Sheppard Screams to Farmer City Summer Nationals Triumph, Largest Career Payday

Brandon Sheppard
Brandon Sheppard

FARMER CITY, Ill. – July 8, 2011 – Brandon Sheppard is quickly becoming a force to be reckoned with on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour after winning Friday night at Farmer City Raceway.

(For the latest breaking news from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour, click here to follow along on Twitter.)

Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., started fifth and dueled with current ‘Hell Tour’ point leader Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., over 40-laps to earn his second DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory worth $10,000.  The victory was Sheppard’s largest payday of his young career, doubling what he earned almost a week earlier at Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway where he won his first ever ‘Hell Tour’ event.  Babb finished second, his eleventh top-10 finish on this year’s tour which is four more than any other driver during the Summer Nationals.  Jack Sullivan of Greenbriar, Ark., finished third to rebound from misfortunes at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway.  Lawrenceburg, Ind., driver Scott James finished fourth, three-time ‘Hell Tour’ Champion Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., rounded out the top five.

Click this link for more news and information about the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.

With his second place finish Babb will extend his point lead to 135 markers over James, and to 213 points over defending DIRTcar Summer Nationals Champion Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., who finished 8th.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals will return to action Saturday, July 9 at Clarksville (Tenn.) Speedway.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour Statistical Report; Farmer City Raceway; Farmer City, Ill.; July 8, 2011

A-Main (40-Laps): 1. Brandon Sheppard ($10,000), 2. Shannon Babb, 3. Jack Sullivan, 4. Scott James, 5. Dennis Erb Jr., 6. Mark Burgtorf, 7. Dan Schlieper, 8. Jason Feger, 9. Bobby Pierce, 10. Jeep Van Wormer, 11. Mike Spatola, 12. Ryan Unzicker, 13. Brian Shirley, 14. Donny Walden, 15. Eric Smith, 16. Kent Robinson, 17. Kevin Weaver, 18. Daren Friedman, 19. Jimmy Dehm, 20. Dillan White, 21. Matt Miller, 22. Scott Bull. Fast qualifiers (among 40 cars): Feger, Friedman, Unzicker, Van Wormer. Heat race winners: Sullivan, James, Babb, Pierce. B-Main winner: Bull. Provisional starters: Feger, Unzicker, Smith, Robinson. C-Main winner: Feger.

2011 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “The Hell Tour” Schedule

Date Track Location Winner (Cars)
June 15 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind. PPD/July 12
June 16 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, Ill. Mike Spatola (37)
June 17 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Scott James (29)
June 18 Cedar Lake Speedway Cedar Lake, Wis. Canceled Rain
June 20 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill. PPD/July 13
June 21 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill. PPD/July 14
June 22 Highland Speedway Highland, Ill. Scott James (50)
June 23 Fayette County Speedway Brownstown, Ill. Jason Feger (48)
June 24 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, Ill. Dan Schlieper (52)
June 25 Fairbury American Legion Speedway Fairbury, Ill. PPD/July 23
June 26 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, Mich. Shannon Babb (46)
June 28 Lincoln Park Speedway Putnamville, Ind. Shannon Babb (22)
June 29 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, Ill. Michael Kloos (32)
June 30 Clay Hill Motorsports Park Atwood, Tenn. Mike Spatola (30)
July 1 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, Ky. Ray Cook (40)
July 2 I-55 Raceway Pevely, Mo. Billy Moyer (41)
July 3 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, Ill. Brandon Sheppard (35)
July 4 34 Raceway Burlington, Iowa Brian Birkhofer (26)
July 6 Peoria Speedway Peoria, Ill. Shannon Babb (38)
July 7 Macon Speedway Macon, Ill. PPD/July 21
July 8 Farmer City Raceway Farmer City, Ill. Brandon Sheppard(41)
July 9 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, Tenn.
July 10 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, Ind.
July 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, Ind.
July 13 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, Ill.
July 14 Spoon River Speedway Canton, Ill.
July 15 Attica Raceway Park Attica, Ohio
July 16 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, Ohio

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals is brought to fans by many important sponsors and partners including Hoosier Racing Tires, GM Performance Parts, ASI Racewear, Comp Cams, Intercomp Racing, JE Pistons, QuarterMaster, Superflow, Wix Filters, Wrisco Aluminum, the University of Northwestern Ohio, R2C Competition Series Air Filters, VP Racing Fuels, Racing Electronics, ButlerBuilt, MSD Ignition, Chizmark Larson Insurance, Vicci Apparel, Beyea Custom Headers, Fusion Graphics & Sign Company, Dyer’s Rods, and Ohlins Shocks.