Pierce Captures Fourth DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Victory in 2013 at 34 Raceway

Bobby Pierce – Mike Ruefer photo


WEST BURLINGTON, Iowa – July 13, 2013 – Bobby Pierce claimed his second win in as many nights and his fourth win of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” season Saturday night as he lead the final 15 laps and held off Brian Birkhofer at 34 Raceway.

Pierce, of Oakwood, Ill., would have to pass fewer cars to capture this victory compared to the victory Friday night. Pierce started on the outside of row two, just behind the front row of points-leader Brandon Sheppard and Birkhofer, who grabbed the lead from Sheppard as the two drivers battled side-by-side for much of the early going. With Birkhofer and Sheppard putting on a show for the fans, the youngster Pierce was marching his way to the front.

Pierce, in the same fashion as his three previous wins, stayed glued to the bottom for the duration of the event as he picked up ground on the leaders. Pierce first caught and passed second place Sheppard on lap 25 and then leader Birkhofer one lap later. The 16-year-old easily maneuvered through lapped traffic and extended his lead over the final 15 laps, claiming another $10,000 checkered flag.

“I think once you get rolling along, you get too hard to beat,” said Pierce, who is now second in the point standings. “My dad chose the right tires. We were kinda debating on that the whole night, but we picked the right ones.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Brandon Sheppard, Chris Simpson and Tanner English rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Brandon Sheppard, Chris Simpson and Brian Birkhofer.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Sunday night at Vermilion County Speedway located in Danville, Ill.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; 34 Raceway; Burlington, Iowa: July 13, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1. Bobby Pierce ($10,000), 2. Brian Birkhofer, 3. Brandon Sheppard, 4. Chris Simpson, 5. Tanner English, 6. Mark Burgtorf, 7. Chad Simpson, 8. Brian Shirley, 9. Shannon Babb, 10. Denny Eckrich, 11. Brian Harris, 12. Jason McBride, 13. Dustin Griffin, 14. Ryan Unzicker, 15. Jay Johnson, 16. Ron Elbe, 17. Tim Lance, 18. Randy Korte, 19. Richey Frankel, 20. Todd Frank, 21. Denny Woodworth, 22. Frank Heckenast Jr.

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Canceled/Rain
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard (2)
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL PPD/Rain July 15
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Brandon Sheppard (3)
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Brandon Sheppard (4)
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Billy Moyer
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Bobby Pierce
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Shannon Babb (2)
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL Shannon Babb (3)
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Bobby Pierce (2)
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL Ryan Unzicker (2)
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL PPD/Rain Aug. 25
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Shannon Babb (4)
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY Scott Bloomquist
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN Canceled/Rain
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL Shannon Babb (5)
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Bobby Pierce (3)
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA Bobby Pierce (4)
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Off
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum.