Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Moyer Jr. Sweeps Cedar Lake Summer Nationals

New Richmond, Wis. – June 16, 2012 – Everyone on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals tour knows now that Billy Moyer Jr. isn’t messing around after the 25-year-old driver won the 50-lap Cedar Lake Speedway finale on Saturday night worth $10,000 and increased his win percentage on tour to 75% in the process.

(For late breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Moyer grabbed the lead on the opening lap and wouldn’t relinquish the top spot over the course of the main event withstanding a late run by Solon Springs, Wis., driver Brady Smith that saw Smith make multiple attempts at Moyer Jr. with less than 15 laps remaining. Smith would settle for the runner-up spot and 3-time Summer Nationals Champion Shannon Babb finished third. Pole sitter Jason McBride of Carbondale, Ill., finished fourth and Chatham, Ill., driver Brian Shirley rounded out the top five.

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

The tour will move to Wilmot Raceway in Wilmot, Wis., Sunday for a $5,000-to-win event. Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., won the tour’s last race at Wilmot in 2010. Moyer Jr. currently leads the DIRTcar Summer Nationals point standings by 29 markers over his father, late model legend Billy Moyer. Defending Hell Tour Champion Shannon Babb is third, 35 markers behind.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Cedar Lake Speedway; New Richmond, Wis.; June 16, 2012 A-Main (50-laps): 1. Billy Moyer Jr. ($10,000), 2. Brady Smith, 3. Shannon Babb, 4. Jason McBride, 5. Brian Shirley, 6. Brandon Sheppard, 7. Jimmy Mars, 8. Chad Simpson, 9. Billy Moyer, 10. Mike Spatola, 11. Don O’Neal, 12. Terry Casey, 13. Frank Heckenast Jr., 14. Brian Birkhofer, 15. A.J. Diemel, 16. Ryan Unzicker, 17. Dennis Erb Jr., 18. Jason Feger, 19. Charlie McKenna, 20. Bobby Pierce, 21. Jon Henry, 22. Chris Simpson. Fast qualifiers (among 32 cars): Sheppard, Babb, Moyer Jr., McBride. Heat race winners: Chad Simpson, Babb, Moyer Jr., McBride. B-main winner: Feger. Provisional starters: Pierce, Unzicker, Henry, Erb.

2012 DIRTcar Summer Nationals Schedule




Winner (Cars)


Brownstown Speedway

Brownstown, IN

Billy Moyer Jr. (49)


Kankakee County Speedway

Kankakee, IL

Shannon Babb(45)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Billy Moyer Jr. (37)


Cedar Lake Speedway

Somerset, WI

Billy Moyer Jr. (32)


Wilmot Raceway

Wilmot, WI


Spoon River Speedway

Canton, IL


Highland Speedway

Highland, IL


Fayette Co. Speedway

Brownstown, IL


Tri City Speedway

Pontoon Beach, IL


Fairbury Speedway

Fairbury, IL


I-96 Speedway

Lake Odessa, MI


Lincoln Park Speedway

Putnamville, IN


Belle Clair Speedway

Belleville, IL


Clay Hill Motorsports Park

Atwood, TN


Paducah Int. Raceway

Paducah, KY


Federated Auto Parts I-55

Pevely, MO


Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln, IL


Peoria Speedway

Peoria, IL


Jacksonville Speedway

Jacksonville, IL


Lasalle Speedway

Lasalle, IL


Macon Speedway

Macon, IL


Quincy Raceways

Quincy, IL


Clarksville Speedway

Clarksville, TN


Tri State Speedway

Haubstadt, IN


Florence Speedway

Union, KY


Brushcreek Motorsports

Pebbles, OH


Terre Haute Action Track

Terre Haute, IN


Attica Raceway Park

Attica, OH


Oakshade Raceway

Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals (The Hell Tour) is brought to fans across the country by many important sponsors and partners, including Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine contingency sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Chevy Performance Parts, Intercomp, JE Pistons, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Ignition, Ohlins Shocks, Quartermaster, Superflow Dyno’s, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), Wix Filters, and Wrisco Aluminum. 

You May Also Like


Friday’s portion of the 52nd Federated Auto Parts DIRTcar Nationals is set to give fans an expanded day of racing with Thursday’s postponed Features...


Charleston Speedway wins track of the year, Brad Denney wins Promoter of the year, Bob Memmer Award The final order of business for the...


World of Outlaws Sprint Cars and Late Models to contend for $20K to win in respective Saturday finales Entering the 52nd DIRTcar Nationals at...


Racing Electronics’ top-of-line two-way radios and headsets will continue to be the source of communication on race day for all World Racing Group series...

Copyright © 2023 World Racing Group | All Rights Reserved