Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Moyer Captures Fourth Win of 2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Season at Terre Haute Action Track

Billy Moyer
Billy Moyer

Billy Moyer


By Jordan Morris

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — July 9, 2014 — After claiming his record 85th career DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory on Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway, Hall of Famer Billy Moyer backed it up by claiming his 86th career win just three nights later at Terre Haute Action Track.

Moyer and Shannon Babb have battled back-and-forth all season long to claim the top spot on the series all-time winningest driver list. Babb took an early advantage, but in the last week, Moyer has stormed back and now leads Babb by one race.

Moyer captured the pole-position for the 40-lap feature at the half-mile dirt oval, which is the largest on the 39 race schedule. Brian Shirley joined the pole-sitter on the front row but was no match for Moyer who escaped to an early lead.

As Moyer was never challenged for the victory, the race was for the runner-up position. Shirley who held the position all race came under fire from a hard-charging Shannon Babb, who started the feature in the eighth position. Shirley was challenged by Babb a few times but eventually held off the three-time series champion.

With a third place finish, Babb regained the series points lead over Ryan Unzicker, who led the standings coming into the night but drove conservatively all night after suffering a concussion during Tuesday night’s feature event.

Moyer easily cruised to his season leading fourth victory, leading flag-to-flag en route to capturing the $5,000 checkered flag at Terre Haute Action Track over Shirley by more than a straightaway.

“People say like fine wine it just gets better with age,” said the 56-year-old Moyer, whose fourth win is the most he’s had in a season since he had six in 2010. “I know it’s a little harder to get out of bed in the morning than when I was 25, but we’re just gonna keep plugging along.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Babb, Brandon Sheppard and Austin Dillon rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners were Moyer and Shirley.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals continues on Thursday night as they join the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals at Macon Speedway in Macon, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Terre Haute Action Track; Terre Haute, Ind.;

July 9, 2014; A-Main (40-laps): 1. 21-Billy Moyer ($5,000), 2. 81-Brian Shirley, 3. 18-Shannon Babb, 4. B5-Brandon Sheppard, 5. 3-Austin Dillon, 6. 77K-Steve Kester, 7. 1M-Jim Moon, 8. 25L-Steve Lance Jr, 9. 24-Ryan Unzicker, 10. 15F-Chris Fetter, 11. 80-Duke Mounce, 12. 42*-Bob Mayer, 13. 7R-Kent Robinson, 14. 81JR-Jason Riggs, 15. 32-Bobby Pierce.

2014 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule

Date Day Track Location Win
June 11 Wed Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. RAIN
June 12 Thur Kankakee Co. Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Billy Moyer
June 13 Fri Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. Rick Eckert
June 14 Sat Cedar Lake Speedway Somerset, Wis. RAIN
June 15 Sun Wilmot Raceway Wilmot, Wis. Rick Eckert(2)
June 16 Mon Off
June 17 Tue Farley Speedway Farley, Iowa Shannon Babb
June 18 Wed Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. Jason Feger
June 19 Thur Quincy Raceways Quincy, Ill. RAIN
June 20 Fri Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Billy Moyer(2)
June 21 Sat Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, Ill. RAIN
June 22 Sun I-96 Speedway Ionia, Mich. Brian Shirley
June 23 Mon Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Brandon Sheppard
June 24 Tue Off
June 25 Wed Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn. Shannon Babb(2)
June 26 Thur Clayhill Motorsports Atwood, Tenn. Brian Shirley (2)
June 27 Fri Paducah Int. Raceway Paducah, Ky. RAIN
June 28 Sat Federated Auto Parts Raceway Pevely, Mo. Brian Birkhofer
June 29 Sun Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brady Smith
June 30 Mon Off
July 1 Tue Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Bobby Pierce
July 2 Wed Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, Ill. Jason Feger(2)
July 3 Thur LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. Brian Birkhofer(2)
July 4 Fri Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Brandon Sheppard(2)
July 5 Sat Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Tyler Reddick
July 6 Sun Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind. Billy Moyer(3)
July 7 Mon Off
July 8 Tue Florence Speedway Union, Ky. Jason Jameson
July 9 Wed Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, Ind. Billy Moyer(4)
July 10 Thur Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. $5,000
July 11 Fri Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. $10,000
July 12 Sat 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa $10,000
July 13 Sun Vermilion Co. Speedway Danville, Ill. $5,000
July 14 Mon Off
July 15 Tue TBA
July 16 Wed Atomic Speedway Chillicothe, Ohio $5,000
July 17 Thur Brushcreek Motorsports Complex Peebles, Ohio $5,000
July 18 Fri Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio $5,000
July 19 Sat Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio $10,000

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electronics (Official Communication), Velocita (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Partners: Beyea Headers, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Fox Shocks, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Mobil 1, MSD, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, Summit Racing Equipment and Wrisco Aluminum; Promotional Partners include: Chevy Performance Parts, Indiana Decal, Intercomp and Petroff Towing. 

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...


VP Racing Fuels, Inc. has extended its partnership with the World of Outlaws and DIRTcar Racing in a multi-year deal to continue as the...