Pierce Claims Third DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” Victory at Kankakee County Speedway

DIRTcar Summer NationalsKANKAKEE, Ill. — July 12, 2013 — Bobby Pierce, much like his previous two wins, kept his car glued to the bottom of the track all night as he stormed from his row six starting position to claim his third win of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” on Friday night at Kankakee County Speedway.

Pierce, of Oakwood, Ill., started 11th, five rows behind the pole-sitter Matt Miller, of Whitehouse, Ohio. Miller, who has not won a “Hell Tour” event since 2008, was clearly in charge the first half of the feature. Pierce, locked to the bottom, needed 24 laps to reel in Miller before passing him for the lead with a little over half of the race to go. Pierce went on to lead the rest of the way and capture the $10,000 checkered flag in the 20th race of the 2013 “Hell Tour” schedule at Kankakee County Speedway.

“I didn’t think I was gonna be able to do it from 11th,” said Pierce, a 16-year-old who continues his strong points year as he currently sits fourth in the standings with a week to go. “But I was watching the track and seen that the bottom was really coming in a lot. I knew that I was good down here last year when I got second so I just had to keep doing the same thing over and over again and hitting my marks.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Brian Shirley, Ryan Unzicker and Brandon Sheppard rounded out the top five. Shannon Babb, who entered the night as the hottest driver on the tour with five victories and closing the gap to points leader Sheppard for the championship, was running second early on but a mechanical issue with his car forced him out of the race after 13 laps.

Heat race winners included Shannon Babb, Matt Miller and Torin Mettille.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Saturday night at 34 Raceway in Burlington, Iowa.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; Kankakee (Ill.) County Speedway; July 12, 2013

A-Main (50-laps): 1. Bobby Pierce ($10,000), 2. Matt Miller, 3. Brian Shirley, 4. Ryan Unzicker, 5. Brandon Sheppard, 6. Torin Mettille, 7. Frank Heckenast Jr, 8. Mike Spatola, 9. Dustin Griffin, 10. Allen Murray, 11. Tim Lance, 12. Jay Morris, 13. Jason McBride, 14. Todd Frank, 15. Steve Thorsten, 16. Glen Thompson, 17. Kevin Weaver, 18. Aaron Ricketts, 19. Shannon Babb, 20. Herb Reich, 21. Tanner English, 22. Steve Kester, 23. Steve Dimmick, 24. Kent Robinson.

Pos. Car Name Points
1 B5 Brandon Sheppard 1305
2 24 Ryan Unzicker 1244
3 32 Bobby Pierce 1242
4 18 Shannon Babb 1237
5 20 Dustin Griffin 927
6 77 Jason McBride 883
7 B12 Kevin Weaver 815
8 81 Randy Korte 808
9 11 Tyler Reddick 791
10 48 Tim Lance 618

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Canceled/Rain
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard (2)
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL PPD/Rain July 15
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN Brandon Sheppard (3)
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN Brandon Sheppard (4)
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY Billy Moyer
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO Postponed/Rain
Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL Bobby Pierce
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL Shannon Babb (2)
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL Shannon Babb (3)
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL Bobby Pierce (2)
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL Ryan Unzicker (2)
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL PPD/Rain Aug. 25
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN Shannon Babb (4)
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY Scott Bloomquist
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN Canceled/Rain
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL Shannon Babb (5)
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL Bobby Pierce (3)
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Off
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum.