Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Jeep VanWormer takes UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals win at I-96 Speedway

DIRTcar Summer NationalsLake Odessa, MI – June 29, 2010 – The home state of Michigan was well represented Tuesday night at I-96 Speedway during the 14th stop on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour.

Pinconning, Mich., driver Jeep Van Wormer took advantage of miscue by Devin Shiels of Britton, Mich. on lap 13 to claim the top spot and drove away from the field to claim his second feature win of the 2010 DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

Sheils would secure second while seventh-starting Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich., would finish third. Ryan Unzicker would finish fourth and Zack Olger of St. John’s, Mich., would round out the top five earning Michigan drivers four of the top five finishing positions.

First group
Dona Marcoullier (6m), Houghton Lake, Mich., 20.044
Devin Shiels (51), Britton, Mich., 20.259
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 20.541
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 20.544
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 20.609
Curtis Roberts (9r), Coleman, Mich., 20.650
Rusty Schlenk (91), Jackson, Mich., 20.689
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 20.755
Josh Scott (30js), Grand Rapids, Ohio, 21.156
Rusty Seaver (25s), Jackson, Mich., 21.210
Kris Patterson Jr. (00), St. John’s, Mich., 21.553
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 22.463

Second group
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 19.462
Matt Miller (7), Waterville, Ohio, 19.707
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 20.041
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Orland Park, Ill., 20.100
Eric Spangler (27), Lake City, Mich., 20.428
Scott Baker (13), Ionia, Mich., 20.487
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 20.495
Brice Sloan (2), Lowell, Mich., 20.816
Chris Nash (54), Kalamazoo, Mich., 21.055
Alan Vochaska (34), South Haven, Mich., 21.641
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 21.700

Third group
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 19.672
Brian Ruhlman (49), Clarklake, Mich., 19.901
Rodney Melvin (27), Benton, Ill., 20.241
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 20.400
Ryan Vanderveen (23), Six Lakes, Mich., 20.61
Dan Hubbell (32), Hastings, Mich., 20.700
Tom Sprague Jr. (21s), Muskegon, Mich., 20.714
Mike Nugent (43), Belding, Mich., 20.907
Adam Thrush (91), Mount Pleasant, Mich., 20.936
Scott Ehlert (4), Crystal, Mich., 21.020
Sam Epling (29), Perry, Mich., 21.413

Fourth group
Zack Olger (0x), St. John’s, Mich., 19.727
Carl Ries (6r), Blanchard, Mich., 20.025
Kris Patterson (0), St. John’s, Mich., 20.052
Bill Bray (94), Spring Lake, Mich., 20.196
Mark Andersen (85), Blanchard, Mich., 20.213
Jim Fairbanks (61), Muskegon, Mich., 20.258
Rich Neiser (87), Fruitport, Mich., 20.478
Jim Moon (1), Zionsville, Ind., 21.039
Richie Hedrick (0), Urbana, Ill., 21.055
Luke Hubbell (44), Hastings, Mich., 21.456
Pat Ehlert (71), Ovid, Mich., 23.534

Heat 1:
Devin Shiels, Ryan Unzicker, Dona Marcoullier, Dennis Erb Jr., Curtis Roberts, Jason Feger, Jack Sullivan, Rusty Schlenk, Rusty Seaver, Josh Scott, Brandon Thirlby, Kris Patterson Jr.

Heat 2:
Jeep Van Wormer, Shannon Babb, Eric Spangler, Jason McBride, Matt Miller, Frank Heckenast Jr., Alan Vochaska, Scott Baker, Donny Walden, Brice Sloan, Chris Nash

Heat 3:
Billy Moyer, Jr., Brian Ruhlman, Brandon Sheppard, Rodney Melvin, Tom Sprague Jr., Sam Epling, Mike Nugent, Ryan Vanderveen, Adam Thrush, Scott Ehlert, Dan Hubbell

Heat 4:
Zack Olger, Bill Bray, Kris Patterson, Richie Hedrick, RIch Neiser, Jim Fairbanks, Jim Moon, Pat Ehlert, Carl Ries, Luke Hubbell, Mark Andersen

Rusty Schlenk, Rusty Seaver, Ryan Vanderveen, Scott Baker, Adam Thrush, Scott Ehlert, Jsoh Scott, Brandon Thirlby, Carl Ries, Pat Ehlert, Donny Walden, Mark Anderson, Kris Patterson Jr., Chris Nash, Brice Sloan, Luke Hubbell, Dan Hubbell

Tom Sprague Jr., Frank Heckenast Jr., Matt Miller, Sam Epling, Rich Neiser, Jack Sullivan, Mike Nugent, Curtis Roberts, Rusty Seaver, Jim Moon, Ryan Vanderveen, Jim Fairbanks, Scott Baker, Jason Feger, Alan Vochaska, Rusty Schlenk

(1) Jeep Van Wormer, (2) Devin Shiels, (3) Brian Ruhlman, (4) Ryan Unzicker, (5) Zack Olger, (6) Shannon Babb, (7) Bill Bray, (8) Dona Marcoullier, (9) Dennis Erb Jr., (10) Brandon Sheppard, (11) Tom Sprague Jr., (12) Billy Moyer Jr., (13) Frank Heckenast Jr., (14) Rodney Melvin, (15) Kris Patterson, (16) Jason Feger, (17) Jason McBride, (18) Mike Nugent (19) Richie Hedrick, (20) Eric Spangler, (21) Rusty Schlenk

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Forty years of weekly DIRTcar Racing is now in the history books. The 28th edition of DIRTcar’s year-end special event concluded appropriately Saturday night...