Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Mr. Smooth Cruises To O’Reilly MSRA/MARS Win At Batesville Motor Speedway

MARS DIRTcar SeriesLocust Grove, Arkansas (7/25/09) – Everyone knows the old saying that “there is no place like home,” and for Billy Moyer on Saturday night at Batesville Motor Speedway in Locust Grove, Arkansas nothing was more true as he claimed the $2,500 prize in the O’Reilly MSRA/O’Reilly MARS Clash.

A star-studded field of 30 Super Late Models turned out for the second night of the O’Reilly MSRA/O’Reilly MARS Clash at the racy, 3/8 mile oval. After charging from the third starting position to win his heat race, Jeff Taylor from Jonesboro, Arkansas earned the JFR Graphics Pole Qualifier Award in his #5 Larry Shaw Race Car/Keith Craft Racing Engine Super Late Model. Jeremy Payne from Springfield, Missouri started outside front row for the 35 lap event. As the field came to the green Payne powered his way to the lead with Taylor, Billy Moyer, and Will Vaught in tow. Lap 2 would see Moyer move past Taylor for the second spot as he set his sights on the leader, Payne. As Payne and Moyer motored away from the field, several great battles raged behind them with Taylor and Vaught battling side by side for the third spot and Billy Moyer Jr. and Kyle Beard battling side by side for fifth.

The first eight laps would go caution free before Jon Mitchell rolled to a stop down the front stretch, bringing out the event’s lone caution. At the time of the caution, the top five running order consisted of Payne, Moyer, Vaught, Taylor, and Beard.

On the ensuing restart Payne extended his lead to two car lengths with Moyer in tow. The big mover and shaker on the restart was Terry Phillips who moved from 7th to the third position by lap ten as he began to reel in the leaders. Lap 12 would see Payne slip high out of turn four allowing Moyer to slip by on the low side to take over the top spot. As Moyer assumed the point, Payne fell back into the grips of teammate, Terry Phillips, as they began to duel side by side for second. Phillips would clear Payne for the second spot on lap 19. Over the next few laps, Phillips would erase Moyer’s straight away lead, and looked to be set to make a move on the top spot on lap 25 before the lapped car of Ray Moore nixed Phillips’ momentum causing him to fall back several car lengths from the leader.

Billy Moyer would go on to lead the remaining laps en route to the $2,500 payday, which made him the 9th different winner on the O’Reilly MSRA tour in 2009. Terry Phillps, Jeremy Payne, Bill Frye (started 14th), and Brandon McCormick rounded out the top five.

Heat races for the thirty car field were topped by Jeremy Payne, Jeff Taylor, Billy Moyer, and Will Vaught. The twin b-main events were claimed by Wendell Wallace and Jon Mitchell.

Bill Frye received the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charge Award for advancing from his 14th starting position to a 4th place finish.

The Quartermaster Hard Luck Award went to Jon Mitchell, who had mechanical woes bring his night to an early end on lap nine.

O’Reilly MSRA provisionals went to Dewaine Hottinger and Ray Moore. O’Reilly MARS provisionals went to Darrell Mooneyham and Leroy Johnson.

Billy Moyer earned the COMP Cams Winner’s Circle Bonus.

O’Reilly MSRA Results – July 25th, 2009
Batesville Motor Speedway (Locust Grove, AR)

1. Billy Moyer (Batesville, AR)
2. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO)
3. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO)
4. Bill Frye (Greenbriar, AR)
5. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO)
6. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, AR)
7. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO)
8. Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)
9. Will Vaught (Crane, MO)
10. Jeff Floyd (Walnut Ridge, AR)
11. Rylan Long (Missouri)
12. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
13. Robbie Stuart (Deridder, LA)
14. Jeff Taylor (Batesville, AR)
15. Dewaine Hottinger (Russellville, AR)
16. Jack Sullivan (Greenbriar, AR)
17. Ray Moore (Shreveport, LA)
18. Leroy Johnson (Lebanon, MO)
19. Jon Kirby (Russellville, AR)
20. Darrell Mooneyham (Verona, MO)
21. Tony Jackson Jr. (Lebanon, MO)
20. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)

DNQ: Joseph Long, Randy Mitchell, Brian Ritchie, Michael Murphree, Austin Rettig, Gary Christian, Justin Asplin, Shane Diamant,

Entries: 30 (Representing 5 States)
Cautions: 1
Red Flags: 0
Leaders: Jeremy Payne (1-12), Billy Moyer (13-35)
Heat Winners: Jeremy Payne, Billy Moyer, Jeff Taylor, Will Vaught
B-Main Transfers: Jon Mitchell, Jeff Floyd, Wendell Wallace, Robbie Stuart
MSRA Provisionals: Dewaine Hottinger, Ray Moore
MARS Provisionals: Randy Mooneyham, Leroy Johnson
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Bill Frye (14th to 4th)
Quartermaster Hard Luck Award: Jon Mitchell
JFR Graphics Pole Qualifier: Jeff Taylor
COMP Cams Winner’s Circle Bonus: Billy Moyer

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Devin Moran for failing a tire test after competing in the...


The milestone 40th year of DIRTcar Racing saw one of the most competitive and lucrative seasons in weekly dirt track racing history. And with...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

Like the summer temperatures, Ashton Winger has been heating up recently and threw another load of coal in the fire with his second Feature...

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

For the first time in his career, Logan Martin is a Feature winner with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals. Martin, the 27-year-year regional racer from...