first time Sullivan had won a purse as large as $10,000 in his DIRTcar Late Model career as well as his first victory at the Clarksville, Tenn. track.

Van Wormer would hold on to finish second behind Sullivan, while Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., who has been one of the most consistent drivers on tour finished 3rd. Four-time DIRTcar Late Model National Champion Rodney Melivin of Benton, Ill., would finish fourth one spot ahead of defending DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill.

First group
Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 13.371
Terry English (33), Benton, Ky., 13.426
Levi Ashby (1a), Cunningham, Tenn., 13.694
Caleb Ashby (61), Cunningham, Tenn., 13.881
Matt Liner (35), Calvert City, Ky., 13.967
Fred Perry Jr. (0p), Smithland, Ky., 14.034
Mitchell Lingauer (88L), Clarksville, Tenn., 14.635
Dillan White (54), Crofton, Ky., 14.707
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 14.966
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 15.168

Second group
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 13.251
Wendell Wallace (88), Batesville, Ark., 13.322
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 13.489
Chris Shelton (16), Paducah, Ky., 13.712
Tanner English (96), Benton, Ky., 13.763
Credence Mott (89), Vienna, Ill., 13.808
Steven Ashby (16a), Cunningham, Tenn., 14.013
Jason Riggs (81jr), Harrisburg, Ill., 14.269
Dustin Butler (D11), Clarksville, Tenn., 15.085
Bryan Singleton (72), Clarksville, Tenn., no time

Third group
Jeff Walston (56), Paducah, Ky., 13.350
Carnell Parker III (75), Clarksville, Tenn., 13.648
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 13.858
Brett Wyatt (17), Crossville, Tenn., 13.876
Tony Albright (8E), Clarksville, Tenn., 14.129
Don O’Neal (1), Martinsville, Ind., 14.132
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 14.168
Richie Hedrick (jp7), Urbana, Ill., 14.255
John Minon Jr. (74), Adams, Tenn., 16.227

Fourth group
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 13.434
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 13.505
Clayton Miller (19), Elkton, Ky., 13.526
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 13.541
Brian Shirley (3s), Chatham, Ill., 13.627
Tony Morris (m31), Murfreesboro, Tenn., 14.145
Gil Smith (7x), Nashville, Tenn., 14.311
Jacob McKinney (78), Clarksville, Tenn., 14.697
Don Young (41), Hopkinsville, Ky., no time

x-Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 13.432

x-Penalized for missing qualifying order

Heat 1:
Rodney Melvin, Terry English, Brandon Sheppard, Jason Feger, Levi Ashby, Caleb Ashby, Fred Perry Jr., Dillan White, Mitchell Lingauer

Heat 2:
Jack Sullivan, Ryan Unzicker, Wendell Wallace, Tanner English, Chris Shelton, Jason Riggs, Credence Mott, Dustin Butler. Scratched: Steven Ashby, Bryan Singleton

Heat 3:
Jeff Waltson, Dennis Erb Jr., Don O’Neal, Richie Hedrick, Bretty Wyatt, Carnell Parker III, Brandon Thirlby, Tony Albright, John Minon Jr

Heat 4:
Jeep Van Wormer, Billy Moyer Jr., Jason McBride, Brian Shirley, Clayton Miller, Shannon Babb, Tony Morris, Gil Smith, Jacob McKinney. Scratched: Don Young

Levi Ashby, Chris Shelton, Clayton Miller, Brett Wyatt, Carnell Parker III, Caleb Ashby, Credence Mott, Tony Morris, Matt Liner, Dustin Butler, Brandon Thirlby, Jacob McKinney, Tony Albright, Fred Perry Jr.

(1) Jack Sullivan, (2) Jeep Van Wormer, (3) Ryan Unzicker, (4) Rodney Melvin, (5) Dennis Erb Jr., (6) Billy Moyer Jr., (7) Don O’Neal, (8) Terry English, (9) Brandon Sheppard, (10) Shannon Babb, (11) Jason Feger, (12) Wendell Wallace, (13) Brian Shirley, (14) Tanner English, (15) Jason McBride, (16) Richie Hedrick, (17) Dustin Butler, (18) Chris Shelton, (19) Jeff Walston, (20) Levi Ashby, (21) Tony Albright

2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘The Hell Tour’ Schedule
Date/ Track/Location/Purse/Winner/Car Count
06/16/10 – Brownstown Speedway – Brownstown, Ind. (Billy Moyer – 50)
06/17/10 – Kankakee County Speedway – Kankakee, Ill. (Billy Moyer – 47)
06/18/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Billy Moyer – 43)
06/19/10 – Cedar Lake Speedway – Somerset, Wis. (Brian Birkhofer – 44)
06/20/10 – Wilmot Speedway – Wilmot, Wis. (Rodney Melvin – 31)
06/21/10 – Vermillion County Speedway – Danville, Ill. (Jeep Van Wormer – 35)
06/22/10 – Highland Speedway – Highland, Ill. (Shannon Babb – 43)
06/23/10 – Belle Clair Speedway – Belleville, Ill. (Dennis Erb Jr. – 37)
06/24/10 – Shepps Speedway – Alexander, Ill. (Shannon Babb – 43)
06/25/10 – Farmer City Raceway – Farmer City, Ill. (Don O’Neal – 45)
06/26/10 – Clarksville Speedway – Clarksville, Tenn. (Jack Sullivan – 39)
06/27/10 – Tri-State Speedway – Haubstadt, Ind.
06/28/10 – Lincoln Park Speedway – Putnamville, Ind.
06/29/10 – I-96 Speedway – Lake Odessa, Mich.
06/30/10 – Charleston Speedway – Charleston, Ill.
07/01/10 – Clay Hill Motorsports Park – Atwood, Tenn.
07/02/10 – Paducah International Raceway – Paducah, Ky
07/03/10 – I-55 Raceway – Pevely, Mo
07/04/10 – Lincoln Speedway – Lincoln, Ill.
07/06/10 – Fayette County Speedway – Brownstown, Ill.
07/07/10 – Spoon River Speedway – Canton, Ill.
07/08/10 – Macon Speedway – Macon, Ill.
07/09/10 – Tri-City Speedway – Pontoon Beach, Ill.
07/10/10 – Fairbury American Legion Speedway – Fairbury, Ill.
07/11/10 – Quincy Raceways – Quincy, Ill.
07/13/10 – Peoria Speedway – Peoria, Ill.
07/14/10 – Kokomo Speedway – Kokomo, Ind.
07/16/10 – Attica Raceway Park – Attica, Ohio
07/17/10 – Oakshade Raceway – Wauseon, Ohio
The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour is brought to racing fans by many important sponsors and partners, including AFCO, ASI Racewear, Bill Pink Carburetors, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Dyers Rods, Eibach Springs, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Hoosier Racing Tire, Intercomp, Ohlins, Quarter Master, R2C Performance, Racing Electronics, Special Olympics, U Coat-It, University of Northwestern Ohio, VP Racing Fuels, Vicci, and Wrisco Aluminum.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Kankakee County Speedway is 2023 Track of the Year; Chris Sullivan honored as Promoter of the Year DIRTcar Racing celebrated its 40th season of...