Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Night 8 of the 27-Event UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals: Marlar Pulls Off Dramatic Last-Lap Pass Of Moyer At I-55 Raceway

PEVELY, MO – June 24, 2007 – Just in case anyone hadn’t noticed how strong Mike Marlar has been on the 2007 UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals tour, he announced his presence in unquestionable fashion Saturday night at I-55 Raceway.

The Winfield, Tenn. , driver pulled off a dramatic last-lap pass of dirt Late Model legend Billy Moyer to win the 40-lap feature at NASCAR veteran Kenny Schrader’s high-banked, one-third mile oval.

It was Marlar’s second victory in eight events on this year’s Summernationals loop, which the veteran driver is chasing for the first time in his career. He earned $10,000 and padded his points lead.

For most of the night it appeared that Moyer, the alltime winningest driver in UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals competition, was headed to his 61st career tour win. He set a new track record of 12.081 seconds in time trials, won a heat race and bolted into the lead at the drop of the feature green flag.

The Batesville, Ark. , superstar opened a healthy advantage as Marlar battled to overtake 2004 Summernationals champion Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., for second. Marlar closed in once he gained the runner-up spot, but Marlar’s slap of the fronstretch wall on lap 36 appeared to put Moyer on the cusp of victory.

Marlar didn’t give up, though, and rallied to overtake Moyer on the final circuit for an emotional triumph. It was his second win in as many ’07 ummernationals events held in Missouri .

Moyer, a six-time Summernationals champion, settled for second place. Brady Smith of Solon Springs , Wis. , made a closing rush to finish third, followed by Terry Casey of New London , Wis. , and Billy Faust of Lebanon , Ill.

Shannon Babb of Moweaqua , Ill. , who dominated the Summernationals en route to championship honors in 2005 and 2006, finished sixth in his first tour start of 2007. He ran in the top five for much of the distance before being nipped for fifth at the finish line.

Forty-five cars entered the event.

Heat winners were Moyer, Babb, O’Neal and Marlar, and the B-Mains were captured by Wes Steidinger of Fairbury , Ill. , and Randy Korte of Highland , Ill.

UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals Feature Finish (40 laps):
1. Mike Marler
2. Billy Moyer
3. Brady Smith
4. Terry Casey
5. Billy Faust
6. Shannon Babb
7. Jeff Taylor
8. Wes Steidinger
9. Matt Taylor
10. Dennis Erb Jr.
11. Jeep VanWormer
12. Dewayne Kiefer
13. Justin Allgaier
14. Bryan Collins
15. Jeff Johns
16. Eddie Kirchoff
17. Kevin Weaver
18. Don O’Neal
19. Randy Korte
20. Ed Dixon
21. Danny Haynes
22. Mark Oller
23. Rodney Melvin
24. Steve Sheppard Jr.

DNQ: Ron Bartels, Ricky Frankel, Ron McQuerry, Chad Jones, Cody Baumann, Allen Hammond, Chris Smyzer, Jason McBride, Billy Laycock, Rusty Schlenk, Brad White, Jeff Beyers, Tim Manville, Jordan Bland, Ken Runble, Billy Moyer Jr., Danny Haynes, Nick Bartels, Rich Whaley, Chad Zobrist, Craig Smith

2007 UMP DIRTcar Racing Summernationals Schedule
6/15 – Fri. – Kankakee Motor Speedway/Kankakee, IL (Dennis Erb Jr.)
6/16 – Sat. – Kamp Motor Speedway/Boswell, IN (Dennis Erb Jr.)
6/17 – Sun. – Tri-State Speedway/Haubstadt, IN (Randy Korte)
6/18 – Mon. – Jefferson County Raceway/ Mt. Vernon , IL (Randy Korte)
6/19 – Tues. – Lebanon I-44 Speedway/Lebanon, MO (Mike Marlar)
6/20 – Wed. – Highland Speedway/Highland, IL (Dennis Erb Jr.)
6/21 – Thurs. – Morgan County Speedway / Jacksonville , IL (Kevin Weaver)
6/22 – Fri. – Farmer City Raceway/Farmer City, IL (Rain – Rescheduled to July 13)
6/23 – Sat. – I-55 Raceway/Pevely, MO (Mike Marlar)
6/24 – Sun. – Lincoln Speedway/Lincoln, IL
6/25 – Mon. – Peoria Speedway/Peoria, IL
6/26 – Tues. – Poplar Bluff Speedway/Poplar Bluff, MO
6/27 – Wed. – Lake Ozark Speedway / Eldon , MO
6/28 – Thurs. – Paducah International Raceway/Paducah, KY
6/29 – Fri. – Western Kentucky Speedway/Nebo, KY
6/30 – Sat. – Clarksville Speedway/Clarksville, TN
7/1 – Sun. – Vermilion County Speedway / Danville , IL
7/2 – Mon. – Midway Speedway/Crooksville, OH
7/3 – Tues. – Lawrenceburg Speedway/Lawrenceburg, IN
7/4 – Wed. – Day Off
7/5 – Thurs. – Macon Speedway/Macon, IL
7/6 – Fri. – Tri-City Speedway / Pontoon Beach , IL
7/7 – Sat. – Fairbury American Legion Speedway/Fairbury, IL
7/8 – Sun. – Quad City Speedway/East Moline , IL
7/9 – Mon. – C.J. Raceway/Columbus Junction, IA
7/10 – Tues. – Quincy Raceway/Quincy, IL
7/11 – Wed. – Spoon River Speedway/Canton, IL
7/12 – Thurs. – LaSalle Speedway/LaSalle, IL
7/13 – Fri. – Farmer City Raceway/Farmer City, IL
7/14 – Sat. – Oakshade Raceway/Wauseon, OH

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like


Trevor Neville had no problems figuring out Oakshade Raceway in his first trip to the Ohio dirt track with the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment...


With two laps-to-go, Trent Young said, “I knew I had to go for it.” Coming out Turn 4 on Lap 24, Young ripped the...


Back like he never left, Tyler Erb has returned to Victory Lane with the DIRTcar Summer Nationals. Making his first Hell Tour start since...


David Breazeale didn’t start racing until he was 22. He didn’t join a national tour until he was 42. And Saturday night at Clarksville...