Phillips triumphs at Tri-City

MARS DIRTcar Series

Terry Phillips
Terry Phillips - Ron Mitchell Photo

Pontoon Beach, IL (August 6, 2010) – Terry Phillips continued his winning ways as he lead all 40 laps of the MARS / UMP Clash at Tri-City Speedway in Pontoon Beach, IL. Phillips started on the pole and held back challenges from Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, IL who finished second.

Al Purkey of Coffeyville, KS started ninth in the feature event and quickly worked his way in to the top 5 and then used a series of double file restarts to finish third.

Mark Voigt of Marine, IL started seventh and finished fourth. Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, AR started on the outside front row and finished fifth.

With the win, Phillips recorded his sixth feature victory of the 2010 campaign.

A Feature Results (34 cars): 1) Terry Phillips 2) Ryan Unzicker 3) Al Purkey 4) Mark Voigt 5) Billy Moyer Jr. 6) Tim Lance 7) Craig Smith 8) Frank Heckenast 9) Chad Zobrist 10) Todd Hall 11) Billy Laycock 12) Eric Turner 13) Ricky Frankel 14) Jason McBride 15) Brandon McCormick 16) Rylan Long 17) Gary Christian 18) Tim Rataczyk 19) Wendell Wallace 20) Dave Eckrich 21) Jeremy Payne 22) Leroy Johnson

Heat #1 Results: 1) Billy Moyer Jr. 2) Dave Eckrich 3) Ryan Unzicker 4) Wendell Wallace 5) Tim Rataczyk 6) Denny Eckrich 7) Dewayne Kiefer 8) Austin Rettig 9) Leroy Johnson

Heat #2 Results: 1) Craig Smith 2) Al Purkey 3) Todd Hall 4) Tim Lance 5) Brandon McCormick 6) Frank Heckenast 7) Matt Furman 8) Justin Asplin 9) Chris Fetter

Heat #3 Results: 1) Jeremy Payne 2) Chad Zobrist 3) Mark Voigt 4) Jason McBride 5) Gary Christian 6) Ricky Frankel 7) Shannon Kuhn 8) Matt Weidner

Heat #4 Results: 1) Terry Phillips 2) Eric Turner 3) Billy Laycock 4) Claude Walker Jr. 5) Jimmy Dehm 6) Rylan Long 7) Bobby Pierce 8) Dan Jacober

B Feature #1 transfers: Tim Rataczyk, Jason McBride
B Feature #2 transfers: Frank Heckenast, Rylan Long

The MARS DIRTcar Series would like to thank the following sponsors: Hoosier Racing Tire, Don Babb Motorsports, Allstate Insurance, VP Race Fuels, Wrisco Aluminum, GRT Race Cars, Powertrain Industries, Supermoon Graphics, Leitle Car Quest Auto Parts Aurora, Andy’s Frozen Custard, Libscomb Auto Group and IHG Hotels.

More information on the MARS DIRTcar Series and be found at