Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Skylar Marlar takes NASRA victory at East Bay Raceway Park!

Deprecated: str_contains(): Passing null to parameter #1 ($haystack) of type string is deprecated in /var/www/dirtcar/wp-includes/shortcodes.php on line 246

Deprecated: str_contains(): Passing null to parameter #1 ($haystack) of type string is deprecated in /var/www/dirtcar/wp-includes/shortcodes.php on line 246


TAMPA, FL (March 5, 2010)—Skylar Marlar wants to follow in the footsteps of his older brother Mike Marlar.

A star in the Modified division, Skylar Marlar from Winfield, TN out-dueled ’09 NASRA Champion Aaron Ridley of Chatsworth, GA the entire 25-lapper to capture his first-career Late Model victory, and his first-career National All-Star Racing Association victory in only his sixth start in a Dirt Late Model on Friday Night March 5th at the East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL.

Marlar and Ridley would swap the lead several times before Marlar could finally pull away on the 20th lap and lead the remaining six laps for the victory. There would be seven lead changes in just the 25 laps ran at ‘The Clay by the Bay’.

Three cautions slowed the event, first on lap-16 as Jimmy Waldrop and Josh Peacock collected each other then both stopped, which would send them to the tail of the field for the restart. Also during this yellow flag, Shan Smith lost a rear-end sending him pitside for the night. The next yellow flag would wave on lap-16 as Jim O’Hara and David Schmauss and Wallace Peacock all collected each other with Schmauss and W. Peacock all retiring for the rest of the event. The final yellow flag would wave on the 21st lap as Arnie Fields of Wallingford, KY would come to a stop, but would re-fire and head to the tail for the restart.

In preliminary action, Aaron Ridley set Fast Time with a 16.214 second lap. There were 28 entrants on hand. Heat Race Winners were Aaron Ridley, Skylar Marlar, and Josh Peacock. The B-Main Winner was Maverick Varnadore. The provisional starting spot went to Russ Adams.

The final event of the 34th Annual Winternationals at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL is set for tonight with the NASRA Late Models taking to the track. Further information on the East Bay Raceway Park can be obtained by visiting .

For the latest news and information on the National All-Star Racing Association please call the series at (859) 582-8005 or visit .

Official Summary of Results

National All-Star Racing Association Late Models
East Bay Raceway Park
Tampa, FL

Fast Time: Aaron Ridley, 16.214 seconds
Heat Winners: Aaron Ridley, Mike Marlar, Josh Peacock
Semi winner: Mavrick Varnadore

1. Skylar Marlar
2. Aaron Ridley
3. Rodney Melvin
4. Wayne Chinn
5. J.R. Hotovy
6. Bryan Bernhardt
7. David Webb
8. Jack Nosbisch Jr.
9. Travis Varnadore
10. Terry Eaglin
11. Steve Shaver
12. Perry Brown
13. Mavrick Varnadore
14. Bobby Wolter Jr.
15. Arnie Fields
16. Ryan Mitchell
17. Russ Adams
18. Jim O’Hara
19. Josh Peacock
20. Jimmy Waldrop
21. Shan Smith
22. Wallace Peacock
23. David Schmauss

Current NASRA Point Standings (after March 5th)
1. Aaron Ridley-480 (Chatsworth, GA)
2. Skylar Marlar-455 (Winfield, TN)
3. Travis Varnadore-447 (Dover, FL)
4. Bryan Bernhardt-445 (Clearwater, FL)
5. Rodney Melvin-435 (Benton, IL)
6. Steve Shaver-411 (Vienna, WV)
7. Wayne Chinn-402 (Bradford, OH)
8. Jack Nosbisch Jr.-400 (Riverview, FL)
9. Terry Eaglin-388 (Versailles, IN)
10. Maverick Varnadore-382 (Dover, FL)

Current NASRA Upcoming Events/Results:
March 3-East Bay Raceway Park-Tampa, FL-RAIN
March 4-East Bay Raceway Park-Tampa, FL-TRAVIS VARNADORE
March 5-East Bay Raceway Park-Tampa, FL-SKYLAR MARLAR
March 6-East Bay Raceway Park-Tampa, FL
April 10-Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, TN

No tags for this post.

You May Also Like

DIRTcar Summer Nationals

After a three-year absence from the DIRTcar Summer Nationals, Garrett Alberson returned in dominating fashion to score his first Series victory at Farmer City...

DIRTcar Late Models

Pierce recovers from Thursday DNF to finish second in Dream finale while Sheppard runs seventh ROSSBURG, OH (June 8, 2024) – For the tenth...

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar champions Sheppard and Hoffman make statements in 50-lap Feature While Devin Moran finally exorcised he and his family’s racing demons at Eldora Speedway...

DIRTcar Late Models

DIRTcar Racing officials have issued a suspension and fine to Late Model driver Kyle Bronson for failing a tire test after competing in the...