Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Heavy Alltel All-Star Voting Continues Through March 16 With Dave Hess Jr., Wayne Johnson Currently Atop Poll

Concord, NC — CONCORD, NC — Feb. 29, 2008 — With a couple of more weeks of online voting remaining at, UMP DIRTcar Modified driver Dave Hess Jr. caught and passed 410-Sprint Car driver Wayne Johnson for the lead of the Alltel All-Star contest, open to all 18 feature winners at the 37th Annual Alltel DIRTcar Nationals.

The positions have tightened with Hess, of Waterford, Pa., and Johnson, of Mustang, Okla., neck-and-neck for the lead as fans of several drivers have pushed their favorite Alltel All-Star contender toward the top of the standings, including UMP DIRTcar Modified competitors Jared Landers, of Batesville, Ark. (13 percent of the total votes); Jesse Stovall, of Branson, Mo. (7.9 percent); and Dave Groves, of Morgantown, W.Va. (5.6 percent). The standings are updated daily at

The stakes are high as fans ultimately will select the Alltel All-Star through online voting, with $12,000 going to the driver who garners the most votes. Voting will remain open until 11:59 p.m. on March 16, a full month after the checkered flag waved on the 11 nights of racing in Alltel DIRTcar Nationals at Volusia Speedway Park that featured the Advance Auto Parts World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series, the Advance Auto Parts Super DIRTcar Series, the UMP DIRTcar Modifieds, UMP DIRTcar Late Models and All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car tour.

Drivers from 13 different states, representing both coasts as well as the heart of the Midwest, celebrated a win in the Alltel Wireless Victory Lane and are eligible for the contest:

Sprint Cars — Wayne Johnson, Mustang, Okla.; Craig Dollansky, Elk River, Minn.; Jason Meyers, Clovis, Calif.; Danny Lasoski, Dover, Mo.; and Donny Schatz, Fargo, N.D., a two-time winner during the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals.

UMP DIRTcar Modifieds — Jesse Stovall, Branson, Mo.; Scott Drake, Webb City, Mo.; Dave Hess Jr., Waterford, Pa.; Tim Hancock, Mount Olive, Ill.; Dave Groves, Morgantown, W.Va.; and two-time Alltel DIRTcar Nationals winner Jared Landers, Batesville, Ark.

Dirt Late Models — Two-time winner Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ark.; Josh Richards, Shinnston, W.Va.; and Clint Smith, Senoia, Ga.

Advance Auto Parts Big Block Modifieds — Billy Pauch, Frenchtown, N.J.; Brett Hearn, Sussex, N.J.; Dale Planck, Cortland, N.Y.; and Jimmy Horton, Neshanic Station, N.J.

The drivers did their best to convince the fans to vote for them through their victories during the Alltel DIRTcar Nationals, now it’s up to the fans to decide who will win the title by voting at

Alltel is owner and operator of the nation’s largest wireless network and has more than 12 million customers. For more information about Alltel, please visit

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Devin Moran for failing a tire test after competing in the...


The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Like the summer temperatures, Ashton Winger has been heating up recently and threw another load of coal in the fire with his second Feature...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

For the first time in his career, Logan Martin is a Feature winner with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals. Martin, the 27-year-year regional racer from...