Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Jeep VanWormer gets 4th UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals win of 2010 at Quincy Raceway!

Jeep VanWormer


Quincy, IL – July 11, 2010 – Jeep Van Wormer didn’t let his late arrival slow him down Sunday night at Quincy Raceways during the 23rd stop of the Hell Tour.

The Pinconning, Mich., driver used an outside front row starting spot to put him in position to capitalize on Brian Shirley’s engine woes early in the 40-lap main event. Van Wormer would never look back to claim his fourth DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory of 2010 worth $5,000.

Current series point leader Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., climbed from eighth to finish second behind Van Wormer but will extend his point lead over defending Summer Nationals Champion Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., who settled for a seventh place finish on the night.

Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., finished third ahead of Wooster, Ohio’s Doug Drown. Local competitor and multiple time track champion Mark Burgtorf of Quincy rounded out the top five.

Up next for the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour is a visit to Spoon River Speedway on Monday July 12, 2010, a race that was originally scheduled for July 7th, but postponed due to weather. In total the Hell Tour has traveled over 4,300 miles in the course of 26 nights. The trip from Quincy, Ill., to Spoon River in Canton, Ill., will have drivers traveling just 30 miles east to the track which will serve as 24 th race of the 2010 tour.

First group
Mark Burgtorf (7B), Quincy, Ill., 13.059
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 13.189
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 13.497
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 13.552
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 13.66
Sam Halstead (84), New London, Iowa, 14.346
Darin Weisinger (11), Mendon, Ill., 15.541
Russ Schoonover (59), Bolten, England, 16.385

Second group
Doug Drown (12), Wooster, Ohio, 13.186
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill., 13.297
Tim Lance (48), Brimfield, Ill., 13.408
Dustin Griffin (20), Camp Point, Ill., 13.934
Robby Warner (79), Quincy, Ill., 14.243
Dustin Neese (8N), Nebo, Ill., 14.247
Clint Kirkham (28k), Camden, Ill., 14.477
Billy Genenbacher (72), Camp Point, Ill., 14.777

Third group
Brian Shirley (48x), Chatham, Ill., 13.243
Denny Woodworth (45dw), Mendon, Ill., 13.285
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 13.386
Craig Vosbergen (8), Perth, Western Australia, 13.426
Steve Lance Jr. (25), Cuba, Ill., 13.434
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 13.560
Joey Gower (31), Quincy, Ill., 14.138
Terry Gallaher (0), New London, Mo., 14.503

Fourth group
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 13.036
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 13.080
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 13.286
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 13.37
Rickey Frankel (33), Quincy, Ill., 13.455
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 13.509
Justin Reed (4), Quincy, Ill., 13.829
Keith Pratt (33), Mendon, Ill., 14.829

Heat 1:
Ryan Unzicker, Mark Burgtorf, Dennis Erb Jr., Donny Walden, Brandon Thirlby, Sam Halstead, Russ Schoonover, Darin Weisinger

Heat 2:
Doug Drown, Bobby Pierce, Tim Lance, Dustin Griffin, Dustin Neese, Billy Genenbacher, Robby Warner, Clint Kirkham

Heat 3:
Brian Shirley, Denny Woodworth, Jack Sullivan, Brandon Sheppard, Steve Lance Jr., Craig Vosbergen, Terry Gallaher. Scratched: Joey Gower

Heat 4:
Jeep Van Wormer, Jason Feger, Shannon Babb, Billy Moyer Jr., Rickey Frankel, Keith Pratt, Jason McBride, Justin Reed

Brandon Thirlby, Steve Lance Jr., Rickey Frankel, Craig Vosbergen, Keith Pratt, Billy Genenbacher, Dustin Neese, Sam Halstead, Terry Gallaher, Russ Schoonover

(1) Jeep Van Wormer, (2) Jason Feger, (3) Ryan Unzicker, (4) Doug Drown, (5) Mark Burgtorf, (6) Shannon Babb, (7) Dennis Erb Jr., (8) Jack Sullivan, (9) Denny Woodworth, (10) Tim Lance, (11) Craig Vosbergen, (12) Bobby Pierce, (13) Brandon Thirlby, (14) Dustin Griffin, (15) Justin Reed, (16) Donny Walden, (17) Brandon Sheppard, (18) Jason McBride, (19) Steve Lance Jr., (20) Brian Shirley, (21) Billy Moyer Jr.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Forty years of weekly DIRTcar Racing is now in the history books. The 28th edition of DIRTcar’s year-end special event concluded appropriately Saturday night...