Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Jimmy Owens takes Golden Isle Speedway Opening Night Victory!

Brunswick, GA — Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., kicked off the 2008 season in style by capturing the first round of the Super Bowl of Racing IV at Golden Isles Speedway. Owens, who notched his third victory in a row going back to 2007, slipped under Shane Clanton on the 37th lap and led the rest of the 50-lapper.

Owens, who started third but dropped back to fourth midway through the race, earned $10,000 at the track which offers that same winning purse for nine more nights on Jan. 24-26 and Jan. 28-Feb. 2.

The sixth-starting Clanton, who was fading from contention before making a high-side rally to take the lead from Earl Pearson Jr. on the 31st lap, finished second with Pearson third.
Pearson started outside the front row and led the first 30 laps.

Polesitter Chris Madden ran second through the first half of the race before settling for fourth and Billy Moyer was fifth. Darrell Lanigan charged from his 19th starting spot to finish sixth.

The UMP-sanctioned Super Late Model race was slowed by three cautions, none for major incidents. Dan Schlieper slowed on the ninth lap, Tim McCreadie slowed on lap 13 and Donnie Moran stopped on the backstretch to bring out the final caution on lap 21.

In a preliminary feature, Shane Williams of DeLeon Springs, Fla., won the 50-lap National Late Model Series event to earn $3,000.

Super Bowl of Racing IV opener: 1. Jimmy Owens, 2. Shane Clanton, 3. Earl Pearson Jr., 4. Chris Madden, 5. Billy Moyer, 6. Darrell Lanigan, 7. Scott Bloomquist, 8. Steve Francis, 9. Tim Fuller, 10. Kelly Boen, 11. Steve Shaver, 12. Rick Eckert, 13. Ricky Elliott, 14. Michael England, 15. Brady Smith, 16. James Ward, 17. Jason Fitzgerald, 18. Ivedent Lloyd Jr., 19. Dan Schlieper, 20. Terry Casey, 21. Donnie Moran, 22. Chesley Dixon, 23. Chub Frank, 24. Tim McCreadie.

Fast qualifier (among 47 cars): Scott Bloomquist, 16.006 seconds (4/10-mile oval).

First heat: 1. Chris Madden, 2. Kelly Boen, 3. Brady Smith, 4. James Ward, 5. Mike Collins, 6. Damon Eller, 7. Vic Coffey, 8. Chuck Hummer, 9. Brian Nuttall, 10. Matt Miller, 11. Joe Isabell.

Second heat: 1. Scott Bloomquist, 2. Shane Clanton, 3. Michael England, 4. Chub Frank, 5. Rick Eckert, 6. Tim McCreadie, 7. Dan Schlieper, 8. Wes Steidinger, 9. Chesley Dixon, 10. Mark Andersen, 11. Michael Mason, 12.
Shanon Buckingham.

Third heat: 1. Jimmy Owens, 2. Billy Moyer, 3. Tim Fuller, 4. Donnie Moran, 5. Darrell Lanigan, 6. Terry Casey, 7. Billy Decker, 8. Mike Marlar, 9. Randle Chupp, 10. Ed Basey, 11. Dennis Erb Jr., 12. Chuck Chitty.

Fourth heat: 1. Earl Pearson Jr., 2. Steve Shaver, 3. Ivedent Lloyd Jr., 4. Jason Fitzgerald, 5. Steve Francis, 6. Clint Smith, 7. Ricky Elliott, 8. Josh Richards, 9. Danny Johnson, 10. Jason McBride, 11. Tyler Ivey, 12. Johnny Collins.

First consolation: 1. Tim McCreadie, 2. Dan Schlieper, 3. Damon Eller, 4. Wes Steidinger, 5. Vic Coffey, 6. Mark Andersen, 7. Mike Collins, 8. Michael Mason, 9. Chuck Hummer, 10. Brian Nuttall, 11. Matt Miller, 12. Joe Isabel, 13.
Shanon Buckingham.

Second consolation: 1. Ricky Elliott, 2. Terry Casey, 3. Clint Smith, 4. Billy Decker, 5. Josh Richards, 6. Ed Basey, 7. Tyler Ivey, 8. Jason McBride, 9. Dennis Erb Jr., 10. Johnny Collins, 11. Danny Johnson, 12. Mike Marlar, 13. Randle Chupp, 14. Chuck Chitty.

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


Forty years of weekly DIRTcar Racing is now in the history books. The 28th edition of DIRTcar’s year-end special event concluded appropriately Saturday night...


DIRTcar’s brightest weekly racing stars came out for opening night of the 28th annual DIRTcar Fall Nationals and put on four great shows Friday...