Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Ryan Unzicker gets first UMP DIRTcar Summer Nationals win at Spoon River Speedway!

Ryan Unzicker


Canton, IL – July 12, 2010 – Persistence pays off. Ryan Unzicker is living proof of that after capturing his first career Hell Tour win Monday night at Spoon River Speedway during the 24th stop of the month long tour.

The perennial DIRTcar Summer Nationals competitor, Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., was patiently aggressive using the low line to reel in a lead duo of point leader Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill. and Greenbriar, Ark., driver Jack Sullivan midway through the 40-Lap main event. Unzicker would overtake Feger on lap 26 and later Sullivan on lap 28 and cruise the rest of the way to claim a $5,000 winner’s check.

Third starting Tim Lance of Brimfield, Ill., would cross the line second ahead of Feger. Previous night winner Jeep Van Wormer of Pinconning, Mich., would finish fourth after sliding back earlier in the feature event. Former Hell Tour champion Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., would round out the top five.

Up next for the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Tour is a visit to Peoria Speedway on Tuesday July 13, 2010. In total the Hell Tour has traveled over 4,400 miles in the course of 26 nights. The trip from Canton, Ill., to Peoria Speedway in Peoria, Ill., will have drivers traveling just 30 miles east to the track which will serve as 25th race of the 2010 tour.

First group
Jeep Van Wormer (55), Pinconning, Mich., 14.546
Jack Sullivan (1), Greenbrier, Ark., 14.721
Boone McLaughlin (14), Mediapolis, Iowa, 14.805
Scott Schmitt (10), Tonica, Ill., 15.023
Dillan White (54), Crofton, Ky., 15.081
Jason McBride (77), Carbondale, Ill., 15.096
Bobby Pierce (32), Oakwood, Ill., 15.249
Jay Sparks (7), Metamora, Ill., 15.371
Charley Hess (4), Peoria, Ill., 15.536
Robbie Bauman (1*), Fairview, Ill., 15.762

Second group
Jason Feger (25), Bloomington, Ill., 14.381
Shannon Babb (18), Moweaqua, Ill., 14.449
Brandon Sheppard (B5), New Berlin, Ill., 14.874
Kevin Weaver (00), Gibson City, Ill., 14.978
Brian Diveley (11D), Springfield, Ill., 15.028
Jimmy Dehm (99j), Lexington, Ill., 15.030
Mike Mullvain (4), Bartonville, Ill., 15.265
Jeremy Conaway (F15), Springfield, Ill., 15.377
Adam Mefford (7m), Jacksonville, Ill., 15.459
Russ Adams (74), Princeville, Ill., no time

Third group
Doug Drown (12), Wooster, Ohio, 14.795
Steve Lance Jr. (25), Cuba, Ill., 14.845
Craig Vosbergen (8), Perth, Western Australia, 15.039
Ryan Unzicker (24), El Paso, Ill., 15.065
Donny Walden (1w), Towanda, Ill., 15.131
Brandon Thirlby (m14), Traverse City, Mich., 15.804
Jim Carmody (83c), Dunlap, Ill., 15.980
Russ Schoonover (59), Bolten, England, 17.498
Dustin Griffin (7L), Camp Point, Ill., 17.659

Fourth group
Tim Lance (48), Brimfield, Ill., 14.820
Dennis Erb Jr. (28), Carpentersville, Ill., 14.903
Joe Harlan (Z), El Paso, Ill., 14.922
Frank Heckenast Jr. (99jr), Orland Park, Ill., 14.968
Billy Moyer Jr. (21jr), Batesville, Ark., 15.068
Steve Dimmick (11), Joliet, Ill., 15.095
Brian Shirley (48x), Chatham, Ill., 15.139
Jim Moon (1m), Zionsville, Ind., 15.265

Brad Denney (11x), Canton, Ill., 16.752

Heat 1:
Jeep Van Wormer, Jack Sullivan, Dillan White, Charley Hess, Boone McLaughlin, Bobby Pierce, Scott Schmitt, Jason McBride, Jay SPakrs, Robbie Bauman

Heat 2:
Jason Feger, Shannon Babb, Kevin Weaver, Brandon Sheppard, Brian Diveley, Jeremy Conaway, Mike Mullvain, Adam Mefford, Jimmy Dehm. Scratched: Russ Adams

Heat 3:
Doug Drown, Ryan Unzicker, Steve Lance Jr., Donny Walden, Craig Vosbergen, Dustin Griffin, Brandon Thirlby, Jim Carmody, Russ Schoonover

Heat 4:
Tim Lance, Brian Shirley, Joe Harlan, Billy Moyer Jr., Dennis Erb Jr., Frank Heckenast Jr., Steve Dimmick, Jim Moon, Brad Denney

Jason McBride, Jim Moon, Jimmy Dehm, Adam Mefford, Jim Carmody, Robbie Bauman, Russ Adams, Russ Schoonover, Brady Denney, Jay Sparks

Dennis Erb Jr., Bobby Pierce, Brian Diveley, Boone McLaughlin, Scott Schmitt, Frank Heckenast Jr., Jeremy Conaway, Craig Vosbergen, Jason McBride, Jimmy Dehm, Mike Mullvain, Jim Moon, Steve Dimmick, Brandon Thirlby. Scratched: Dustin Griffin

(1) Ryan Unzicker, (2) Tim Lance, (3) Jason Feger, (4) Jeep Van Wormer, (5) Shannon Babb, (6) Jack Sullivan, (7) Doug Drown, (8) Steve Lance Jr., (9) Brian Shirley, (10) Dennis Erb Jr., (11) Bobby Pierce, (12) Kevin Weaver, (13) Dillan White, (14) Joe Harlan, (15) Jason McBride, (16) Brian Diveley, (17) Donny Walden, (18) Brandon Sheppard, (19) Brad Denney, (20) Charley Hess, (21) Frank Heckenast Jr., (22) Billy Moyer Jr., (23) Dustin Griffin, (24) Boone McLaughlin

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Late Models

Nearly 50 of the best dirt Late Model drivers in the country gathered at Volusia Speedway Park for a tripleheader of DIRTcar Late Model...


MD3 is giving Rookie of the Year contenders with the World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Models and DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models...


The DIRTcar Summer Nationals returns for its 39th installment with a five-week lineup of events in 2024. Late Models will contest a total of...


Forty years of weekly DIRTcar Racing is now in the history books. The 28th edition of DIRTcar’s year-end special event concluded appropriately Saturday night...