Glaser Gets Fifth Willamette DIRTcar Super Late Model Win

By Ben Deatherage

Lebanon, Oregon- The 2012 season has been a highly successful one for Trevor Glaser.  As of lately the Tangent driver has torn up the competition at Willamette Speedway by winning the Bill Workman Memorial and Willamette 100 among achievements this campaign.  The chauffer of Mid-Valley Farms/Crop Production Services #2 Trak-Star has won the three out of the last five DIRTcar Super Late Model features including last Saturday night on September 15th.


In the first laps of the feature it was a battle amongst the young lions “Superman” Collen Winebarger of Corbett and Happy Valley’s Justin Duty.  Winebarger would lead the early laps in the Discount Race Car Parts/All-In Investment Properties #1 Mastersbilt but would shortly be overtaken by the Don Frank Flooring/Elite Cabinets Plus #15 Rocket of Justin Duty by lap three.


Duty, in search of his first win of the year, would be overtaken by Glaser on lap eight.  From there on Glaser would get the mission accomplished.  With the only thing slowing him down being a handful of cautions he would lap all the way up to seventh place to dominate the rest of the feature.


2012 Strawberry and Coos Cup winner Jeremy Shank of Salem would finish in the runner-up position despite being involved in an early race incident.  The driver of the Left Coast Motorsports/South Pacific Auto Sales and Service Center #30 Swartz gained the position in the closing laps.  The driver he passed for the position was Rick Wyatt of Aumsville who managed to keep a podium finish by crossing the line third in the Elite Cabinets Plus/Don Frank Flooring #24W Rocket.


Completing the top five finishers were Rob Mayea in fourth who was also involved in the multi-car crash that took place in the early going of the main event.  The J&S Farms/Cornett Racing Engines #37 Victory Circle would gain the fourth position on lap thirty-two.  The top five was completed with the 2012 Clair (Arnold) Cup victor Russ Sell of Brownsville finishing in fifth in his 99.9 KRKT Cricket County/Left Coast Motorsports #50 Swartz.


In preliminary action the quick clocker was Rob Mayea at a time of 15.178 seconds amongst the thirty-one entries.  Mayea would also win the evening’s trophy dash which featured the four fastest qualifiers.  Winners in heat race action were the Driving Force Graphics/ #46 Rocket of Bend’s Darren Coffell, Rob Mayea, Albany’s Todd Shandy in his Trademark Transmissions #09 GRT, and Brian Cronk of Portland in the Metro Services/Big Sky Landscaping #29 Rocket.  And Cronk would go on win the night’s consolation feature in which the top six would transfer to the show.


The DIRTcar Super Late Models will be in action for the final time in 2012 on Saturday September 22nd for Championship Night.  For more information regarding Willamette Speedway log on to the official webpage at


Race Results

Saturday September 22nd, 2012

Willamette Speedway

Lebanon, Oregon

31 Entries

Fast Time: Rob Mayea 15.178

Trophy Dash Winner: Rob Mayea

Heat Race Winners: Darren Coffell (1), Rob Mayea (2), Todd Shandy (3), Brian Cronk (4)

B-Feature: 1. Brian Cronk, 2. Jimmy Whisler, 3. Darren Coffell, 4. Kye Frick, 5. Steve Moore, 6. Todd Shandy, 7. Shaun Mayea, 8. Clay Debban, 9. Mark Thompson, 10. Larry Sharp, 11. Kevin Roberts, 12. Mark Gaylord, 13. Keith Marson, 14. Randy Barley, 15. Jeff Marson, 16. Todd Seig, 17. Bruce Hipple

A-Feature: 1. Trevor Glaser, 2. Jeremy Shank, 3. Rick Wyatt, 4. Rob Mayea, 5. Russ Sell, 6. Casey Vitale, 7. John Campos, 8. Justin Duty, 9. Todd Shandy, 10. Tory Swayngim, 11. Rob Campos, 12. Jimmy Whisler, 13. Jimmy Schram, 14. Brian Cronk, 15. Collen Winebarger, 16. John Duty, 17. Steve Moore, 18. Lynn McDonald, 19. Darren Coffell, 20. Kye Frick