Kloos Gets First Ever Summer Nationals Win at Belle Clair

Michael Kloos
Michael Kloos

BELLEVILLE, Ill. – June 29, 2011 – Michael Kloos of Trenton, Ill., became the third different first-time winner on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Wednesday night at Belle Clair Speedway.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Kloos, a weekly DIRTcar Late Model warrior around the St. Louis area, started second and powered around Billy Moyer Jr., of Batesville, Ark., on the lesser used top groove near the midpoint of the 40-lap main event to take over the lead. Kloos held off a charge from second place finisher Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., late in the race to claim his first Hell Tour victory worth $5,000. Moyer crossed the line third ahead of St. Charles, Mo., driver Mike Hammerle. Mark Voight of Marine, Ill., was fifth.


Summer Nationals championship points leader Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., struggled throughout the event, finishing 14th in the feature after using a provisional to make the field. Scott James of Martinsville, Ind., who sits second in points finished one spot ahead of Babb after also using a provisional. Defending Summer Nationals Champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., finished 10th.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns to action Thursday, June 30, at Clay Hill Motorsports Park in Atwood, Tenn.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Belle Clair Speedway; Belleville, Ill.; June 29, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps ): 1. Michael Kloos ($5,000), 2. Ryan Unzicker, 3. Billy Moyer Jr., 4. Mike Hammerle, 5. Mark Voigt, 6. Randy Korte, 7. Kevin Weaver, 8. Brian Shirley, 9. Kevin Cole, 10. Jason Feger, 11. Brandon Sheppard, 12. Donny Walden, 13. Scott James, 14. Shannon Babb, 15. Dennis Erb Jr., 16. Jim Gibson, 17. Mike Schulte, 18. Leon Henderson, 19. Jack Sullivan, 20. Dewayne Kiefer, 21. Rodney Standerfield, 22. Dillan White. Fast qualifiers (among 32 cars): Unzicker, Moyer Jr., Kloos, Voigt. Heat race winners: Moyer, Unzicker, Kloos, Feger. B-Main winner: Erb. Provisional starters: Babb, White, Schulte, James.

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule


Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Mike Spatola (37)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Scott James (29)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July 13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22 Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Scott James (50)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Jason Feger (48)
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Dan Schlieper (52)
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill. PPD/July 23
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich. Shannon Babb (46)
June 28 Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, Ind. Shannon Babb (22)
June 29 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Michael Kloos (32)
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn.
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky.
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo.
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill.
July 4 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill.
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill.
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill.
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn.
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind.
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind.
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill.
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill.
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.