Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DREAM WARRIORS: Madden, Overton win Dirt Late Model Dream Preliminary Features

Madden wins Preliminary at Eldora

No invert for the “Dream’s” traditional six Heat Races

Chris Madden and Brandon Overton took advantage of late-race restarts to win the 25-lap, $12,000-to-win Dirt Late Model Dream Preliminary Features.

There’s no invert for the second time this week, after Overton, the high points scorer spun a zero on the “Wheel of Misfortune.”

GROUP A Preliminary Feature- Chris Madden

Chris Madden passed Brian Shirley with nine laps remaining to win the first 25-lap, $12,000-to-win Feature of the 28th Dirt Late Model Dream.

While the Gray Court, SC driver, gained momentum, he had concerns after something went amiss on his car coming to the white flag.

“Something went wrong out there coming to the white flag; we lost a cylinder or something,” Madden said. “So, we got to get back to the pit and make an engine change or figure out what happened.

“If we get this fixed, I think we got a great shot at it. We’ve had a great race car every day.”

The good news for Madden is a wire came unplugged on his Rocket Chassis, so his crew will not have to make any significant changes before the Dirt Late Model Dream Heat Races.

Brian Shirley, Tyler Erb, Scott Bloomquist, and Dale McDowell rounded out the top five.

ELDORA DREAM TWIN 25 #1 (25 Laps): 1. Chris Madden, 2. Brian Shirley, 3. Tyler Erb, 4. Scott Bloomquist, 5. Dale McDowell, 6. Brandon Sheppard, 7. Chris Ferguson, 8. Tim McCreadie, 9. Nick Hoffman, 10. Carson Ferguson, 11. Jimmy Owens, 12. Ricky Weiss, 13. Earl Pearson Jr., 14. Jonathan Davenport, 15. Shannon Babb, 16. Cade Dillard, 17. Mason Zeigler, 18. Chase Junghans, 19. Johnny Scott, 20. Stormy Scott, 21. Spencer Hughes, 22. Austin Kirkpatrick, 23. Bobby Pierce, 24. Daulton Wilson

GROUP B Preliminary Feature- Brandon Overton

Brandon Overton rolled past Devin Moran on a Lap 19 restart to score the win in the second preliminary Feature at Eldora Speedway.

It’s the Evans, GA driver’s seventh win at “The Big E” in the last two years, after not qualifying for the Eldora Million on Thursday.

Overton is optimistic in his quest for a third straight Dirt Late Model Dream.

“Yesterday and the day before, I was just trying to make it,” Overton said. “We’ve been working all week, and just nothing’s worked out for us.

“I’m happy to be back here. I hate it for Devin [Moran]. You just never know what to do when you’re leading.”

Overton will start on the pole of Heat Race one of the 28th Dirt Late Model Dream since there’s no invert.

ELDORA DREAM TWIN 25 #2 (25 Laps): 1. Brandon Overton, 2. Ricky Thornton Jr., 3. Devin Moran, 4. Zack Dohm, 5. Michael Page, 6. Kyle Strickler, 7. Dennis Erb Jr., 8. Ryan Gustin, 9. Garrett Alberson, 10. Hudson O’Neal, 11. Josh Rice, 12. Mack McCarter, 13. Frank Heckenast Jr., 14. Kenny Collins, 15. Mark Whitener, 16. Chub Frank, 17. Jeep Van Wormer, 18. Ashton Winger, 19. Victor Lee, 20. Wil Herrington, 21. Joseph Joiner, 22. Chad Simpson, 23. Mike Marlar, 24. Dustin Linville

Follow live coverage of the 28th Dirt Late Model Dream on all of DIRTcar’s social media channels and

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Pierce recovers from Thursday DNF to finish second in Dream finale while Sheppard runs seventh ROSSBURG, OH (June 8, 2024) – For the tenth...

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar champions Sheppard and Hoffman make statements in 50-lap Feature While Devin Moran finally exorcised he and his family’s racing demons at Eldora Speedway...


Madden charges 14th-to-fourth, Clanton finishes sixth after starting 19th While Ricky Thornton Jr. tasted victory Thursday night at Eldora Speedway, five-time DIRTcar Summer Nationals...


The World Racing Group family is deeply saddened to hear about the passing of Jerry Gappens. Already a highly respected promoter when he arrived...